We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Feeddback”
Review of GK Conifer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GK Conifer
Ranked #68 of 143 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Feeddback”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel was nice. Good food but the staff over there was not very courteous. There was lack of management among the staff.There was provision of Terrace Garden but it was closed. We couldn't enjoy the view. Location was out of town so market place is far from there. you can't walk up to market, though it's near to stadium

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    11
    2
    12
See reviews for
34
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

For visiting Dharamshala and Mc Leonj this Hotel is the best possibility! The Rooms are clean and having a good size! The Hotel is in a very nice and quiet Area from Dharamshala! The Food and the Service for Lunch and Dinning is very good! The Welcome at the Hotel was unfortunately very bad! Very unfriendly staff is working on the Rezeption! You don't feel welcome! They couldn't find our Reservation which can happen but the way they worked it out was extremely unprofessional to speak with the Hotel Manager was almost not possible cause he had his Lunch!! They should start to get more professional and friendly , than this Hotel could be the best place to stay in Dharamshala! Going to The Tempel takes by Car 30 min! The Airport is 40 min. Away!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here 2 times, our 1st visit is in July 2013 & 2nd in September 2013. Very good Hotel with modern amenities, Food quality & service is too good.Very Comfortable rooms with service satisfaction. recently they started swimming pool which is surprise to see in Hill station. Overall our experience is excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in Executive Suite Room No 309 which is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jas0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalyan, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a hotel situated in proper Dharamshala so if you have picturesque beauty in mind about Dharamshala then you will be greatly disappointed. There is no great view from any of the room i have gone through so at last accepted the fact with heavy heart. Though there is a park bang opposite of hotel, owner fails to utilised this as there is front wall of hotel facing this park. But if you are looking for convenience of business then this hotel be good for you.

Comparing price they charged I found facilities are not upto the mark. Even breakfast is also chargeable after paying Rs. 3000 + tariff!!! There is not safety chain on the room door and door was also not getting properly locked from inside. So maintenance needs to improve. Cleanliness of room was satisfactory as well of bath & hand towels. Bed was soring point as it was not mattress and I was getting sore back in the morning. There was no night lamp either. Wi-fi was chargeable !!??

As hotel is situated in residential area you cannot keep your windows open to have breath of fresh air. Management should have at least make window pane tinted or have semi transparent curtains so that guest can feel secured of privacy and at the same time can have fresh air in.

Only thing good is Food. Whatever I have tried was definitely good whether it is Chinese or Indian... Though the service was not prompt, taste of food made me forget everything.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank OmZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Enter dharamsala and you will find this hotel. Good property ..comfortable rooms and mind you excellent food. Service was good. The only problem I had was when I visited the hotel ,there was no receptionist. Sounds funny but yes that was true. The service manager was looking after the guests but was unaware of the Tariff. I was so tired that I actually waited for the receptionist to come who took 20 minutes to com.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nrz333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is pretty decent and close to the cricket stadium, but overall location sucks. There is nothing to do at all in evening other than to stay in hotel. Its close to residential area and other than the ground there is nothing to see at all. It better to stay at Mcleodganj and enjoy the touristy energy you get over there. Also there was some confusion over the meal i can have with MAP meal plan(first time i encountered such thing). Anything i decided to eat was apparently not part of MAP plan which was a bummer. There was a limited number of dish which i could order. so not really ideal when you have to eat as per their recommendation and not your!! Anyways the staff was not rude over it and had been patient and didnt make the stay that bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashwin_dch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, Punjab, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Dear Traveller, please do not stay in this hotel. My mobile got robbed from my room when me and my wife were out for the day. When we complained to the hotel manager we were told that it is not possible, insinuating that we were not telling the truth. This horrific, unprofessional, demotivated, 'give a damn attitude' was shocking. They were either trying to protect their staff or they were just not interested in solving the issue or they were all into this scam. The mobile cost me approx. Rs 10,000/-. You cannot trust the hotel staff, including the top management at all. When we asked for the hotel manager, we were told very casually that the manager has not come to the hotel as yet (this is in the morning). we were asked to wait until it got too late for us as we had to catch a flight. I think the hotel staff were all involved in the 'scam'. Since we had to catch a flight, we had no time to push this issue with the police. If we had the time and if we had pushed this matter I am sure the mobile would have appeared and they would have given some excuse. Also, most attractive services advertised on the website were not available - hot water was limited, the shower had no force at all, no swimming pool, there were no Gym facilities available. Even if the rooms are good and even if the prices seem to be attractive, if you cannot feel safe in the hotel, then its just not worth it. check into this hotel at your own risk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happysingh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gkconifer1, Guest Relations Manager at GK Conifer, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing a review for our hotel.

Sir will you please confirm me when you stayed at our hotel, in your review you said that you stayed at hotel in Feb 2013, first of i want to clear that in Feb we are fully sold out with cricket teams there's Ranji Trophy going on in Dharamshala.

And Sir i want to clear 1 thing more that in Feb 2013, Dharamshala Airport is not operational so where you board the flight as you said in you responce & 1 thing more there's no flight to Ludihana my dear from Dharamshala.

There are many more things which i can clear but i don't wana, i will request you to please do not post these type of Fake Reviews on websites. If you have any problem or query you can call me.

Regards

Jaspreet Singh
7503131313
sales@gkconifer.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dharamsala hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#8 of 72 in Dharamsala
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#23 of 72 in Dharamsala
50 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Ridge Hotel
White Ridge Hotel
#19 of 72 in Dharamsala
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary
#15 of 72 in Dharamsala
208 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
#24 of 72 in Dharamsala
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#18 of 72 in Dharamsala
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GK Conifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK Conifer

Property: GK Conifer
Address: Civil Lines, Dharamsala 176215, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GK Conifer 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your GK Conifer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GK Conifer Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing