We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately Awful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shree Laxmi Golden Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Hampi
Reviewed April 21, 2010

My friend and I wanted a respite from budget hotels and sleeping on trains so decided to treat ourselves to something more upmarket! We presumed the Shree Laxmi would fit the bill because of the price, which was relatively expensive for India, (2000R nightly room rate or 3000R with a/c, the option we went for) and from the description in a widely used guide book.

Our immediate impression on arrival was of a pleasant enough setting, amidst lush paddy fields and golden boulders but it was all downhill from thereon in. When we were shown to our room, we were so appalled we asked if there was any other alternative. The only other room they claimed was free, was equally bad and without a/c so we stuck with the original option. As it was by now dusk, we had been travelling all day and had booked an all day excursion starting early next morning, we had little choice but to tough it out.

The room was filthy, caked in dirt, festooned with spiders, alive and dead, with a bathroom to match including badly stained walls and fittings, a barely attached loo seat and a hole in the wall behind the shower controls which housed an ants nest. Inspection
of the sheet revealed it to be grubby and dotted with dead midges despite the saggy, dusty mosquito net over the bed. So on our way out that evening, we asked the owner to change the sheet. On our return he proudly announced that he had done this, but the new sheet was 'thinner.' We discovered that what he meant was that a single sheet had been stretched over the double circular bed so that only the top half of the cheap yellow foam 'mattress' was covered at all. We spread out 2 single duvet covers we found to serve as the rest of the sheet.

On our first night we had no hot water, the temperamental loo flush packed up entirely and for most of the time, including the whole of the second night, there was no electricity. Without a/c or even a fan the small room was stifling and airless. I thought even the frog that frequently popped out of the basin plughole may have had enough, so eventually caught and liberated him.

When we complained we were met with total indifference by the owner. He remonstrated, that if we'd wanted hot water we had only to come and ask him! Apparently Hampi Island only gets electricity for 12 hours a day and this varies on some kind of rota basis. However even during the 'on' period there are lengthy failures in supply, and without a back-up generator the a/c was a largely theoretical facility. Even the owner recognised the latter point with some persuasion and agreed to charge us the non a/c room rate, the only price concession we could negotiate. Given the heated exchange of a similar nature I overheard him having with a group of German guests we were obviously not the only dissatisfied customers.

And do not be enticed by the promise of the pool allegedly under construction. Given the cracked tiles and weeds, work on it was abandoned long ago and it has been left to decay with the rest of the hotel.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Only as a rather cruel practical joke, although I must say it is one of my most memorable stays ever!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosetheintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed at Shree Laxmi Golden Beach Resort for two nights. we were quoted 2500 rupees over the phone, when we arrived they couldn't find our telephone reservation and asked how much we were quoted. Realising what we were dealing with my wife said 2000 rupees which they accepted it was clear we were paying too much.
The room was large, air con was Ok although it took some work to get it started. the bath was dirty, the shower had no water, but the handheld shower head did- go figure!
the swimming pool was "not working" clearly it might have worked once but the weeds and cracked tiles and wrecked change rooms showed that it wasn't to be this decade!
we didnt eat here as the kitchen looked dirty, had 2 nice meals at other backpacker hotels in the area -recommend the Mowgli The going rated for simple cabins in the area is 400 -800 rupees- a much better deal. We left and went across river to the coincidentally named Laxmi Heritage in the bazaar area -it was a bargain for 900 rupees very clean and excellent service. It was easier to stay on that side of the river. The Shree Laxmi Golden Beach Resort is badly in need of renovation ans is very overpriced- Hampi is a relatively cheap place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rivermanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I should have known it was a bad omen when I was trying to reserve a room on the phone and the manager told me, an Ivy League-educated American, that I didn't speak English. The experience was downhill from there.

We arrived on the overnight train with two small children, so when we were shown the rooms upon arrival, we perhaps didn't pay the attention to cleanliness that we should have. Further inspection revealed floors that were covered in a layer resembling dirt more than dust. As a resident in India, I know that dirt and dust are inevitable parts of life here. They are also easily removed from floors from a quick mop and sweep, which clearly was not done before we checked in. We also assumed that hot water was available at all times, or at least when the power was on. It was not - three hours a day of hot water and dirty floors are far below the standard I would expect from a Rs 2500 room.

Next we learned that the air conditioner, outdated but very much present in the wall of the room, was switched off, and use of it was not included in the price of the room. Significant power outages notwithstanding, use of the air conditioner would cost us an extra Rs 1000 per night. The night was comfortable outside, but with only one window in the room, the air flow was insufficient to keep us or the kids cool, even with the fan running. At around 4am on the one night we stayed, the power went out. Despite the cost of the room, there was no backup generator, and we were sans power until 1pm. Minimal illumination was provided by two bare fluorescent bulbs, one in the main room and the other in the bathroom. These bulbs were powered by a battery that had to be fixed by hotel staff twice in one night.

The bathroom, if anything, was dirtier than the main room. This was likely due to the blocked drain, which left a standing pool of tepid water on the floor for several hours after a shower. (The bathtub, in a shade of pink that contrasted nicely with the brown filth upon it, was too foul to be of use.) At one point, fed up with the dirt on the wet floor, I wiped it with a towel (upon which was a strange green stain, making me unwilling to put it to its intended use). The towel came up black.

Last, but certainly not least, is Mr. Prasad Babu, the manager of the hotel. A man more unsuited to running a hotel I cannot imagine. I've already described the poor condition of the infrastructure and the poor level of cleanliness at his establishment. While the pleasant staff went some way toward making up for these deficiencies, the manager more than cancelled out any positives with his combative and negative nature. In a mere 24 hours between check-in and check-out, I personally witnessed him arguing with no fewer than three guests, one of whom was me. It took a great deal of frustration for me, by nature far from a confrontational person, to call him, to his face, the rudest hotel manager I had ever met. I meant it then, and I think no differently now.

I booked the Sree Laxmi Golden Beach Resort because I thought that, given the price, it would be a small step above the numerous guest houses in Hampi. With two small kids, I was willing to spend substantially more for that increased cleanliness. I intended to stay at the place for 36 hours, allowing my two year old an afternoon nap on day two. After the argument with the manager, I scuppered that plan and checked in to a guest house across the street. For the same price, I might have chosen the guest house. At Rs 400 per night, there is really no decision. Another neighboring guest house manager reported getting 100 people a year who moved to his establishment from the Sree Laxmi Golden Beach Resort, largely on account of the unpleasant manager. I am not surprised. Beyond being the worst value I've ever had in a hotel, it was simply the worst hotel experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRDP-tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Biohazard06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Tetresh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rafael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wenn überhaupt hier dann die runden Bungalows hinten links nehmen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank philipp k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.6 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.7 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
223 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampi Heritage & Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
0.2 mi away
Gouthami Guest House
Gouthami Guest House
#21 of 28 in Hampi
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Garden Hampi
Golden Garden Hampi
#7 of 28 in Hampi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Laxmi Golden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Laxmi Golden Beach Resort

Address: Virupapur Gaddi | Sanapur, R.S Minirabad Road, Gangavathi, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Hampi
Price Range: $73 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing