We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOUNTAIN VIEW”
Review of GK Conifer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
GK Conifer
Ranked #51 of 139 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“MOUNTAIN VIEW”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here with my family on 23 rd may for one day.A very nice hotel away from crowded area, roms are good and specious. Hotel interior is very good.Food average they can improve.From room balcony very beautiful view of mountain ranges of Himalayas.This hotel is about 20 kms from Mclodganj..near the HPCA Stadium.Market Place is away. Staff is not very Friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for Mountain side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinayt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    11
    2
    10
See reviews for
29
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dharamsala, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Went there for dinner last week. Did not want to try the buffet so placed the order for tandoori aloo ke shole , one chicken chow Mein and one naan at 10:00pm. we waited and waited for the food to come and finally after two reminders the waiter came and said that the 'Tandoori Aaloo' takes 15-20 mins. it was already 25 minutes since we placed the order. finally the order came at 10:35 and it was not even hot. Chalo we thought lets eat and first bite of the food and it was without salt and spices were the only thing you cld taste in the aaloo and Chow Mein was green chilly. We had to walk of hungry from there. We are here for two years and am sure that we are not going there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annye2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dharamsala hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel is absolutely marvelous. Near to the HPCA stadium. This is an official hotel of Kings Punjab. Good restaurant with good food. Bar well stocked.
Thanks especially to Mr.Saurav Thakkar...fantastic never forgetting holidays.

Room Tip: Really recommend to choose GK Conifer. One of the first hotels in Dharamsala. Well Connected to othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajath333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We always stay here, this time i stayed here with our family group we enjoyed this place specially hotel and there staff. Management is very supportive specially Mr.Sourav Thakur, there food and scenic view from hotel is ultimate. Very peace full place to spend time with family members location is very good, no issue of parking, rooms are very spacious.

Room Tip: All room have balcony, we stayed in Jr Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jas0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We had a nice stay..comfortable rooms..all with balconies facing the Dhauladhar..food is decent..very hospitable staff..this hotel is about 20 kms from Mclodganj..near the HPCA Stadium...7 kms away is the Norbulingka Institute...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sangini79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We just had a good, relaxing stay at the Conifer Hotel and will certainly come back to it when we visit Dharamshala next time. The room nos. 201-207 are especially attractive. They have a top class view of the mountains from the room itself and even better from an attached balcony; one can spend hours simply enjoying the scenery. Don't miss how the mountain colours change during sunset. The room was clean with a comfortable bed. The furniture were functional and adequate and the room was not cluttered. There are enough electrical points but alas no free wifi! One expects free internet connectivity from a property of this category. It was not very cold when we visited in November but still the electrical heater was less than adequate. It also lit up the room and so had to be turned off at night. The soundproofing could also be better. The bathroom was clean with running hot water, clean towels, and basic toiletries of ordinary quality. But there was no hair drier nor was there a hand-shower (or even a shower cap); things one would expect in a hotel of this price range. There was a flat screen TV in the room with a reasonable choice of Indian TV channels; CNN International was available but not BBC World. Indian regional language channel coverage was modest. The housekeeping service was good and the room service was also reasonable. The hallways have nice paintings and soft music which added to the general ambience. The restaurant Pine Cone had a good view of the mountains but the large windows were usually covered by blinds in the daytime. The quality of the food was varied. The Gobi Paratha at breakfast was excellent and a tandoori chicken and nan bread quite good. The Pulao dish which we tried was not up to the mark and the mutton preparation at best modest. Strangely there was no buffet at breakfast and fruit juice was unavailable. The hotel is at one edge of the city and one has to spend a tidy sum to even go to McLeodgunj or the Kotwali Market. The somewhat isolated location is a boon in some sense as the hotel is quiet. The Reception is understaffed, the staff at the Pine Cone Restaurant were earnest but they need much training to match the levels appropriate for the other facilties of this property. Finally, one should not miss the spectacular views from the Terrace.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel was nice. Good food but the staff over there was not very courteous. There was lack of management among the staff.There was provision of Terrace Garden but it was closed. We couldn't enjoy the view. Location was out of town so market place is far from there. you can't walk up to market, though it's near to stadium

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#25 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Ridge Hotel
White Ridge Hotel
#17 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#9 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
#26 of 69 in Dharamsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#9 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pong View Hotel
Pong View Hotel
#23 of 69 in Dharamsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GK Conifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK Conifer

Property: GK Conifer
Address: Civil Lines, Dharamsala 176215, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GK Conifer 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your GK Conifer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GK Conifer Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing