We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent place with great food”
Review of Hotel Anand Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Anand Palace
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
gurgaon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“decent place with great food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel during my stay at Mcleod ganj. Got a good bargain from clear trip, and the hotel manager gave further discount on extended stay. Compared to what other hotels were offering at the same price- this was definitely worth the tag. Nothing great about the view or service, but rooms were clean and food was amazing. Dont forget to try the panner butter masala----one of the best i have ever had. They have limited parking so during off peak season, its a boon, considering parking is a major issue here.
if i were to stay in mcleodganj again- i would probably stay here.

Room Tip: Road facing room --if you can get one are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachujkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    28
    10
    31
See reviews for
41
24
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, null, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we went to dharamsala a month back, and stayed at this hotel.
The rooms were very small . Double rooms were like single rooms and they had a lot of moisture in them which made the rooms smell bad.
The food was good compared to the rest of the services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalyan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is by far the worst hotel anywhere. Everything including the room, washrooms and bed sheets, stink. I stayed 1 night with my family and fell sick. Never ever stay in this hotel. The staff is very unfriendly and unprofessional. There was another family whose room appeared still worse because they checked out without paying.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Rajesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dharamsala hotels

Bombay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Please be warned that this place is damned! It was by far my worst experience ever. The rooms stink, the bed covers are not changed and one has to call house-keeping, at least 3 times to avail fresh towels!

The food is terrible and their service pathetic!

I spent 2 nights here 1-2nd June 2013, and this Hotel did their very best to make me regret my stay!

I was headed to Dalhousie from here, and needed to check out at 7am, when we came to the restaurant for breakfast, the staff had the cheek to tell me and my kids that he was too busy delivering tea to the other rooms and couldn't serve us breakfast! We waited till 8am, and finally left without eating anything!

When I went to settle the bill, the receptionist claimed he didn't have change to refund Rs. 84/-. I asked him to forgo the sixteen rupees off my extras bill of Rs. 1916/-, since he didn't have the change, but guess what? He said he didn't have a hundred rupee note either!

I arrived with hope to the holy place of the respected Dalai Lama...but thanks to this place, I left with pure disgust.

Anand Palace may be richer by Rs. 84/-...but for me, it has lost the goodwill of a life-time!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harry074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and bathrooms on the 3rd floor are horrible.Strictly okay hotel.Food was good.Service is okay.Badly needs maintainance and needs to be renovated.The bookings were full still I don't know why it is not maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rituscraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

one of the worst Hotel i have experienced during my stay over here. No proper food and rooms. The room services were too poor. Be aware never to choose this Hotel at any circumstances during your visit to Daramshala.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vjlovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights here on May1st and 2nd along with my family. We were housed in 2 standard rooms. The rooms were very basic and small . The service at the hotel was just excellent. The staff are all so friendly and always ready to help. The food at the restaurant was nice and tasty too. The hotel is located in Bagshu, which is about 2.5 kms away from Mc Leod Gang. The Bhagsu temple and waterfalls are at walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shibinbalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#11 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel
Mount View Hotel
#27 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surbhi Guest House
Surbhi Guest House
#45 of 69 in Dharamsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Snow Crest Inn Private Limited
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shikhar
Hotel Shikhar
#29 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anand Palace

Property: Hotel Anand Palace
Address: Bhagsunag | Mcleod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Anand Palace is a comfortable, modern and newly built hotel within walking distance of Mcleod Ganj offering eye-catching view of the snow capped mountains. Facilities offered at this hotel are Garden / Terrace, Restaurant, Room with TV and phone, Internet access. Parking, garage, Satellite, Conference, Non-smoking rooms, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Anand Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anand Palace Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing