We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some improvements!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buddha's Valley
Ranked #109 of 148 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with Intrepid and despite the fact that the hotel knew that a party of 12 was arriving they did little to prepare the rooms. There wasn't any toilet paper in the bathroom, the towels were really dirty, the beds only had a bottom sheet that was stained from previous client, the pillow cases were dirty, there was mould on the walls and on the curtains. However in their defence the issues were quickly correctly once they'd heard our very polite complaints. We went for a walk into Macleodganj for dinner and on our return all 12 beds had been remade with new sheets, top and bottom and new towels and toilet rolls were given. If this had been the case on our arrival I would have given the hotel an average grading. This was my third trip to India and I appreciate that hotels are basic but you can have clean basic rather than dirty basic.
We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food but the location is good and the showers were hot.
It's certainly worth a trip to the waterfall as hardly any other Europeans were there but loads of Indian families having great fun. It's also worth continuing up the hill from the waterfall to reach the Shiva Cafe, lovely atmosphere and good food and drink.

Room Tip: Just make sure you're happy with your room and if not politely say so and I'm sure it will b...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Buddha's Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We 6 friends booked this hotel through Cleartrip.com from Feb 16 to 17. Hotel is located 2 km from Macleodganj on Bhagsu. Bhagsunath temple is 5 minutes walking distance form the hotel. Rooms of the hotel are clean and washrooms are also neatly clean. Food quality is OK. Service is bit slow.

Cleartrip offered us 1 night stay with breakfast. But when we are checking out, the hotel staff told us that Breakfast was not part of our booking, and we have to pay for it. I told them that its clearly mentioned in our Hotel Booking Voucher. But they said that they are not aware of that. Then I called Cleartrip.com and told them everything. They put my call hold for 45 minutes and told me that they had talked to hotel people regarding this, and after 1 hour i got refund of my money. Cleartrip should make clear everything with hotels what they are offering. Our precious 1 hour got wasted due to this.
Everyone who is booking hotels online should confirm with the hotels that they are offering the same or not.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Deshraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is located at an elevated place with big open balconies. It gives a good view of the valley. The rooms are simple, no fancy, but neatly maintained. Food and room service is homely. Bhagsunag temple is just a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the front side, to have a good view of the valley.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKADAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed there for a night, since the room was booked by a travel agent had absolutely no clue what i was walking into.

The place is quiet old and everything is below average, the room, room service, food etc. The only good thing is that the bathrooms are miraculously clean, which was a big surprise.

The reception staff was good and helpful.

Definitely would not recommend this place if you are visiting with family.

Room Tip: If you are staying here try to get in the room on the top floor. You can have an excellent morning t...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viator_iter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Located 2 km from main chowk in Mcleodganj towards Bhagsunath. View from 4th floor rooms is good. Can be a good choice if you intend to take the hike to Triund (near snowline)

Rooms are very basic and so is the restaurant. Staff are helpful and efficient. Not too bad an option in case you are looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhandari_amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

If your looking for a nice and clean place to stay, this is your place. I was surprised at how nice a hotel it was.

I wanted a room on the ground floor, but they insisted i take one on the 3rd floor(man was that a walk up), but DAMN!!! it was worth it.

Right outside our room was a balcony over looking the lush gardens and mountains.

With tariff starting at Rs.1300, you cant go wrong, and i would compare it to Asia resort(in terms of room,Only).

Room Tip: 3rd Floor rooms have awesome views.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny666d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

II stayed there for 2 days and it was good coz the rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were sparkling clean as I am very particularl about clean bathroom..only the service is slow ..the food is not good but manageable..if you wanna stay and eat out then its good..the rooms are very clean I must repeat..and hygenicc!!its so close to the water fall that is walking distance..and another temple..a cave theme temple..so I liked it..

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shyammm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.3 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
695 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Snow Crest Inn Private Limited
0.1 mi away
Gagan Resorts
Gagan Resorts
#56 of 78 in Dharamsala
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kumar Residency
Hotel Kumar Residency
#80 of 148 in Dharamsala
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rudraaksh House
Rudraaksh House
#47 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buddha's Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha's Valley

Address: Bhagsunag, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range: $27 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha's Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hotel Buddha's Valley Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing