We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was really an experiences for me to be in this place especially Dalai Lama is one of my inspirational man.”

Dalai Lama Temple Complex
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.00*
and up
Dharamshala Tibetan Heritage and Nature Day Tour
Ranked #3 of 54 things to do in Dharamsala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bali
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It was really an experiences for me to be in this place especially Dalai Lama is one of my inspirational man.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I like everything about this place. Too bad that I missed The Holy Dalai Lama by 30 minutes. Hopefully, I could meet Him in future, to take photo with Him is one of my dream.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    335
    111
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Incredibly Special Place”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A must see if you are visiting the McLeodGanj area! The temple is spectacular, both in view, monument, and energy. The inner temple is beautiful, with huge statues of the Buddha, and various other Tibetan Buddhist deities. Red-robed monks walk here and there, talking or doing prostrations, and if you're lucky, you might just see the Dalai Lama!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NikkiKennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Serene”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a beautiful place it was! The serenity and beauty of this place is unmatched and incomparable. Although his highness' is travelling, one could feel his presence here any time. Located at an altitude, the weather changes in span of a minute and it to snow heavily all of a sudden....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sujay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing to hear teachings from HH Dalai Lama”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to be able to visit during a teaching that HH was giving! It is an amazing experience to be close to such an incredible person. Having said that, as our knowledge of Buddhism was quite small, much of the teaching went over our heads. Nevertheless, I'm still gla we went! Some practical advice if you're going for a teaching:
-Check HH website for information about the teaching, as well as registrations/security.
-The day before you should go and reserve your place. Take a bedsheet or large piece of cardboard with your name on it. If you can't sit properly then find a place near a wall to lean on.
- The translation is really good. You will get a radio head set and earphones on the day (500 rupee deposit) and you can't bring your own (for security reasons)
- Its mostly undercover but can get cold so bring warm clothes, especially warm socks.
- bring snacks, although they do serve tea and bread as well as lunch depending on the event.
-speak to a local about the various customs when inside the temple and aroso that you do not inadvertently offend anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingTheDream_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dharamshala
1 review
“nice temple”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

huge temple complex with lots of monks sitting and chatting. a different culture with pure simplicity.......nice view from temple balcony. touched all the chakras and felt very light and nice

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RavneetMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalai Lama Temple Complex also viewed

McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
Dharamsala, Kangra District
 
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
 

Been to Dalai Lama Temple Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing