We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with friendly staff on a steep hill”
Review of Villa Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Paradiso
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Dharamsala
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel with friendly staff on a steep hill”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Villa Paradiso is a nice hotel with spacious and clean rooms. The water in the bathroom was also hot. But the temperature in Mcleod Ganj is quite low at the moment, which is why we missed a heater in the room. We were freezing the whole time. Also it is important to know, that you have to walk up the hill to get to the centre of Mcleod Ganj (approx. 300m), which is no big deal if you're fit, but can get pretty tiring for some as the walk is pretty steep. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
13 Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and kind words of appreciation. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had experience. We we do provide in room heaters, for all our guests, on request and pick and drop service is also available from our property at any time required. Moreover, in future we will provide our best to the satisfactory of our guest.

And once again thank you for the advice.

We hope to see you again!

Warm regards
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    32
    18
    13
See reviews for
54
40
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This happened to be one of the best hotels we stayed in. Calm, quaint, relaxing and a subtle elegance offered by this place made us feel at our best. We stayed here, after a grilling trek to Indrahara Pass (amazing place), and were dead tired. This quiet place helped us to relax and get back into our own groove, the food was great (nothing fancy) but simple and perfect cooking. I must say it looks like a very well managed place, and a visit is recommended (if you like to afford INR 3500) to this place. Me and my wifey loved its elegance, simplicity, and overall charm

TIP: The location is slightly off track, almost 1 KM from the centre of mcleodganj, but that's what works..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank pratik_bhaumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind positive feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.
We are glad to learnt that you have a pleasant stay at Villa Paradiso.
And it was a great pleasure having been at our hotel.

We hope to see you again.

Warm regards
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had opted for the Superior Room. And the room view was awesome, with the snow capped mountain on one side and the valley facing the Dharamsala on the other.
We had arrived a bit earlier than the normal check in time, but the rooms were kept ready and cosy.
The location is advantageous with respect to the view, but was a 500 m walk uphill to the main square, win some lose some.
But a few drawbacks:
1. The service left a bit to be desired, felt they were understaffed for the peak season, there was no room service during dinner!
2. Quality of Food was just bordering between being average and pathetic. Expected it to be much much better, as Mcleodganj is known to be a place where you can really gorge.
3. The breakfast spread was quite terrible, had just toast, eggs and cornflakes!!!
4. Lastly everything seemed a bit overpriced. The room rent was high compared to the size and amenities. The food was also expensive.
Overall, cosy stay, but expected it to be much better.

Room Tip: Ask for the Superiror Room, It definitely has the best view. we were at Rooms 107, and it was awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debopam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate your review and its has been a pleasure
to have you at our hotel. However, we will put more emphasis on our service and will ensure to meet our guest satisfaction and expectation on our amenities as well.

We welcome you once again in the future.

Warm regards
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

this property is reasonably good.. the staff was very cooperative.. but a major let down is its remote location... the topography of mcloedganj is such that you have to move down 300 meters plus to reach this hotel from the main square.. and then returning uphill is a tough task...
i suggest they should offer pick and drop facility to their customers.. in any case for those who wish not to be too far off from the main place and yet be able to enjoy the nature and have a good view of the mountains should opt for this.. sanjay arora lucknow

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank sanjayarora999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and suggestion, we have noted the same.
Regarding the location our property is at the main junction of Mcleodganj from Dharmsala and falls on the way to the main market. It is located steps away from His Holiness's temple and walking distance to the main market. Yes, we would be considering conveyance facility as a service to our guests in the near period. And once again thank for your kind feedback.


Warm regards
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved Dharamshala. And I loved this hotel. We felt very welcome and at home here. The staff were friendly. Rooms were so cheery and the views were just amazing. Only downside was the shower. We did not get hot water so we used the shower in our sister’s room. In that super cold weather, the last thing my body could take was the cold shower! We went out for dinner at night and pre ordered room service for the elders who stayed back. When we got back, they raved about the good service and the tasty food.
This hotel is located on a slope. The monastery is nearby but we were too tired to walk there. So we took a taxi. Dharamshala is so peaceful. I just loved it so very much. It was pity that we stayed here only for a night. It was our stopover from Amritsar to Manali. Breakfast was alacarte and adequate. Service was very good throughout. The manager Kulwant was very friendly and hospitable He shared a lot of information with us. When we checked out, he sent us off and that made us all feel very contented. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Dharamshala.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Labripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisohotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Ma'am,


Thanks for your valued feedback, we are glad to know that you have peaceful stay at Villa Paradiso. It is also an unfortunate things to learn that you have some uncomfortable experience regarding the shower. We apologizes for the incident and assure you that this will not happen again in the future and we are pleased to know that your colleagues too enjoy the services at Villa Paradiso and indeed it was fortunate to have a guest like you.
And we hope in your next trip you would visit us for a long stay.

Once again thank you for your sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you again.


Warm Regards
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We went for a total break away from the cities! It was a good hotel, nice view. The rooms were good neat n clean. The staff was very welcoming and made our stay very comfortable. The first nite that we arrived we found some very noisy group who had been there for a few days and would be singing and playing drums in the hotel even after been asked to lower the noise by the manager! Luckily they left the next day so we had peace for the rest of the stay! The hotel is close to macleod ganj. On the whole it was a good stay but the price is a little to steep!!! The food was great, fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sheetal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Madam,

Many thanks for your kind support of words and feedback. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us at Villa Paradiso. We apologize with regards to the disturbance during the first night of your stay and did request the other guests to try and be more accommodating.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Warm regards,
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
685 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#20 of 72 in Dharamsala
206 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bob's n Barley
Bob's n Barley
#19 of 72 in Dharamsala
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Snow Crest Inn Private Limited
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#9 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#8 of 72 in Dharamsala
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradiso

Property: Villa Paradiso
Address: Jogiwara Road, Mcleodganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing