We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kunal
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dharamsala
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel India House(McLeod Ganj)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The M Hotel(McLeod Ganj)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sapphire(Dharamsala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kareri Lodge(Dharamsala)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Moon Walk Residency(McLeod Ganj)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
6
25
10
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
25
10
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshimachal pradesh tourismbudget tariffmain roadattached restaurantunder renovationample parking spacelocation is greatnice hotelhptdcpropertygovernmentpropertiescomfort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 48 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to The Kunal on 13th of August 2013 night.. This is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed.. We first thought of taking the room of Rs 1000/- but it was the room was dirty and the bed cover had multiple holes. Then we opt for room of tariff 1400/-. This room also smelt terrible and not at all maintained. But as it was quite late at night, we were not left out with any other option than taking that. Other than bad smell, the locks were in any of the door were proper and commode was broken. Staffs were using the vacant room and watching the television in full sound which was really disturbing.. After that somewhere around 2:00 am someone started nailing something which didn’t allow us to sleep for atleast next 1 hour.
Also, the behaviour of the staffs is very rude..

I felt really sick with this place

Room Tip: Don't select this hotel..
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shilpi_Dutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were to Dharamshala last week. Our stay at the Kunal, was good. Staff is good. Rooms are spacious. Go for Semi Deluxe rooms, tariff Rs. 1000/- plus taxes. and service charges. Their restaurant serves good food. This HP Tourism property is value for money.

Room Tip: Semi Deluxe rooms, tariff Rs. 1000/- plus taxes. and service charges
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParasuramanV69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

After a TERRIBLE experience at another HPTDC hotel The geentanjali in Dalhousie (DONT EVER GO THERE) , we were really really scared about this one as we had already made the online payment.
But thankfully , it exceeded our expectations :)
We had earlier booked a room for 700rs(online).The room was HUGE , the size of 2 rooms actually, but it was modestly furnished , nothing remotely connected to luxury, the toilet was just okay too , but we were fine with it , what do you expect in 700 bucks :D plus the staff was courteous , always
Next day we shifted to a 1000rs/night.Now THIS was very well furnished , the toilet the bedroom , the seating arrangement, it was VERY COMFORTABLE and had a WONDERFUL location.Our seating arrangement was overseeing a nive grove of trees combined with the hustle bustle of the road.Even in 1000 bucks it was GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY
A very nice arrangement by HPTDC , kUDOS :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universepersonified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We travelled to Himachal Pradesh in April 2012 and had a great time staying at Hotel Kunal for 2 nights. I landed up in Dharamshala and started looking out for place to stay, this place was in close proximity to the Bus stand, but stood away from crowd. Great view to wake up in the morning, spacious clean rooms(though with a bit sterilized smell :) ) good restaurant as well.
Mainly the hotel staff at reception were friendly and made our stay really pleasing.
One of the best mid-range hotels in Dharamshala - best bargain!

Room Tip: Stay on rooms at higher levels - great view of the Dhauladhar range will beckon you in the morning :)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divya_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel Kunal is property of HPTDC. I was there with family for 2 days in oct 2012. Its location is good, very safe, a very little far from market.( 10-15 minutes walk or 2 minutes by car). It has own car parking. Rooms are very big in size with very clean beds, bedsheets. Bathrooms in rooms are very clean, big in size, big size gyeser fitted for hot water. hotel provides extra bed on demand ( bed , not matters on floor) on 25% of room rent. it has restaurant in it. Staff behaviour is good & cooperative. Please don"t go with other reviews. According to me it is a nice place to stay with justified price. you can book it online also.

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor are of rs 1000/- rent. on first floor of 1400/- rent. difference is only of floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitzplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews