We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place in dharmsala - please check other places”
Review of Villa Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Paradiso
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Dharamsala
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst place in dharmsala - please check other places”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

They are so very trained to spoil ur vacations. We booked this place over internet and opted for breakfast and dinner... This was off season and they charged us very high as compared to mkt rates .We realized this after reaching there as we were the only ones staying there. And they ensure that you can't get out of their trap. They take entire money in advance so u r stuck there. Let's go over one thing after other -

1. - rooms - really average. No facilities in the room. Rooms are very small.
2. - food - that's the worst part. They denied us buffet saying we can't make buffet just for us ( we were 10 ppl though). Which mean, u order from ala carte.. ... Then there comes ifs and buts... They only serve what they want and not what u need. Horrible gravy, uncooked chapatis. Only desert is ice cream that too expired. Is that a joke. It rained outside and it was chilling ... U can't serve ice cream to kids at that temp. If u want to order maggi ( as that's the only thing u can eat) u pay extra even if it's there in dinner menu and it's night 8:00.
3. Mgmt - horrible....one word... They don't know what a customer means... They talk rubbish to you... No courtesy ... Very rude ... The lady rubina on front desk, has no sense how to talk to ur only customer. Come on , these guys can't handle the only guest in their hotel , I wonder how will it be if there are more.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank gbhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    32
    18
    13
See reviews for
54
40
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Simple but elegant Decor, Comfortable & Clean Rooms, Eversmiling & Helpful Staff , tasty food make this an excellent option in McLeodganj !

Location is very close to Dalai Lama Temple, but its a steep climb if you have to walk up to the temple.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kiku11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely short but sweet review and kind words of appreciation.We are delighted you had such positive feedback. We do provide and pick and drop service on request from our property at any time required for all our guests. Moreover, in future we will provide our best to the satisfactory of our guest.

We do hope you visit us again in the near future.

Warm regards
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Probably this is the best option at Mcleodganj to stay. This property is just a 5 minute walk from the temple and market place, and the rooms have good views overlooking the hills. The Manager and the receptionist are always smiling and very attentive. We have enjoyed their hospitality. They have nice dinning and reading room area. The hotel is very basic in terms of the rooms and toilets, but they are clean and well maintained. Appreciate Mr. Satyajit Sarkar (The Manager of the Hotel) for his warm welcome and hospitality during our stay. If I go to Mcleodganj again, I shall definitety choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room as you will get good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sougatachatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at Villa Paradiso and also
for taking out time to share your experiences. It is great to learn that you have
enjoyed your stay and we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our services
and amenities.
Once again we thank you for your comments and we look forward to
welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at Villa Paradiso for 3 nights during our recent trip to India. We were greeted by a very pleasant young man who came from Nepal, in fact the staff on reception were all very helpful. Our room was on the first floor and had a four poster bed and a balcony but our first impression was how shabby the room was. The curtains were hanging off the rail and the room really needed redecorating. The door to the balcony did not lock properly either. It really did not come up to the standard of a boutique hotel. The management really need to spend money on this hotel and give it some TLC. The housekeeping should be checked regularly by the on-site manager. The room was cold although a small electric heater was provided also a torch when the power went off . It really would help if the windows were double glazed both to reduce the noise and keep it warmer.
We were woken early in the morning by the traffic as this hotel is on a road junction. It was particularly annoying as we had been kept awake late the previous night by noisy guests.
We used the restaurant one evening and the food was ok , breakfast was good.
The hotel is well situated and could be so much better if a little more thought was given to improving it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KipperDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you have not had a satisfactory visit during your recent stay with us. We do try our best to please all our guests and our staff as well make all the efforts to ensure a satisfactory visit.We have addressed the cleanliness issue and regarding the room facilities. And with this information we have noted to improve our services. We do always arrange heaters in rooms as per guest's requests.
As we are aware of the shortcomings we have well noted your recommendations and will try and implement as possible.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We hope all our guests are able to truly enjoy their visit and walk out with great satisfaction. We have addressed the issues mentioned and pointed out by you and are grateful for the same. It will allow us to improve all our room facilities with this information. We certainly will be upgrading the room decor as per your suggestions. Only to mention the housekeeping is done daily for all our guests with an evening service as well. We will certainly be looking into more detailed points of cleanliness and improvement. The curtains as well have been rectified and refitted already. We are also considering double glazing the windows shortly. We are grateful for your suggestions allowing us to improve our room facilities.

We do hope you visit again and allow us an another opportunity to serve you.

Warm Regards,
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in October and decided to stay for 2 weeks.This is a splendid place to stay.

What really set the hotel apart was the excellent hospitality and warm friendship shown by Shailender and his delightful wife.

We caught the diificult night train from Rishikesh to Pathankot which arrives at around 2am. We were met by the hotel in a smart large SUV and a careful driver, quite a relief at that time of the morning. We were warmly met at the hotel around 5am by Shailender and his staff. This is a small hotel and so they had got up early specially to welcome us. They had prepared sandwiches and other food in our room because they thought we might be peckish. All this and we weren't even charged for that night of arrival.

We stayed in the family room. We have a baby and small child. The family room is vast. 2 bedrooms with a hall separating them, both with ensuites; Lounge, kitchen and dining area. It sits at the top of the hotel and has spectacular views. We paid 3,500 per night for our stay and in our 3 months in India this was by far the largest living space for that price.

The hotel sorted out a local Tibetan babysitter for us, 4 hours per day, which we paid 150 an hour for. She was lovely. However, Shailender has a young son and quite often our 3 year old daughter would go and stay with them and Shailender's wife would cook food for her.

Shailender has a genuine warm and caring attitude and really would do anything for us. We had bits of food here and there, all complimentary. On my wife's birthday they decorated the room with balloons and bought a large birthday cake. Even the laundry was the cheapest we paid for in a hotel in India.

The hotel isn't without it's faults' as does all India!. The Internet is slow, the sink kept getting clogged, room cleaning was difficult to get and the boiler blew up. But these paled into insignificance with the service provided.

Location wise it is at the bottom of the hill in Mckeod Ganj. But the town while quaint is often noisy with honking traffic and dirty with car exhausts and so we found it a great location and not far from the Dalai Lamas' temple.

We visited a number of the top rated places on trip advisor and they really weren't that great. This is really the best place we saw. The views from the windows are spectacular.

Room Tip: Family room is very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Simesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback and sharing with us your experiences of your recent
stay at Villa Paradiso. We are pleased to learnt that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Also glad to know that you like our rooms and our services. We apologize for the inconvenience of internet and of rooms. We have well noted the
shortcomings and will try to take care of it in the future.

Yes , indeed the location is great.

We do hope you visit us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have to be very partial and fair in this review - not many had mentioned that this hotel is situated right at junction of the traffic meets - hence, there are alot of traffic in front of the hotel (good thing is nobody horn as crazy as those did in Delhi). As this hotel is situated right at the start of the junction, one will have to walk up a steep slope in order to get to the temple, or the market. And if you stay late enough at the market (eg. 8pm), you will have to endure walking down the slope back to the hotel in the dark. Rooms are simple and clean. Views overlooking at the Dharamsala town. I would say the price is pretty steep for such a hotel, though the staffs and manager are pretty friendly and approachable. Compliments to that.

Room Tip: the rooms are all pretty much the same. Try to get the corner room, but it come with a higher price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Samksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate for sharing with us your
experience of your recent stay at Villa Paradiso.
We agreed our hotel is situated in front of the junction and is a bit steep, yet usually
there's no traffic jam. We also do arrange conveyance to the market/ temple
etc. upon request at any require time, if one doesn't preferred to walk by foot.

Our rooms tariff are base on BAR rates and room rates are quoted depending
upon availability, seasons and room category.

Once again we thank you for your compliment to our staff and for the review.

We hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Hospitality was great. Well trained staff. Room were good though small in size.
Food was awesome. Location of Hotel is also ideal.

Overall a very good place to stay. Definitely recommend it if you are looking for hotel which is proximate to market place but also offers quiet, peaceful and scenic beauty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank thakkardhiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positives feedback and taking your time to share us your
experiences. We are pleased to learnt that you had a wonderful stay with us,
and we thank you for your recommendation and compliment.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
685 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#20 of 72 in Dharamsala
206 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bob's n Barley
Bob's n Barley
#19 of 72 in Dharamsala
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Snow Crest Inn Private Limited
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#9 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#8 of 72 in Dharamsala
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradiso

Property: Villa Paradiso
Address: Jogiwara Road, Mcleodganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing