We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel of Dharamshala and Mcleodganj”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dhauladhar - HPTDC
Ranked #28 of 148 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2013

“The Dhauladhar” is one of the best Hotel in whole of Dharamshala and Mcleodganj. We reached Dharamshala on Saturday morning at 8:00 am. Our hotel reservation was from 12:00 pm but hotel staff was cooperative and looked after our luggage till we were allotted a room.
Its various positive points are:

1.Proximity to Bus stand. One can walk to hotel from bus stand and reach in 10 minutes but beware because there are stairs only which takes one directly 4-5 floors up to the main road where hotel is situated and is quite tiring if lots of luggage is there. So if there is lot of luggage I would suggest the taxi which takes 100/- Rs to Hotel (5 minute ride). Coolie is also there but again is of value if luggage is less.

2.Train and HPTDC hotel planning and reservation centre right in front of hotel main gate.

3.Spacious Hotel as compared to other pvt. Hotels there. Big lobby to relax with comfortable sofa, here we relaxed till the rooms were being allotted.

4.A big restaurant which has a big open area too. The open area faces the beautiful Kangra valley. View is awesome. Quality of food is excellent. Indian, Chinese, Continental food is available and all is good but expensive.

5.Hotel is situated right in the market area and also slightly away from the main road to be adequately away from the ruckus of market.

6.Rooms are big and spacious. We stayed in Kangra Suite, which costs 2600/- p.d. There are other suites too which are more expensive, but Kangra suite is best because first of all cost is less secondly it has the best view. The suite has 2 rooms with dining separate, a dressing room and a huge toilet and bath area which has a working bathtub too (see photo). Dining room has a Fireplace too. Room has working heater, split AC. Bedroom opens into a big balcony which has a beautiful view of kangra valley. One can pass whole day sitting on the chair watching the beauty unfold in Kangra Valley in front of you or do bird watching.

7.Near the Hotel in market area there is a sweet shop with excellent quality sweets though bakery items are better and fresh.

8.Beautifully made Bar.

9.A children’s play area is there but its not well connected with hotel corridors. There is a good garden in front of Kangra suite and adjacent to open part of restaurant which is quite good for children.

10.One can book sightseeing package through reception. We booked a Dharamshala-Mcleodganj-Dharamshala package costing 2,500/- Only Alto is available but its worth because its the best vehicle for Mcleodganj’s congested and small roads. People who brought Innova and SUVs were causing a lot of traffic jam in McLeodganj. There are other packages also for trekking and adventure activity.

Some negative points :

1.Service in restaurant is quite slow.

2.Maintenence of rooms is poor though rooms are clean, some things like the railing of Balcony in Kangra Suite-1 is broken at some places and the wood that it is made of is broken in some parts needing repair majorly.

3.Children Player area needs to be cleaned and connected well with the hotel campus.

4.A recreation room is much needed with Table tennis etc.

5.Wi-fi network is also not there.

6.There are monkeys in the area so room balcony doors should be closed all the time and also they can do menace in the open restaurant.

7.No MAP Plan in restaurant.

Room Tip: "Kangra Suite is the best suite with the best view of all the rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luvfortravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

we stayed in Dauladhar suite very spacious. Food was good. Love to stay here. Market is close by and never forget when we smell deshi ghee aloo tikki at street. Visiting from kerala and in such cold climate eating alo tikki on street was fun. Always confirm taxi charges from stand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedacain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

V stayed in the Dauladhar Suite.. HUGE Room.. Very GOOD Food... No view However.. But Honestly Dharmshala has not got much to C other than Dalai Lama's monastry.. So really nothing much to do there.. Other than shopping..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nishakoiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We extended our stay due severe cold and we found hotel was good with spacious rooms, nice breakfast and dinner with courteous staff and ample parking space. The location of the hotel is the best part that I liked. Also provides nice views from the corner of the road

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashantt0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

On the busy Kotwali Bazaar, yet there's seclusion.
Restaurant is good and service is also good, they have a big sit out along with the dinning hall that faces the Kangra valley, one can enjoy meals there (if one does not mind the bright sunshine as there are no canopies). Super deluxe rooms are well decorated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prithvirajbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visited dhauladhar hotel for the 4th time in as many year.
The food quality is excellent tried many veg and non veg items lots of foreigner tourist wer visiting as some i rememeber on e lady especially called the cook from kitchen and hailed him for the quality food prepration.
The restaurant is half covered and about 10 tables on open air with valley views
the lacation in in middle of market and lots of parking inside premises
Also there is marketing office and railway reservation counter inside the hotel
The rooms are nice big airy
Though ther eis no lift facility
Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harjitsingh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed for a night. The room was spacious, comfortable. The hotel is located in the Bazaar road so I took a walk around to see the place. Front desk staff were very nice. The restaurant is a good place to sit and relax and spent your time leisurely. Value for money. They have a nice parking lot, so you need not worry about parking your vehicle.

You could see Dhauladhar range, When I visited, the snow season just around the corner.

Over all good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maddy_the_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
1.4 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
704 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#10 of 79 in Dharamsala
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#20 of 79 in Dharamsala
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Grace Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhauladhar - HPTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhauladhar - HPTDC

Address: Kotwali Bazar, Dharamsala 176215, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range: $27 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
The Dhauladhar - HPTDC Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing