We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the peace and beauty to stay over the river”
Review of Mowgli Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowgli Guest House
Ranked #10 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Really cute cabins with lovely view of rice paddies, rivers, and boulders. We did not realize that the guest house was across the river and that we would have to cross by ferry. As such, I would hesitate to book in advance during monsoon season as we almost were not able to make it across! They opened the ferry for the first time after 2 weeks of strong current. Compared to the busy Hampi Bazaar though, the other side of the river is much more peaceful and a good place to stay. The only other issue is that I accidentally booked the wrong date online but when I called the owner immediately afterwards to change my mistake he cleared us for the correct date and told me to send an email confirmation of the change. When we arrived, the staff were unaware of the change but were able to find us a room. During checkout the owner charged us for both nights even though we only stayed one and I thought it had been cleared weeks before. I was lucky to have printed the email confirmation as proof, otherwise they would have charged us double. Bottom line, awesome place and staff, be weary of the owner and communication issues.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Mowgli Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 340 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed five nights here in June . It's across the river from the town and ten minutes walk from the ferry . We stayed in one of the Cabins overlooking the paddy fields . They are basic and fairly clean (it is India) but quite OK for the price you pay. It was off season so not too many people staying there . The food in the restaurant was decent and there are a few other restaurants a short walk along the road towards the ferry and you may even find a beer if you ask around .
The staff are friendly and pretty laid back . If you have limited time and are in a hurry stay on the other side of the river . We hired a tuk-tuk and spent three days going around the sights with" Best Bobby Boy " driving us , he was great, full of information . He spoke good English and also can speak French. We hired a motor bike from the hotel one day and explored that side of the river . Overall we enjoyed our stay and Hampi is a place you will never forget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daverob999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here for 2 days in July with my family. Though it was a off season but saw quite a lot of tourist. Mowgli was one of the best option to stay and enjoy the lovely view of river and paddy field. Its just amazing to lie down on the swing bed outside the cottage, to listen chattering of birds and to enjoy cool breeze. Most of the cottages are river facing with basic amenities. Resort is well managed, clean and friendly staff around. Food was good but with limited option. The easiest way to go to Humpi from here is by boat. It's a 10 mins walk to the jetty. One can hire motorbike/bicycle to roam around. Overall it was a great experience and great value for money.

Room Tip: River Facing Cottage
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepa_307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for a few days and it was a great option on the quiet side of the river in the off-season. We had the place to ourselves most of the time but Veeru was very helpful and attentive. The rooms were very basic. The food was decent. The views were lovely. The motorbike hire was cheap. It's a bit of a walk from the boat crossing (which was a bit of a pain) but overall we thought it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Nice cottages overlooking the paddy fields and river
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Mowgli guest house was a great experience. Stayed there for 2 nights in july. It was off season. The only part that's annoying is crossing the river every time you need to go to Hampi are. There are boats to take you to the other side. But it can get frustrating because they make u wait. The rooms are great value for money. Power cuts are very common here, however they have solar back up.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here in June, which is off-season in Hampi, but was surprised to see a few guests. Mowgli was the best managed and hospitable and had the most friendly staff among the cluster of guest houses in Hampi Island (Virupaksha Gaddi, Koppal, Karnataka), just across the Tungabhadra.

The river-facing cottages had a lovely view and the breeze took away with it, all the tiredness and tensions of city-life. One could spend hours on the swing bed just outside each cottage. It was very relaxing with the mattress and bolster on it. The menu was decent and the meals were always freshly prepared and served in a homely manner.

The cottages were clean, with a mosquito net over the beds but could have done better with cleaner bathrooms and a slightly bigger washbasin.

Mr. Veeru was polite, open to feedback and made some lively conversation. He was happy to help with directions and suggesting places to visit in Hampi.

In all, the guest house was a part of a memorable stay at Hampi.

Room Tip: The river-facing cottages are better and allow for more privacy than the garden/cafe facing ones.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neotraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at Mowgli for 2N/3D and it was a good experience. this seems like the better place to stay in that budget with regards to the other resorts around. The restaurant is very nice, with decent menu, service is quick and food was delicious. Mr Veeru, the manager is a very polite and jolly person who will be happy to help you. The rooms are basic but clean. The location is beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage room to enjoy the view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amrutak_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.5 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.8 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
205 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shanthi Guesthouse
Shanthi Guesthouse
#14 of 43 in Hampi
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#9 of 43 in Hampi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowgli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowgli Guest House

Address: Hampiriver Road | Virupapura Gaddi, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: $29 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mowgli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowgli Guest House Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing