We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were the only two people here so it was certainly a very quiet and peaceful place to spend the night. The views are superb and they people there were super friendly. We met Seths dad, Eric, and had an amazing conversation with him. The manager and the young man that was helping out were super friendly and nice.
The food was ok, not great. But certainly edible, was to be a curry, but was really something mixed with a ketchup sauce I think lol. (Uganda ketchup looks radioactive so I can recognise it a mile off :) ) Breakfast was great, and the packed lunch was tasty too. We found the drinks were very pricy comparative to everywhere else we had been. Wines were 15,000 for a small glass, he kindly reduced to 10,000 when I announced my shock that that was per glass and not for all 3. We had not paid more than 5000-6000 at all other locations. Including a fancy hotel in Ugandan terms. We didn't have a beer so I can't compare that price. We never paid more than 5000 for a beer anywhere else.
For Dinner, Breakfast and a packed lunch it was $25. Sounds reasonable in North American terms but it cost us the same for that one night stay than it did for 2 full days at our previous place where we had incomparably indulged in many beverages and much food. Whilst they do have a bit bumpy trek to bring things out there this was not the first remote place I stayed in so if you are on a tight backpacking budget, just budget for this as it certainly adds up if you start drinking.
We had a very nice room with a private shower,toilet. The only one they had finished for this from the sounds. As is the way with Africa, be prepared for power outs. This happened at every place I stayed at, from the so called high end hotel, to the lowly backpackers. Thats just life in Uganda so carry a torch/flashlight with you. Oh and make sure you have something warm. The temperatures certainly cooled off in the evenings, I'm a bit of a woos when it comes to cool so I had my light fleece and my rain jacket to break the wind. They put a fireplace upstairs, odd, but kinda cool. The downside was if its windy, the smoke is unbearable and you will be carrying the smell in your clothes for a while. Excellent experience. (we had heard from folks staying at the really expensive Gorilla lodge place there too, and they said that was a complete waste of money - so... this is certainly a very nice, clean place and is definitely worth the visit!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwimatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seith B, Owner at Bwindi Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your time to review the lodge and most importantly being the first person to make a review. May God bless you abundantly and please come again the lodge is open for you any time you feel you want to relax next to Nkuringo Gorillas of Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
26
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We trekked the Nkuringo gorilla group and stayed one night at Bwindi Backpackers lodge. The restaurant has an amazing view and also excellent food, service and great prices. The rooms were nice and comfortable and the staff was very welcoming. The self-contained rooms were not finished yet, but the rustic facilities are still do-able and the regular rooms are very nice. The lodge allows you to help plant young trees, to do your part for reforestation, which is an excellent idea! While in Nkuringo, area be sure to visit the Batwa pygmy village just a 20 min drive near the start of Nkuringo gorilla trek.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bglenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seith B, Owner at Bwindi Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your time to review our lodge. Please next time you are in Bwindi come again and may God bless you where ever you are
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A backpackers Lodge with a lot of character. Newly opened in November 2012, I visited often to enjoy a drink and the view from the bar and stayed for a few nights with friends over Christmas 2012. The staff are wonderfully friendly, Seith, the owner, is an interesting man to get into conversation with, he has loads of ambition and plans for the place. A great place to go gorilla tracking from and the views over Bwindi Impenetrable Rainforest are phenomenal, the tiny nearby village of Nombe and the little Nombe pocket forest are real treasures. Don't miss a visit to them while here. Chameleons and gloriously coloured sunbirds are regulars in the grounds. I really hope to get back again someday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annj_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seith B, Owner at Bwindi Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your time and review. Please feel at home, the gates are open waiting for you, your friends and greetings to people of scotland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
9.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
20.4 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
14.9 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
13.0 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#5 of 12 in Kisoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
20.4 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bwindi Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwindi Backpackers Lodge

Property: Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Address: plot 1 Kirundo, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 256 486, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bwindi Backpackers Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unobstructed sweeping views of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest National Park from front rooms and bar/restaurant. Perfectly located for gorilla tracking in southern sector Bwindi Impenetrable Forest National Park. Nature walks to nearby pocket forest and waterfall available. Volcano hiking, Golden monkey tracking, Batwa visits, cultural exploration ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bwindi Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing