We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is an amazing hotel....”
Review of Pong View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pong View Hotel
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Dharamsala
Reviewed January 21, 2014

situated in the dharamshala mcleadgunj road, the hotel is away from the crowd n mall hustle bustle, which makes it an ideal location if you looking for peace. we had gone for 5 nights with our group of 20 peopple. and stayed at the cottage unit of the hotel. the cottage unit is reallly very enchanting surrounded by orange trees and over looking the beautiful valley. the rooms are very well furnished and spacious. the staff is very courteous and took great care of us. the owner mr karan is himself very caring and took care of every single need.he also arranged for bonfire night for our group . mcleodgunj the holy abode of dalai lama is just 9 km uphill. I would suggest that if you drop in to dharamshala do stay here, you will love the city even more

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abcal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 120 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have been to many hotels all over the country but i must say i have never seen such a pathetic customer service ever. Hotel room and everything was decent as many of the people have also mentioned. But i will come to Customer service. Our worst experience started with Dinner we ordered. First time i had Paneer in Baigan bhartha (Actually ordered Kadai Paneer). It was so bad tasting like few slices of Paneer and gravy was tasting like Baigan Bhartha.

We had few visitors as we had a meeting next day. Arrangement of meeting was done by them. But they even refused to let us use Washrooms of empty rooms for few minutes. We had to take our visitors to our rooms for using washroom.

Third pathetic experience was when we checked in Manager quoted me a figure that we will provide you room in this amount. While we checked out 3 rooms after staying 2 days.. Manager refused to give us bill and asked more money to provide us Bill. During check in i specifically asked that this amount includes Tax so he said all inclusive. But during check out Manager refused. So please be aware when you visit.

No issues with hotel and other staff but the manager was not at all cooperative. In fact during our stay in hotel, from manager we always got a look like he has given us room for free.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Indresh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Let me start with the location- it is located between Dharamshala and McLeod Gang .. very accessible as it on the main high way.
We stayed for 2 nights- took the premium room(recommended)- it was worth it..private balcony, nice view, complete privacy.
The staff are friendly- they arranged everything for us- cabs, Truid trekking trip, return volvo tickets etc
and the finally the interesting part- I realised that I have left my camera in the bus when i reach home(Delhi)- called up the hotel, they not only gave me the number of driver but helped me track the location of the bus- The owner Suraj is gem of a person. Be sure to call him up before hand and you can expect an out of the world hostpitality.

Room Tip: Premium room- private balcony, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikedamagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Highly recommended for Family Stay & Couples - Awesome Service, very friendly staff & Great Location & View - In all a Total Value for money.

I had visited Dharamshala with my wife, 8 months old son & parents for 3 days. I had booked 2 super deluxe rooms from delhi- Easy & quick, Mr. Karan was very helpful. We reached early at the Hotel around 11 a.m. & staff was very quick to allot us rooms at the ground level before check in time & on departure day we requested a late check out at 4 p.m. which was gladly reciprocated with a smile - A gesture which cannot be forgotten for lifetime.

Spic n span rooms, fully carpeted, 24 hours hot & cold water supply, brand new LCD TV's & very well furnished.

Both the rooms had 4 star facilities & the balcony view is to die for. Please see pictures for yourself.

The hotel is very aptly located at Cantt Mcleodganj Road, 5 min from main kotwali Bazar enroute to Mcleodganj.

Absolutely fantastic food, we found it so reasonable & high quality that we had dinner daily at hotel & breakfast(it was included in stay).

Hotel management can take care of your local sightseeing needs by arranging transport.

My compliments to entire pong view staff - Keep it Up!!

And I will always stay at this hotel on my next trips to dharamshala & 4 devi darshans.

Room Tip: Choose Premium or Super Deluxe Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RISHI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

A great place located at a very strategic location Dharamsala and McLeodgunj with very nice views. The rooms are well equipped with latest amenities and the hospitality of staff is worth a praise. Room service for food is very timely and food is great too.

Room Tip: Premium room on the top floor or cottage rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gomcoite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My family had a great experience at the Pong View. We had two rooms, both with great views/terraces, functional facilities, and soft beds/pillows (soft compared to other hotels in India at least)

Room service was delicious and timely.
The staff was incredibly helpful, from letting us use their cell phones to running after the cab with a forgotten book after checkout.

We have stayed at 5 other hotels in India, and this was our best experience

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChaseDymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I, both senior citizens were most welcomed at the hotel. We had only called up the owner a day before from Manali. The rooms were excellent with a huge balcony facing the valley. The bath / toilet was spotless. The hotel staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. The food was superb. Will stay at this hotel again when in Dharamsala.

Room Tip: Take a room behind the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.9 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
705 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Snow Crest Inn Private Limited
1.5 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#22 of 79 in Dharamsala
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
145 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary
#16 of 79 in Dharamsala
221 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mount View Hotel
Mount View Hotel
#35 of 79 in Dharamsala
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pong View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pong View Hotel

Address: Cantt. Road, Dharamsala 176215, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range: $25 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pong View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pong View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pong View Hotel Dharamsala, Asia - India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing