We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice in Bwindi!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This place is certainly the nicest option in the area. The location cannot be beat, no other place is closer to the forest and Gorillas have sometimes entered the camp! The service is some of the best I've ever experienced and the management seems to be very concerned with the overall conservation of the area and growing tourism as a means of protection for both the forest and all of its inhabitants. Thanks to Barbara, Ludovic and Ian for making our stay the absolute best! Visit Uganda!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GullyWasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp on Tripadvisor!

We are very happy to hear you had such a wonderful time and thank you for your kind comments; the team were thrilled that you appreciated their efforts.

Conservation is of the utmost importance to us and we endeavor to do our best to keep these resources safe and unchanged.

Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back one day soon!

In the meantime you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.
We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 240 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have been to Africa several times but never to view the Mountain gorillas. I have stayed in several remote lodges and camps but this one was the best by far. The staff were amazing and the location is incredible. The food is excellent by remote camp standards although they do believe that Earl Grey tea is herbal - Lol. The spa services were top notch but most impressive were the staff especially the manager Ian. Any request however small by any guest is met with his best efforts. He runs the camp in a very efficient and guest friendly manner. Go see the gorillas - stay at this camp!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow high over the camp - it had awesome views and a gentle breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Charles,

Thank you so much for this amazing review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and that Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp is at the top of your list!

We shared your positive feedback with the rest of the team and they were very happy that you appreciated their efforts, especially Ian. You were a pleasure to host and the team hopes they’ll have the chance to welcome you back again one day.

We would love for you to keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search “Sanctuary Retreats”. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had two nights here on either side of a Gorilla Trek.

Great camp, amazing location and the staff are wonderful. The bath in the room is such a bonus after what (in our case) was quite an arduous hike.

The camp is right in the forest so even when you're not trekking you feel like you're right in the middle of the jungle.

Food was very good and the cocktails around the fire in the evening are real Africa!

Highly recommended and if you are lucky enough to get the chance to trek Gorillas, this should be your only stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My stay was flawless, everything went well, the staff was excellent. I am a vegetarian with some food allergies and they handled it better than the other camps I stayed at on this trip. The location is ideal as well as a starting point for the gorilla trek. All inclusive so no nickel and diming issues, which is appreciated. Wonderful all around experience in Uganda...highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PS00011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed at GFC on numerous occasions, and each time had a wonderful time. The tented cabins are large, clean and discretely positioned under the trees, giving each unit excellent privacy. Service is excellent and the food is of a high standard. The gorilla trek meeting point is a 5 minute walk from GFC and for birders there are 2 excellent walks that start nearby – one doable without a guide and the other requiring a guide. There is good cell phone reception and free wireless Internet (although slow speed while I was there).

Room Tip: I prefer the higher units - better views of the dense jungle on the opposite slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonEspley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Sanctuary GF Camp is an absolute pleasure to return to after your exhilarating day in the forest with your new best friends - the extremely endangered mountain gorillas. Jackson and his friendly team do a remarkable job to deliver such a high standard in this remote part of Uganda. If you're used to the luxury tents of other Sanctuary camps it will be a bit below that standard but compared to other options in the region this is No.1 in our view. The staff couldn't be friendlier, the service was 1st rate and the food was lovely. Thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Top notch lodging in the middle of Bwindi. Perfect place to recoup after a long hard day of gorilla trekking in the forest. Jackson and his team make your experience one you will never forget. They go above and beyond for their guests. Food was delicious and Precious gives a wonderful massage. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KY_Amy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Amy,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you had an experience that you will never forget. Thank you for your kind comments especially about our team (especially Jackson & Precious); they were very happy to learn you appreciated their efforts.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and the wonderful massage - Precious is brilliant isn’t she!

We would love for you to keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.4 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
111 reviews
6.5 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
425 reviews
13.2 mi away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#6 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#12 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp

Address: Gorilla Territory, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $473 - $1,204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only concessionaire luxury camp within Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp is the perfect base from which to track the park's most famous resident - the mountain gorilla. The main area features a comfortable lounge and bar area as well as the main dining area while the mini spa offers a wide selection of treatments. Located within the National Park, Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp offers guests an unrivalled location, including the best bird and wildlife viewing in the Bwindi area. In fact Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp often receives regular visits from the gorillas themselves. For the lucky guests in camp at those times, they may have the chance for a gorilla encounter without even leaving Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp. The eight tents at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp are stylish and spacious, each featuring two queen sized beds. In addition to the comfortable warm beds, each tent has a huge bathtub that looks straight into the jungle canopy ideal for soaking tired muscles after a day spent observing and meeting gorillas. Observe rare forest species while soaking in the tub, followed by a cocktail on the private viewing deck served by your personal attendant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing