We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average...But Unavoidable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Mahindra Dharamshala
Ranked #55 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very Average...But Unavoidable”
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We stayed here for 2 Nights in late Oct'08 and were dissapointed, especially having heard good reviews about other Club Mahindra Properties (Goa etc.). On the positive side the staff is warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms are OK, clean and come with a spacious toilet. The resort is located about 9kms from Dharamshala city and about 15 kms from McLeodganj (where the Dalai Lama stays). The resort has a great view of the Dhaludhar mountain range and is closely located to Tapovan, Norbulingka and the Devi temple.

On the downside, it does not have an elevator, so elderly /infirm people may need to reserve a room on the Ground Floor in advance. The gardens are in urgent need of a facelift. The food, especially breakfast is very poor...usually cold and not very tasty. We had to vocally complain a few times to the Restaurant Manager, before we could get good, hot food. The decor is tacky and garish and probably needs a facelift too.

Inspite of these limitations, it is probably the best hotel in Dharamshala and thats what makes it unavoidable, which does not speak highly of whats on offer.

My suggestion would be to either look at staying at the Norbulingka Guest house, which is 2 kms down the road from this property oR at the Chonor House in McLeodgang, which is 200mts from the Dalai Lama temple. The former is in the Institute of the same name, with a very pretty Japanese garden, a small quaint yet very western food cafe, that serves some excellent items and above all is cheaper.

The latter is in McLeodgang, which has much more life and vibrancy, is cheaper and also at a much higher altitude...about 2000ft, as compared to Mahindra which is probably lower than 1200ft.

  • Liked — View, Best available option in Dharamshala
  • Disliked — Upkeep, quality of food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sameerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    110
    64
    10
    15
See reviews for
152
51
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

My wife and me had a 2N/3D stay at the Kangra Valley Resort in Spt '08, that we had booked through Club Mahindra. This was our first stay at a CM property, and it indeed was a pleasant surprise. Right from the location, close to Dharamshala to the surrounding snow peaked mountains, you are bound to enjoy your trip here. Whether its the tea garden that's at a walking distance or the adjacent stream, you can enjoy every bit of the place. The food though is a little expensive, but you do have some options if you can go a little distance. We would definitely recommend this place to people who intend to go away from the crowd.

  • Liked — Surroundings, Cleanliness, Hospitality
  • Disliked — Access
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank checksriout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

After a flight was canceled we ended up here for one night as it was close to the Kangra Valley airport and reputed to be one of the nicest places in the area. It probably is considering the typical accommodations in the vicinity.

The property mainly caters to middle class Indian families, especially those with children and looking to participate in outdoor activities. If you fit the profile you'll like this place as there is much to keep family members of all ages occupied.

Couples or backpacker types from overseas will likely prefer cheaper or more exotics digs up in Mcleodganj or elsewhere in the valley.

The rooms are OK. The bathrooms are of the typical 3-star Indian type of place -- a stone or concrete floor with a shower that might give a few minutes of hot water. In this case the toilet is located right next to the shower (behind the shower curtain) so the toilet gets soaked when you shower. If you've traveled in India you'll be used to this but if you're a luxury overseas traveler you won't find it much to your liking.

The restaurant serves mainly Indian food. Hygienic if not delicious. Again it's mainly a buffet crowd here which can get volume for its money. The small bar offers Kingfisher beer and local whiskeys. Nothing elaborate but certainly the swankiest place for miles around.

Front desk was courteous and allowed us a late check-out. They efficiently made vehicle reservations and were willing to check on our flight status.

The only significant incident was a rude restaurant manager who insisted initially it would be impossible to order any hot food at 11 a.m. Some discussion ensued and the cook was kind enough to crack a couple of eggs for a late breakfast.

  • Liked — Near the airport
  • Disliked — Inflexible restaurant manager
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2007

After we get down from the train we can see the club Mahindra driver waiting for us, the starting was good..
we got a great welcome on the recption and luggage was sent to our room on 3rd floor, there was no lift so we had to shift our rooms to ground floor.
surroundings were great and we had fun during our 7 days trip, we went to see a lot of places around and overall everything was great...

  • Liked — atmosphere, food, staff, surroundings.
  • Disliked — at the end of the trip they refused to accept our 250 rs discount coupen it was a small amount but we did not like their attitude. anways we did not want to spoil a great holiday because of that 500 rs coupen, but one of the senior staff offered us to buy something for 500 rs and the coupen can be used there. so things were settled out
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaysAreFun65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
1.7 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#16 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.8 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 69 in Dharamsala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.4 mi away
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
#26 of 69 in Dharamsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#9 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Dharamshala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Dharamshala

Property: Club Mahindra Dharamshala
Address: Sidhpur Yol Road | Sidhpur, Dharamsala 176057, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Kangra Valley)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mahindra Dharamshala 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Club Mahindra Dharamshala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Kangra Valley Hotel Dharamsala
Hotel Mahindra Kangra Valley
Resort Mahindra Kangra Valley
Club Mahindra Dharamshala Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing