We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy hotel away from noise, between the mountains & greenery everywhere.”
Review of Hotel Dev Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dev Cottage
Ranked #25 of 146 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cosy hotel away from noise, between the mountains & greenery everywhere.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel last month only. The hotel staff is efficient and warm. the are very helpfull and the hotel's services are good. The hotel is located in dharamkot; just 5 minutes walk from Mcleodganj, which is a noisy town. The location is good as dharamkot is quieter than Mcleodganj. The hotel has a huge garden full of pure green grass. The owner Dr. Kumar is extremely warm, welcoming, hospitable, polite and decent. Any problem or you want any other help, he is the one to be consulted. The rooms have woodern flooring which make the room warm. The other parts are clean.
I would like to suggest this hotel to all those who want to relax in between the mountains away from noise.
Know more.....By atleast once visiting the hotel.

Room Tip: I you want the normal deluxe rooms..the ask for a room in any of the 4 cottages next to the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravKhosla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amritsar
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Its simply the best . Situated 10 mins drive above Mcleodgang , its a paradise . covered with pine trees, over looking the mountains. The cottages r awesum. we booked the whole suite floor, these 2 rooms were inter connected as we were a big family with old parents and infant kid.. for every1 it proved to be a ideal place for vacation. The Owner Dr Kumar is one of the finest person in hospitality business. Service is with smile and food is excellent. no need to take the car to mcleodgang if u wana visit the market, simply take a taxi , they charge nominal 100 bucks . Strongly recommend ne 1 who wants to stay in dharamshala, mcleodgang area to stay at Dev cottage ....

Room Tip: Choose rooms at higher height
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Been there last week only. This hotel is situated very beautifully among the deodar trees of Dhauladhar range of mountains. Has well connectivity by foot/by vehicle to all the places. Staff is extremely courteous and polite. The manager, Mr. Kumar, is very suave and knowledgeable and polite and helpful. We even saw him helping his staff in the kitchen. The rooms were adequately furnished and neat. Had a lovely stay there with the kids and everyone on the trip unanimously agreed that this was the best trip we have had so far. Kudos and all the best for the future.

Kavita Mansukhani

Room Tip: go for the ones above Rs.2000/- or if you can afford, get the ones prices more than that as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaviom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nestled in the hills above McLeod Ganj, the place is a good option to stay. Just a couple of kilometres from the craziness of McLeod Ganj, it is a good place to find even more peace and quiet. Although the road up to Dharamkot, where the hotel is located, is steep, the autos going up and down make it very bearable.

Positives:
Decent sized rooms, except for the ones on second floor which are really small.
Clean toilets with hot water
Big bed enough for two adults and a child
Clean room and linens.
Big open grounds with an amazing view. Quiet and relaxing.
Decent and friendly staff.

Negatives:
Restaurant food is very poor quality. Even the breakfast served was cold and awful.
Room service (for food) is very slow. They take an hour for everything.
Our friend's room on the second floor was very small (same price as ours)
Road down to the hotel from the main road is narrow with dangerous curves.

On the whole,a decent place to stay if you are not averse to going down to the city to eat often.

Room Tip: Take the cottages only. Avoid the the rooms on the second floor of the main building or the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

These are situated in a serene and quieter area of dharamkot, which in itself is a much better option to stay in than the increasingly overcrowded macleodganj. Its hardly 2-3 kms beautiful trek to the main macleodganj area in any case , closer than some accomodations within macleodganj itself. For those who want, autos are easily available at most times to up and down from macleodgang.
But what is lovely about the place is the beauty and serenity of the surroundings where you feel like you are amidst a forest. I did a check to find out about other places in macleodgang of similar quality, all of which were far more expensive and located in more crowded areas. The cottages and rooms are well built, its like a 3 star accommodation at less than half the ptrice. If you're looking for a place with good basic facilities, where you can relax and be far from the madding crowd , this is really good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Dev Cottage is a pretty decent budget accomodation not so far from McLeodGanj. The place is very quiet and nestled amidst tall green cover with fantastic view of the mountain peaks. The road that leads to the cottages is pretty narrow and at most places barely sufficient for a single car to pass; we were driving an SUV and faced some challenge in negotiating atleast two very tight bends to reach the cottage - so be prepared for that. We would recommend to avoid driving when its dark if you are not used to driving on mountain roads.

We are not sure if there are any cottages with heating available; the one we stayed in was not heated. Also, the washroom in our cottage did not have any ventilator window, so it smelled , keep some room spray handy, it can be useful. The room we got on the first floor was quite wide with a lot of windows providing good views and a lot of light throughout the day. There is a small common green area available outside the cottages with nice benches - you can enjoy your breakfast in the open and upon request the staff can arrange bonfire too.

We could not find any local transport easily around the place and hence were glad that we were driving on our own. It used to take us about 15 to 20 minutes to get to the main market at McLeodGanj from the cottages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnoopyDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The place is 2-3 km from McLeodganj centre in a quiet location, three wheelers can be hired to reach here. The last 200m of winding access path from the main road is a bit tricky, local autos can manage it easily, and can be handled if driving your own car by keeping it in a low gear. Need to be experienced with hill driving to manoeuvre it.

Hotel - is clean but not luxurious or well insulated. It is a multistoried construction and not cottages as the name suggests. Good open space and greenery around. Beds are comfortable, bathroom clean.

Eating options - hotel food was average and service slow, but there are many cafes and pizzerias 15 min walk away in Dharamkot (open 7am - 2am). Well equipped general stores, massage and fruit shop as well in Dharamkot village.

Transportation - autos can be hailed from the Dharamkot auto stand (10min walking - slightly uphill walk). McLeodganj and Naddi lake can be reached walking on a mountain trail (20 min and 40 min respectively from that stand).

There are many guest houses and hotels in Dharamkot. Closeby Blue Heaven also looked good - one more hotel on the same slope as Dev cottage and Gagan resorts. There are some guesthouses down the slope as well and a yoga centre as well (one week courses).

Overall an average place in a good quiet green location, with enjoyable walks trails around Dharamkot which you won't find in McLeodganj and Naddi Lake.
The owner, Dr. Kumar gave a small unexpected 15% discount on the rack rate while checking out. Best to discuss any reservations or changes with him, the staff at the reception have no authority and act as just mailboxes.

Room Tip: Delux rooms next to the suites building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rajesh0agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dharamsala
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#6 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
691 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#22 of 77 in Dharamsala
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#1 of 49 in McLeod Ganj
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dharamkot Inn
Dharamkot Inn
#1 of 4 in Dharamkot
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#4 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dev Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dev Cottage

Property: Hotel Dev Cottage
Address: Dharamkot | Near Macleodganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dev Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dev Cottage Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing