We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of an average bunch”
Review of Mowgli Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowgli Guest House
Ranked #9 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
West Harptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“The best of an average bunch”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a review for both Sunny Guest House and Mowgli Guest House.


We started in Sunny and we spent 2 nights there. It was 1000R’s for the room (it was peak season and there was a festival going on) which was overpriced as the room needed much TLC and the mozzie net was full of holes. We didn’t find the staff particularly helpful or friendly. The restaurant didn’t open for breakfast until almost 09.00 so we ate elsewhere all the time. The only redeeming feature of Sunny was that it will take bookings over the phone or by email unlike many guesthouses in Hampi that demand payment in advance.

We needed to book something before our arrival as we needed two rooms, we were arriving late and there was an annual festival on so the number of rooms available was minimal. If you’re arriving out of festival time then you really don’t need to book if you prefer not to.

We decided to check out some other guest houses including those that needed payment. Having had a number of bad experiences we never pay in advance hence checking into Sunny. After checking a few of the other guest houses listed on TA we went into Mowgli and checked out the rooms. The price was the same but it had better rooms, friendly and attentive staff and a fabulous view from the restaurant over the paddies to the boulders. It was a no brainer to change for the rest of our stay.

As for Hampi itself, I wasn't keen to visit but other half insisted.....I'm really glad she did! We stayed 4 nights in total but I could quite easily have stayed 14!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itcanbedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    151
    53
    18
    23
See reviews for
54
127
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Booked the temple during Hampi utsav a day before due to lack of rooms available elsewhere. On reaching there, our name was missing in the register but I was given a room without much hassle. I had booked a river-view room, but it's a paddy field view actually, quite stunning actually, with the river some distance away. The rooms were really well maintained, with mosquito nets et all. The best part was the hammock assigned to each room, right outside. If someone is looking for a place to stay in Hampi, I highly recommend this place. The hotel adjoining the place is supposedly Italian but prices were reasonable and the food was good. There are plenty of places along the stretch where they serve different cuisines, so we never bothered about the food part. Highly recommended.

P.S: The to and fro ferry rides to reach the main part of Hampi is a small treat, and it comes pretty cheap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srinaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Mowgli for 3 nights in a paddy field facing hut for 2. Initially disappointed as the paddy field view that we had expected and pre-booked was dried up. However we ended up having a fantastic and memorable stay. The food was delicious of good value, and they make a mean pizza! The staff were friendly, helpful and approachable. From the restaurant we could enjoy beautiful views of the river and sunset every evening. We visited a few other guesthouses in the area and we are confident that we had sampled Hampi's BEST!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had booked 4 rooms at Mowgli over the internet for a four night stay over new year. The booking was easy and there was instant confirmation which was good as we were a party of eleven, including several kids who were either sleeping on mattresses or sharing the parents beds. The location of Mowgli is great and perhaps we were just unlucky but the whole place seemed disorganized, and unkempt. We had stayed at several homestays and back packers so our expectations were not unrealistic. However table cloths swept of last nights supper at breakfast should not be difficult nor should requesting a mattress or mosquito net. There appeared to be lot of people working here but they seemed to spend a huge amount of time sitting around talking and not attending to tasks that needed doing. One morning I asked in the restaurant for a cup of tea at 7.30am and despite there being five or so workers milling around I was told that the person who makes the tea would not be there for another half an hour. The wait for very simple breakfast items was also inordinately long. Last year we stayed next door to Mowgli at Shanthi and I have to say it was much cleaner, the garden was well attended and cared for and there were not piles of rubbish lying around as there were at Mowgli. I just got the impression that no one really cared

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The place serves good and reasonably priced food, with several Israeli and Middle-Eastern options. We did not stay there though. The restaurant has an area to lounge with a view of the river which is overrun with backpackers and goan tourists.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aswin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a good choice, if you are looking for camping like facility. However, if you are looking for hotel / resort style, this definitely not the place.
Positives: 1. The owner & staff are very responsive and try to help where possible. 2. The quality of food is good. 3. The location is scenic and very near to Hampi. 4. The idea of being close to nature and away from TV etc. is also good.
Negatives: 1. Cleanliness needs a big and serious change over. 2. Complete lack of sign board and clear directions to the place. 3. Basic provisions like of wash basin or hot water are not consistently available in all rooms. 4. Provisions like towels etc. not good if at all once gets it

Room Tip: Go for rooms facing paddy fields for nice view. Check for wash basin & properly flushing toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramodvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We had such a wonderful 9 day stay at Mowgli. The staff are friendly and helpful, the views spectacular and it was generally a great place. Some rooms are definitely better than others, some areas of the resort can be a little noisy, but we will still be taking away wonderful memories and would come back again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suzxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.5 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.8 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#4 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shanthi Guesthouse
Shanthi Guesthouse
#11 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murali Guest House Hampi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowgli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowgli Guest House

Property: Mowgli Guest House
Address: Hampiriver Road | Virupapura Gaddi, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mowgli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowgli Guest House Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing