We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kangra fort”
Review of Kangra Valley

Kangra Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Hiking Day Tour to Triund from Dharamshala
Ranked #13 of 53 things to do in Dharamsala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Kangra fort”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have to write a review about Kangra fort here because it is not mentioned anywhere else.
If you are in Kangra (or dharamsala / mcleod) you have to see this fort. It is the oldest one in India and although it is mostly ruines it is a beautifull place to visit. A lot of the older ruines were destroyed in the big earthquake in 1905. Big parts are under construction at the moment and they have also finished a lot. In the fort you have great views over he whole Kangra valley. The fort has a rich history. You can find it easy on the net.
Fee is 100 rs p/p (offcourse SAARC 5 or 10 rs << i completly disagree with this absurt policy but what can you do about it ....!!! >>>)
You can not buy any water inside the fort so buy something before you enter.
When you come by car you can order a audiotour before you enter the ticket counter. If you stand with your back to the gate enterance it is 50-75 meters to your left. But we arrived around 09:00 am and the place for the audiotour as not opened at that time. So we did it without.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    63
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jwalamukhi Tample”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This summer we all went with our guest including their kids from Kanpur visited,Dharamshala on way we visited Jwalamukhi Temple better known for the flame burning since ages, Archaeology or shrine board should give information on past history for its importance etc.There was no cleanses,we were in line for nearly two hours burning our feet in scorching sun as the floor was of marble.everybody was in hurry due to heat some mothers had to cut short the line because of their kids did not stop crying. Fainally when our turn came, temple guards were unable to control the rush,we just had glimpse of the flame.One should be very careful when thy are with kids & old people there are every possibility of stampede.In nutshell temple its worth visiting if you in that region. Methane gas is coming out from thousand rock fractures forming a cavity,its a low pressure gas.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank 299rajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beware before u go to jwalamukhi..”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The deity is amazing;as the name suggests,the flame is worshipped as deity.But the crowd started behaving cranky.NO que,NO regulations,NO security.There is always a high chance of a stampede occuring.If you are travelling with kids and elders,kindly understand the risk and time involved,as we spent about 2 hours in the queue,which was very rough.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Ramesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kangra Valley-The Beautiful Place in Himachal Pradesh”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hello Everyone. Everybody has their own views regarding this Beautiful Place in Himachal Pradesh that is Kangra valley. As per my view this is the place where i got peace, warm love of nature, its acceptance and moreover nobody is there to disturb you. If you are in deep love with mountains and Nature then you must visit there and believe me you will feel fresh and relax.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Amazinghimview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

It's a temple cut out of rock/mountain. Really nice. But as is with most monuments in India not that well maintained and hardly any background information. But still worth a visit if you are in that region. We drove from Dharamsala which took us an hour each way. Was very hot but still worth a visit i would say.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank BobbyIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangra Valley also viewed

McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
 
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
Dharamsala, Kangra District
 

Been to Kangra Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing