We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience in High price”
Review of GK Conifer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GK Conifer
Ranked #66 of 150 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed there for 2 days , first day experience was good , staff was helpful, food was good. Second day all the trouble started, There was no hot water and it was so chilling outside in the month of January. When we approached the hotel staff , they assured us to give 2 buckets of hot water , which never came , after requesting so many times 1 attendant came with lukewarm water, reason was funny and not believable , solar panels couldn't work and all the hot water was consumed. After checking food bill we found some discrepancy which the staff rectified.
Overall saying , we stayed in the executive room and thus expected the best service , which was not provided , at least they should provide wifi connection in executive rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivek k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 66 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had stayed there for 2 nights along with 7 other family members for celebrating new year 2012.
It is located on the main road ,very close to cricket stadium. Because of this and cricket team stay over here ,i assumed it be a good hotel. The reception,staff and food is very good. The rooms are very spacious and offer all amenities. The balcony rooms are good for couples. The restaurant and bar offer good services.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drparmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Spanking new, slightly odd, very comfortable, great views. An odd mixture of abstract colored curtains and furniture that doesn't go well with each other. Efficient staff and clean rooms. Overall, Good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the ones facing the mighty Dhauladhars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is nicely located, away from the choas that Mc LeodGanj has, where one can find peace for which one goes to a holiday. The Food of the hotel is very good, though a little over priced. The rooms are good, neat and clean. SInce the hotel is recently built, the rooms right now are good, so is the service.
The view from the rooms is just magnificent. I would love to stay in this again on my next visit to Dharamsala.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, in a odd numbered room, which have a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soni_tanu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

HI,
I am really delighted to write a review for GK Confier. We stayed here in first week of October 2012 and there were 3 of us, me , my wife and my 4 months old daughter.
No doubt it is the best hotel in Dharamshala beacuse of its impeccable serivices. the staff hereis really freindly and always eager to serve you in the best of the way, be it the person at the reception or the bell boy or the housekkeping staff or restaurent staff. The food here is amzing. If one would like to have fine dining in Dharamshala, this is the place to be and not notably its not that costly as well.
The hotel is situated near the Dharamshala Cricket Stadium and Mcloedgunj is around 11 kms away from this place. If one want to saty at peace, away from teh hustle-bustle of Mcloedgunj, then this is the place to be.
They have got wonderful view of Dhauladhar mountains as well.
I can give 5 out of 5 ratings to this hotel.
They are also adding a fitness centre and swimmimg pool in thier hotel which is currently under construction.
If i ever happen to visit Dharamshal again , i would stay only at GK Conifer....Highly Recommended...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikas5883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in early Oct 2012 . While the hotel is ok ( a little pricy for what you get ) , the manager's attitude and behaviour was really bad . We had to leave one day earlier due to change in our flights and had notified the front desk one day earlier . The hotel manager forced us to pay 50% of the room cost !! He refused to talk to us , after promising that "I will get back to you shortly " ... We had to deal with the front desk person only --who was not helpfull at all . When we asked for the cancellation policy , we were told that its not available !!!
Moreover , when we checked out , it came to our attention that they can not accept credit cards from outside India , despite the statement in the official handout that " we accept all major credit cards ".... We had to run , in the middle of the night , to a number of ATMs to pull out the amount of cash needed to pay the hotel.
All in all --despite the fact that this is a new hotel , check out what are the payment terms before you book this one .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soren0272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel, during August 2012, with my wife. We were coming down from Mcleodgunj, where we had a horrible experience, of stay in one of the hotels and were really looking forward to a clean and comfortable stay for a day, inclusive of some sleep.
We thought of trying this, despite the negative review, that we had read and was lingering in our minds. It was a walk-in and the reception guy was good enough to offer us discount (perhaps because of the off-season).
The lift was a bit faulty (and the door closed after some maneuvering), but after that it was a smooth sail, all through!
The room was big, comfortable, clean and quite okay. the bathroom, was big and clean and had the basic amenities. My only grouse was the absence of the shower curtain- so when one person takes bath, the whole bathroom, becomes wet and slippery, so had to call the housekeeping, to mop! This was attended to quite promptly and I also wrote about it in my suggestions. Hope that they have taken suitable action.
We had dinner in the restaurant. It was good and served fresh. The GM was around and came over for chit-chat. The bar was quite well equipped and had all the necessary elements, in it.
Room service was prompt and good.
The best part was: we checked into the hotel, in the evening and were supposed to check –out the next morning, we asked, if give the laundry now, then can we get the same back, by 8 am, the next day? and there was an enthusiastic yes! We had been travelling for over 8 days and nowhere could we get the laundry service, because of the rainy season, forget about this prompt service, and this hotel, readily agreed to do so. And our laundry load of over 25 clothes was promptly delivered, at 8 am, the next day!! Brownie points for this one and hats off!!
All in all a nice, pleasant, comfortable stay which did bring a smile to the face, remembering the prompt service. Not a too fancy hotel (it does not claim to be), but nice and good.
We were told that the cricket team stayed in this hotel!
Sure, will recommend, this one. This hotel is a bit away from the main market area, but since we arrived there at the end of our sight-seeing, it was okay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nagaravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#23 of 81 in Dharamsala
51 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#9 of 81 in Dharamsala
161 reviews
3.5 mi away
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
#26 of 81 in Dharamsala
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#19 of 81 in Dharamsala
212 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
446 reviews
3.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GK Conifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK Conifer

Address: Civil Lines, Dharamsala 176215, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range: $59 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GK Conifer 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your GK Conifer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GK Conifer Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing