We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Lodge on a Beautiful Hillside!”
Review of Bwindi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bwindi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Restful Lodge on a Beautiful Hillside!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Set very near the Bwindi Impenetrable Park gate this lodge has everything you need for a gorilla tracking adventure. The rooms are well appointed and the lodge has wifi in the common area. Uganda also has great cell/data service for the region. A deck and lovely dining area overlooking the slopes and river make for a great place to relax after a strenuous hike to see a gorilla group.

Only item to note is the lodge is arrayed on a slope, so prepare for a short climb to/from your vehicle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
51
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you want to trek gorillas in Bwindi National Park in Uganda this is the place to stay!! The private villas are in the middle of the jungle and there are guests who actually saw gorillas from their own terrace! Food and service are very good. If you have time explore the village nearby and the different community projects of Volcanoes safaris. You can also combine this experience with the Virunga Lodge in Rwanda which is equally amazing - see my other review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Bwindi Lodge is a luxury Eco-lodge as close as it's possible to get to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. The individual cottages are perched on the edge of a ravine, meaning you get an incredible view of the impenetrable forest facing you. It was very atmospheric to watch the thunderstorm coming in across the forest and the valley from the floor to ceiling windows in our room.

The lodge is a favorite haunt of the Rushegura family of gorillas (probably the only lodge in the world which has the privilege of catering to such guests!) and we could see gorilla tracks and nests where they had slept the week before when we were staying there.

Gorillas aren't the only animals you'll see - rare birds including hornbills and bee-eaters frequent the cottages and the open air dining area. The food and wine are great - the tropical fruit cobbler we had here was the best dessert we've ever had anywhere in Uganda - as is the service. Jappheth the lodge manager is friendly, accommodating, and extremely knowledgeable about local flora and fauna as well as the habits of the gorillas.

Definitely the place to stay in Buhoma!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuleikadobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Volcanoes Bwindi Lodge, a solar-powered eco-lodge overlooking the Impenetrable Forest, is just beautiful. It's located very close to the starting point for the gorilla treks and we would not have been surprised to have a gorilla family appear on the deck outside our room. The rooms are comfortable with many amenities, the meals are delicious and beautifully served, and the staff is gracious and accommodating. They sent us off trekking with a box lunch (in case the trekking lasted longer than expected) and when we returned before lunch with muddy boots and clothes, they did the laundry, cleaned the boots, and we sat down to a hot lunch! After a morning of gorilla trekking, it was a pleasure to relax back at the lodge, enjoy a massage, and have a drink on the deck at sundown. Bwindi is in the mountains at about 7,500 feet; it gets cold at night and it's good to warm up in front of the fire in the main lodge before dinner.

Room Tip: Be prepared to navigate lots of stairs between the reception area and the cottages and main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeamomInSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This 'bucket list' adventure far exceeded our hopes and expectations. Our recent trip to Uganda was truly life changing. We met some of the most incredible and inspiring people on our trip and saw some of the best sights of our lives visiting our ‘distant relatives’ the mountain gorillas of Uganda’s Impenetrable Forest. We stayed at the Bwindi Safari Lodge in pure paradise bliss looking out at the beautiful birds and dense forest complete with black and white colobus monkeys. The staff at the lodge treated us with the highest level of service. It was pure bliss and heaven on earth.

Staying at the Bwindi Lodge is a MUST DO if you can make it happen!!!

Room Tip: Any banda is amazing there! There are only 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Beautiful place
Amazing views of the Bwindi forest from the lounge and room balconies.
The food was amazing - the chef was fantastic
After a hard day out tracking the gorillas - complimentary massages to end the day, followed by a quiet drink overlooking the forest.
Bungalows are comfortable with king-size beds and guaranteed hot water showers. Morning wake-up call with some hot tea/coffee.
The service was impeccable. The lodge staff ever smiling and always at hand
We had an fantastic time at Bwindi

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We decided to end our African honeymoon gorilla trekking in Uganda. That didn't exactly sound relaxing or romantic but definitely felt it during our four day stay at Bwindi Lodge. Our bungalow was incredible, nestled above a dense forest. It had a contemporary design, with a big king-size bed, outdoor seating area, his&her bathroom sinks and a big shower. We ate four-course delicious meals every night and were given a packed lunch each day of our trekking that was the envy of the other walkers. We spent two days trekking and would return in the afternoon and just unwind.. the complimentary massage I received helped! Above all else, the local staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome... offering a friendly chat or smile, helping us exchange our money, even surprising us with a hot water bottle in our beds each night. On our final night they made a special "honeymoon" cake just for us which nearly made me cry. Along with the incredible experience of seeing gorillas in the wild.. this place really was the icing on the cake of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
103 reviews
7.1 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
224 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bwindi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwindi Lodge

Property: Bwindi Lodge
Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the primeval Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Volcanoes Bwindi Lodge offers a truly unique Uganda jungle safari experience. Separated by nothing more than an idyllic stream, the gorillas themselves are frequent visitors to the finest lodge in Bwindi! The adventure lodge in Uganda boasts eight bandas facing the forest canopy, each with a private terrace from which you can spot wildlife, including chimpanzees, mountain gorillas, and monkeys jumping from tree to tree mere metres away. Each room in our gorilla safari lodge has en-suite bathrooms and the eco-luxury comforts are all provided in eco-sensitive ways. A cosy fireside bar and lounge in the main building offers the chance for you to relax while sharing stories of your gorilla tracking experience with other guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bwindi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Bwindi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing