We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Gorillas, Amazing staff and wonderful manager Ian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Amazing Gorillas, Amazing staff and wonderful manager Ian”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have been to Africa several times but never to view the Mountain gorillas. I have stayed in several remote lodges and camps but this one was the best by far. The staff were amazing and the location is incredible. The food is excellent by remote camp standards although they do believe that Earl Grey tea is herbal - Lol. The spa services were top notch but most impressive were the staff especially the manager Ian. Any request however small by any guest is met with his best efforts. He runs the camp in a very efficient and guest friendly manner. Go see the gorillas - stay at this camp!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow high over the camp - it had awesome views and a gentle breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Charles,

Thank you so much for this amazing review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and that Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp is at the top of your list!

We shared your positive feedback with the rest of the team and they were very happy that you appreciated their efforts, especially Ian. You were a pleasure to host and the team hopes they’ll have the chance to welcome you back again one day.

We would love for you to keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search “Sanctuary Retreats”. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
101
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had two nights here on either side of a Gorilla Trek.

Great camp, amazing location and the staff are wonderful. The bath in the room is such a bonus after what (in our case) was quite an arduous hike.

The camp is right in the forest so even when you're not trekking you feel like you're right in the middle of the jungle.

Food was very good and the cocktails around the fire in the evening are real Africa!

Highly recommended and if you are lucky enough to get the chance to trek Gorillas, this should be your only stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My stay was flawless, everything went well, the staff was excellent. I am a vegetarian with some food allergies and they handled it better than the other camps I stayed at on this trip. The location is ideal as well as a starting point for the gorilla trek. All inclusive so no nickel and diming issues, which is appreciated. Wonderful all around experience in Uganda...highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PS00011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed at GFC on numerous occasions, and each time had a wonderful time. The tented cabins are large, clean and discretely positioned under the trees, giving each unit excellent privacy. Service is excellent and the food is of a high standard. The gorilla trek meeting point is a 5 minute walk from GFC and for birders there are 2 excellent walks that start nearby – one doable without a guide and the other requiring a guide. There is good cell phone reception and free wireless Internet (although slow speed while I was there).

Room Tip: I prefer the higher units - better views of the dense jungle on the opposite slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonEspley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Sanctuary GF Camp is an absolute pleasure to return to after your exhilarating day in the forest with your new best friends - the extremely endangered mountain gorillas. Jackson and his friendly team do a remarkable job to deliver such a high standard in this remote part of Uganda. If you're used to the luxury tents of other Sanctuary camps it will be a bit below that standard but compared to other options in the region this is No.1 in our view. The staff couldn't be friendlier, the service was 1st rate and the food was lovely. Thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Top notch lodging in the middle of Bwindi. Perfect place to recoup after a long hard day of gorilla trekking in the forest. Jackson and his team make your experience one you will never forget. They go above and beyond for their guests. Food was delicious and Precious gives a wonderful massage. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KY_Amy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Amy,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you had an experience that you will never forget. Thank you for your kind comments especially about our team (especially Jackson & Precious); they were very happy to learn you appreciated their efforts.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and the wonderful massage - Precious is brilliant isn’t she!

We would love for you to keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I LOVED the Gorilla Forest Camp! It is a luxury tented camp right in the middle of the Bwindi Impenetrable National Park. The tented rooms (8 of them) have big verandas, big en suite bathrooms, very comfortable beds. The bathtub is in a separate room with a big window overlooking the jungly garden, and illumination is provided by a candelabra with 6 or so candles. Very romantic! TONS of hot water.
Each room is assigned a room attendant, who takes care of your needs while you are there. Laundry is free, and we had tons of it.
Wifi is available in the main lodge, and is very good. The food was excellent and all of the staff was superb. So gracious and welcoming and friendly and WONDERFUL!

Every night there is a camp fire on the front lawn, and we at least had a musician come and play a local instrument. Lovely.

The lodge is about a 5 minute walk to a little "village" of shops. Interesting to visit to see the baskets, carvings, etc. for sale. Not too much bargaining, prices seemed reasonable and fairly fixed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Nancy,

What a rave review - thank you! It’s very much appreciated.

We are thrilled that you LOVED Gorilla Forest Camp and we do hope you return one day soon to sit around the camp fire enjoying the local sounds.

In the meantime please keep up to date with all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
107 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
90 reviews
6.7 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
191 reviews
6.5 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#12 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp

Property: Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Address: Gorilla Territory, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only concessionaire luxury camp within Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp is the perfect base from which to track the park's most famous resident - the mountain gorilla. The main area features a comfortable lounge and bar area as well as the main dining area while the mini spa offers a wide selection of treatments. Located within the National Park, Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp offers guests an unrivalled location, including the best bird and wildlife viewing in the Bwindi area. In fact Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp often receives regular visits from the gorillas themselves. For the lucky guests in camp at those times, they may have the chance for a gorilla encounter without even leaving Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp. The eight tents at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp are stylish and spacious, each featuring two queen sized beds. In addition to the comfortable warm beds, each tent has a huge bathtub that looks straight into the jungle canopy ideal for soaking tired muscles after a day spent observing and meeting gorillas. Observe rare forest species while soaking in the tub, followed by a cocktail on the private viewing deck served by your personal attendant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and South African Hotels so you can book your Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing