We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Exotica Dharamshala
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Dharamsala
Certificate of Excellence
goa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me n my wife stayed here last month for three nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms, mindblowing view and lovely staff....especially Mr. Kesaraji and Rajesh. Though the location is bit of a problem for some people, i personally feel it's their USP. If u have ur own conveyance just go for it...... n mark my words, u will not regret for sure.

Room Tip: Choose any one of the top two near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0gesh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    67
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
90
42
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Exotica is a lovely place to stay over the weekend if you are visiting either Dharamsala or Mcloedganj.

The service and the clear intent to make our holiday enjoyable was wonderful.
The rooms are not the most fancy but there wont be reason to complain because the staff tried to make it as comfortable a possible for their guests.

To begin - the location is rather far away from Dharamsala town center and about 9 Kms from McLoedganj - but thats their exact advantage. You end up staying fairly high up in the hills... divorced from the noise and bustle of the city... also in the cold wilderness (almost) you have the most spectacular view!

There is pool too - clean and well maintained... if you are lucky and there isnt much of a crowd it almost becomes your private pool! Swim in the day and the view is lovely.. swim at night and you are transported to a completely different world... where there is complete calm.. the ambient lighting and chilly air make for a perfect evening spruce it up with the hottest, crispiest onion and potato fritters ever (and a glass of single malt) as you swim :D

The food is pure 'desi'... Rustic flavours from the coal fired flame enhance the experience of being in the hills - the meat always fresh and the breads always hot dinners were a pleasure :)
Dont forget to try their black daal and eat loads of the cut cucumber and chilly salad... The curd they serve cannot be missed either...

In terms of comfort - the rooms were ok.. fairly clean but could do with more. The bathrooms were very clean, the water always hot and the towels always fresh. However check your room before you unpack - you might need to tell them to bring in the soaps, drinking water bottles, AC/ TV remotes etc...

Over all - very good place - worth the money and the memories!

Room Tip: The place is rather secluded so if you are a family or single women (like the 4 of us) get rooms clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShruBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent resort for stay and enjoy. One should must visit and enjoy the luxury. Swimming pool is one of the highlighting features of this. And rooms are well equipped with all modern facilities.Will surely visit the resort again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grover742013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel has excellent location. It is far away from the hustle of city and the view is just awesome. The cottages/rooms are nicely done and have average interiors. The pool is not cleaned and the food is terrible. Had the hotel been managed properly, it would have been the best property in the town.

Pros:
a. Awesome location. Quite, calm and serene. Lovely view from cottages.
b. Polite staff. They talk politely and are always available. They were helpful regarding our stay and made us feel at home with whatever resources they had.

Cons:
a. Terrible food. The food was really really bad and overpriced.
b. There is no travel desk. Staff does not know much about the area and places of visit. We missed Masroor Rock Cut Temple and Norbulingka Institute. The staff connected us to a taxi owner (Anju) who was more into making money than helping us explore the area. Bad luck.
c. Dirty rooms and torn furniture. Rooms were dirty and not cleaned properly. Towels/bed sheets were re-used and not replaced. The pool was muddy and not worth swimming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravRajP, Owner at The Exotica Dharamshala, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
While I thank you for writing your feedback , thus giving us an opportunity to look into the matter & not only to see as to where we have gone wrong but also to ensure that it does not happen next time.
Property of ours is small and cannot have travel desk separately. Reception Staff which is well versed with the local tourist points is handling travel desk . We do not have our own transport system but we call cabs from local taxi union as and when required. I would like to mention that Masroor Rock Cut temple is full day trip & does not come under local sightseeing.
We understand your concern but we change linen etc. once in two days. Moisture can be one of the reasons that gave you feel of re-used or not replaced linen. We are situated at a place which has its topographical advantages as well as some disadvantages because of extreme weather conditions. Dharamshala is 2nd highest rainfall region in India. As it was raining almost every day during this period, this could have been a cause of swimming pool looking muddy. Our swimming pool is one of the USPs and with proper cleaning techniques to maintain it. However, It was indeed a pleasure to have you all here at Exotica Resorts & while I look forward in having you again with us sometime in future, on the same hand we have noted all the points mentioned by you & shall try to further improve where ever its humanly possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My recent stay at The Exotica dharmshala was Excellent , The resort is Equipped with all the ameneties . The Swimmimg pool is Excellent .All the rooms have the View of the Dhauladhar ranges . the service and the food was very good .

Room Tip: Suit Rooms have more Space for family .other wise all the rooms are good and have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LALITCHANDIGARH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravRajP, Owner at The Exotica Dharamshala, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr. lalit,

I sincerely thank you for writing your views & comments on Tripadvisor for Exotica Resorts. It is indeed a great pleasure to note that your stay with us was good comfortable & you also liked our food. Sir we thank you for your kind words & assure you that our endeavor always has been to keep the guest happy with satisfying & happy memories.
Your comments are an incentive for us to still thrive for better.
Thanks
Regards.
Gaurav Raj Prashar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panchkula, India
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was there with my family & friends for 2 nights. Our stay at the resort had been one of the most wonderful experience to remember in coming years.
It’s a wonderful property, away from noise, honking horns, traffic, pollution, shops & crowd. We had a peaceful and relaxing stay which we opted for.
I never thought that Dharamshala could be such a memorable destination, though I had visited it many times before also.

Everything has been well planned and organised from location, infrastructure, cleanliness, staff, food, privacy, etc. AWESOME. And Not to forget the swimming pool which add to its real beauty and excellent experience. Well maintained & clean Swimming Pool adds to your overall comfort especially if you love to be in water (which we all were). We couples & our kids had a wonderful time together, close to nature and enjoying the refreshing pool (with beer :) ). The feeling of swimming in hills, looking at the mountains and natural beauty is outstanding. You are surrounded by the Dhauladhar Range and the quick changing weather added to the fire. Great ambience and a place to be at. Thanks to our friend Kunal (http://www.tripadvisor.com/members/kunal99881) for referring us to the right place.

A big thanks to Mr Gaurav (owner), Kesar Singh Rana & all the staff for making our holiday memorable.
Congratulations !! Looking forward to bother you again for more booking in future also :) .

Room Tip: Swimming Pool surrounded by hills and close to nature. WOW !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirti3921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravRajP, Owner at The Exotica Dharamshala, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Kirti,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with your family at The Exotica, Dharamshala. We shared your valuable feedback with our entire team members and it was very motivating for the team to realize that their warm hospitality and good service highlighted your experience with us.

Thank you for your kind feedback on the Resort’s location, infrastructure, cleanliness, staff, food, privacy and specially Hill top Swimming Pool, which is actually great USP of our Resort.
We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to have you with us again soon.

Regards,
Gaurav Raj Prashar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was there with my family & friends for 2 nights. This place is not just beautiful with an amazing city view but also the staff is very friendly & helpful. Our rooms (elite cottages) were very cozy & comfortable. A big thanks to Mr Gaurav (owner of this beautiful property) & the staff for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takrachna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
3.2 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
406 reviews
10.2 mi away
Rakkh Resort
Rakkh Resort
#8 of 77 in Dharamsala
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#7 of 77 in Dharamsala
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
691 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary
#16 of 77 in Dharamsala
212 reviews
2.9 mi away
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
Asia Health Resorts & Spa
#26 of 77 in Dharamsala
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Exotica Dharamshala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Exotica Dharamshala

Property: The Exotica Dharamshala
Address: Vill Tohu, Khanyara - Indru Nag Road, Dharamsala 176215, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Exotica Dharamshala 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Exotica Dharamshala is located exactly 3 kms from Kotwali Bazar, Dharamshala. Surrounded by pine forest and having paragliding point nearby. You will have beautiful breathtaking view of whole valley & Dhauladhar from Exotica. A perfect place for rejuvenation allows you to take a break from life and experience a world that is untouched, serene and almost timeless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Exotica Dharamshala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Exotica Dharamshala Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing