We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorilla Forest Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My favorite lodge out of all the loges in Bwindi National Park. Warm welcome from the manager. The rooms are large, bath tub is in a amazing setting where you can enjoy the view of the forest. Excellent customer service. I have stayed at this lodge about 5 times now. I was luck to see the Gorilla and L'hoest monkey pass by the lodge. I plan to visit again to this loge for more experience and to see friendly employee again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 235 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Of all the lodging I stayed in during my recent Uganda trip the Gorilla Forest Camp was by far and away the best managed. The tents feature large bedrooms, a shower with very hot water and a separate bath. There are room attendants assigned to each tent to take care of your laundry, bring you a wake up cup of tea, etc. Moses did a great job. The food is delicious and well presented. Jackson, the local manager,, and his staff are terrific. The views from GFC are spectacular. The camp is located within walking distance of the gorilla tracking starting point. It can get very cold here at night so bring some warm clothes. The gorilla viewing was fantastic. The tour of the nearby village was also very interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packedandready2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I visited Bwindi Impenetrable National Park for the first time and i had the chance to stay at Sanctuary Gorilla forest camp, the lodge was so magical, we were given the warmest welcome by Ian, the general manager, the rooms were cozy and warm with beautiful decor, the bathrooms had beautiful stone work and they had warm water running... we where served scrumptious mouth watering meals....at the end of the trip it was tearing good byes...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluey256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I had an opportunity to stay at the Gorilla Forest Camp in Biwindi, Uganda. We had a fantastic time. Ian, the General Manager is fabulous. He took the time to get to know us and was very helpful. The service and staff was wonderful. Everyone was so nice and helpful. All with a smile. It is a beautiful site, the cottages were spectacular and the best place to spend a little time after your trek is at the main lodge. Have a couple of beverages and simply enjoy the view. We had a wonderful gorilla trek in Uganda, and the Gorilla Forest Camp made the experience even better!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently stayed at Gorilla Forest Camp with my family. We were in the area to track the mountain gorillas, which we did successfully! The lodge was absolutely perfect. The rooms are charming and spacious, the bathrooms spacious as well. Always hot water for the showers and they offered very nice toiletries. Our boots (absolutely muddy from our excursions) were returned to us each evening perfectly clean. I believe my boots were returned to me in better shape than I brought them! The food quality and choices were excellent. There are always choices. Breakfast is buffet style but they will create an egg dish or specialty item upon your request. We were in the perfect location to be poised for our morning gorilla trek. We were within the park's boundary and we were a five minute walk from the local gift shops. If this lodge is booked, I would recommend the neighboring Mahogany Springs Lodge, which is equal in quality to Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp. I travel extensively and am in the travel profession and I have absolutely no complaints about this camp.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SafariSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our first trip to Africa. Ian, the manager, was wonderful and helped us out greatly when a missed flight threatened to ruin our trip. Breakfast was average but lunch and dinner was the best we had in Africa including the other sanctuary camps. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Ludovich and Rogers were great as was the enire staff.

This was the highlight of our family trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

An absolutely beautiful site! The lodge was more luxurious than expected. Bathroom,shower,bed all excellent. The staff was as fine a staff as I've ever seen. Delightful,personable and eager to help in any way possible. The hot water bottle in the bed was a nice touch. Daily laundry service was terrific and made traveling a breeze. Not much required as far as wardrobe needed and clothes washed daily. Ian (GM)was just perfect! He goes out of his way to please every guest and makes you feel very welcome. Jackson was the chef and also delightful company. I might agree it's not the finest cuisine but much more than satisfactory. I can't say enough about the people. The friendliest to be found anywhere on the globe! I would suggest to anyone not up for a rigorous hike to request the gorilla family that resides by the lodge. But...if you find yourself hiking for hours up and down the hills you will find the greatest satisfaction at the end of the day. Just a great trip and every last detail was attended to.

Room Tip: Flycatcher was close to everywhere. Good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.4 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
111 reviews
6.7 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
166 reviews
20.2 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#16 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#12 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp

Address: Gorilla Territory, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $474 - $1,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only concessionaire luxury camp within Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp is the perfect base from which to track the park's most famous resident - the mountain gorilla. The main area features a comfortable lounge and bar area as well as the main dining area while the mini spa offers a wide selection of treatments. Located within the National Park, Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp offers guests an unrivalled location, including the best bird and wildlife viewing in the Bwindi area. In fact Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp often receives regular visits from the gorillas themselves. For the lucky guests in camp at those times, they may have the chance for a gorilla encounter without even leaving Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp. The eight tents at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp are stylish and spacious, each featuring two queen sized beds. In addition to the comfortable warm beds, each tent has a huge bathtub that looks straight into the jungle canopy ideal for soaking tired muscles after a day spent observing and meeting gorillas. Observe rare forest species while soaking in the tub, followed by a cocktail on the private viewing deck served by your personal attendant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and South African Hotels so you can book your Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing