We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly courteous staff but a small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Dharamshala
Ranked #57 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Highly courteous staff but a small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Club Mahindra @ Dharamsala is located 2 kms before town on the highway. It is a small hotel with around 25 rooms but the upkeep of the place is excellent. Garden is well-maintained and it has a badminton court. Rooms are good with all the modern amenities. As a club mahindra member, I was initially disappointed with small hotel but staff makes up for the same. Excellent service from house-keeping, reception and holiday activities, special mention of Ms Kusum for being very helpful during our stay.
Food at restaurant was of excellent quality and tasted good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preeti2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Dharamshala, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Preeti,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Dharamshala resort. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Our staff will be extremely delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    109
    63
    10
    15
See reviews for
148
51
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Club Mahindra (CM), Dharamshala is a small property on the out-skirts of town. Location is good, with few rooms facing the mountains and on the front side facing the road & petrol pump. We had booked 2 studio apartments, the 1 apt facing the mountain was smaller in size compared to the one that we had which was facing the front side. Rooms, reception and garden area are clean and well-maintained. Hotel is quite small with 23-25 rooms, Club Mahindra definitely requires a bigger presence at Dharamshala.
Restaurant and room-service severed excellent and tasty food. Staff service from reception (Ms Kusum) to holiday activities was super good, highly appreciate.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley/mountain are smaller but with better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MasterBlasterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Dharamshala, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the sports activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here with my family for my engagement event. It is a very family oriented hotel with a pets and a badminton area behind the hotel. There is no spa/swimming pool. The breakfast was good, with variations of live-stations (order your omelet, etc). We stayed here due to the proximity of my fiance's house, but otherwise it is quite outside Dharamsala city if you plan to go there daily. Standard rooms are relatively small but comfortable. Would be recommended for a short family stay.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the stairway because you will hear the sounds of the playing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekend4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Dharamshala, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Dharamshala resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation our resort had to offer. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The property may not have the best of the locations when in Dharamsala - but this gap is filled by ever courteous and always smiling helping staff. The view of Dhauladhar ranges from backyard of hotel is amazing - especially the sunsets are spectacular. Property provides certain activities and the best part is of Triund Trek (10,000 ft) and Paragliding. If you are prepared for adventure - the staff will give you all sorts of tips and help and accompany you for such activities. We enjoyed both thoroughly and its safe. The mountain view room is too good and very spacious.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain view are the best - especially on 1st & 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Dharamshala, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. It is wonderful to have read about the adventurous activities you have mentioned. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were entitled to a bigger/better room but got a hotel unit. Room dint have a balcony. The food was poor with very little variety. The hotel is quite dark from the inside. The staff was courteous though. Their taxi's were more expensive compared to the taxi stand outside.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Dharamshala, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Arti,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days, this is a relatively small property compared to other Club Mahindra hotels. The location is on the outskirts of Dharamshala city, hence one needs to have a vehicle for local sight seeing and travel. There are only 2 1-bed rooms and we were staying in one of them. The room was decent and the staff are quite courteous (what one would expect Club Mahindra staff to be). The food was good and prices were reasonable. The facilities are limited and not enough - Club Mahindra should consider getting a larger property closer to Dharamshala or McLeodganj - where all the action is!

Room Tip: Dont take any of the tours offered by the hotel, as they are not worth it and you can do the same on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihirgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Dharamshala, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hi Mihir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Kumbhalgarh. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed with my husband at this Club Mahindra property for 3 nights, in May 2013. I wanted to avail of the tie-up which my company had with Club Mahindra, without travelling too far from Delhi, and hence chose this resort. I came back with mixed feelings.

Pros:
Staff - The staff is very pleasing, and always ready to serve with a smile.
Food - The food is excellent. The breakfast and dinner buffets are available at a very subsidized cost, and the spread is huge and delicious. Even the ala-carte menu was quite good.
Tie-ups - The resort arranged for a trek to Triund and night-camping for us. We found it a little exorbitant, but it was organized very well with guide, food, tent etc. We also got a massage done, which was good and relaxing.

Cons:
Average location - I read reviews of people waking up to views of beautiful mountains, but I doubt people occupying ANY of the rooms would witness those!
Room size/decor - Average again. The room was small, and was not furnished very well. The bathroom was very basic too.
Resort - The property is very small, with just about 23 rooms. They don't even have a lift! There is no swimming pool, gym etc, and even the walking area is minimal. There was a small park with swings, a badminton court and a basketball court, which can only make a 5 year old happy at best!
Proximity - The resort is in the middle of nowhere. It is neither in Dharamshala nor Mcleodganj, and requires planning to go to any of the tourist spots. The hotel arranges for taxis on request, but are rates are very, very high and there is no other option available!

All-in-all, the resort had basic facilities and a very homely feel, so people looking for a luxurious hotel stay would be disappointed. I did not have to pay for my stay because of my company's tie-up, but if I was spending from my pocket, I would most likely give this property a skip!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain-facing room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Aanchal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Dharamshala, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Aanchal,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis.Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
1.8 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#17 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.9 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 69 in Dharamsala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
4.4 mi away
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
#28 of 69 in Dharamsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#8 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Dharamshala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Dharamshala

Property: Club Mahindra Dharamshala
Address: Sidhpur Yol Road | Sidhpur, Dharamsala 176057, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Kangra Valley)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mahindra Dharamshala 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Mahindra Dharamshala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Kangra Valley Hotel Dharamsala
Hotel Mahindra Kangra Valley
Resort Mahindra Kangra Valley
Club Mahindra Dharamshala Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing