We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and extraordinary view”
Review of Bakiga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bakiga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The lodge is situation on a hillside with absolutely fantastic view over the hilltops. Stunning! The service we got was impeccable with both kind and helpful insights. Allthrough a great place to stay. Highly recommended! The lodges where extremely cozy and you really get the experience that you are on an adventure close to the nature. The hotel representative that took care of us was George and hats off for a great job.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Bakiga Lodge and were greeted upon arrival by Wyclef who was an amazing host throughout our stay. It's not the most luxurious place but it provides a great experience and the service is top notch.
The place itself is very beautiful with two tent cabins and one new wooden cabin in which we stayed. The rooms have plenty of warm blankets to keep you warm in the cold nights and we were also given hot water bottles at night to warm the bed.
The food was also fantastic. They asked us the evening before for our preferences for breakfast and also made sure if we had any dietary reservations regarding what they made for dinner. The soups were out of this world and were exactly what you need in the cold evenings.
After dinner we had some long talks with Wyclef by the fireplace, learning about Uganda and it's culture and sharing our own with him. Wyclef is a very intelligent person who made a fascinating conversation partner.
The great thing about this place is that they are entirely engaged in the community and all profits are used to enhance the quality of life within the community.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogliD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Only stayed one night at Bakiga, but was very impressed. The location and view are fabulous, the accommodation is extremely comfortable and as already outlined, it is extremely convenient if you are tracking the Oruzogo gorilla group, with the meeting point only minutes away.

The jewel in the crown though is that all profits from the Lodge are ploughed back into the Bakiga Lodge NGO. The guys running the lodge are also running their NGO to supply clean drinking water to the remote villages in the surrounding areas. Talking to them about the challenges of their work was fascinating. I wish them every success.

I had no complaints about my stay whatsoever, but I can imagine that a fixed nightly menu and hot water on request (rather than demand) would be an issue for some.

So a plea - anyone who may have quibbles should perhaps take a good look at the people and villages they are driven through on the way in and out of the park. This NGO, and by extension Bakiga Lodge, and those of us fortunate enough to stay there are playing a part in making their living conditions just a little bit easier.

Applying western standards of luxury to places like this and leveling criticism accordingly would be churlish and unfair. I hope Bakiga Lodge goes from strength to strength.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank cjs355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent two nights at Bakiga Lodge in April, 2013 as we were travelling with Kigezi Tours of Kabale, Uganda. We were booked to do a gorilla trek in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park and we did find and watch the Oruzogo gorilla family. Great experience and made all the better with the hospitality and service of George, Josephine and Sam. We stayed in one of the cabins and after a fairly tough and sweaty hike through jungle, we had hot water for bathing! Food was excellent as Sam is a wonderfuly chef. The view of the valley and surrounding hills from the open air restaurant/lounge/bar is both peaceful and beautiful.
The lodge is operated by a non-government organization that helps communities improve the security, accessibility and cleanliness of local water supplies. The lodge also uses solar power and collects rain water for use.
We really enjoyed our stay here and I would stay here again if we ever happen to travel back that way.

Room Tip: all three cabins have the same great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

its indeed beautiful.it really takes you back to the ancient days,depicting the African culture.The location is great and the surrounding environment is indeed welcoming and its a place to relax and refresh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank 635andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Members of the Uganda Bird Guides Club recently had opportunity to visit the southwestern corner of Uganda on a birding / fact finding FAM trip. We took some time off to check for birder friendly accommodation. One particular facility that attracted everyone's attention was the newly established Bakiga Lodge. Located at a hill near the communities, the lodge gives commanding views of the forest nearby and far off, the Virunga mountains. The lounging area and the restaurant are spacious with a collection of beautiful artifacts. Cottages and tents are big enough with comfortable beds made of crystal clean linen, soft fiber pillows.... If you are looking for great comfort, personal touch, and relaxation, choose Bakiga Lodge

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EcoUganda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spend two nights in this lodge. It is a quiet place where you see sometimes monkeys and you have an amazing view (see photos). We really enjoyed the food and the friendly staff. We slept very well in the beds. The sanitation was clean and very comfortable. We also enjoyed hiking to the wolfram mines. This tour was guided by the staff of the lodge. Even without going for gorilla tracking is it worth to stay at this lodge for a few days to relax and enjoy hiking in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 776MaStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
7.2 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
106 reviews
11.8 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
111 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#3 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bwindi Jungle Lodge
Bwindi Jungle Lodge
#9 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 32 in Kabale
106 reviews
11.6 mi away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#6 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakiga Lodge

Address: Ruhija, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $157 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Cabins in the heart of beautiful Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. 10 minutes from the Ruhija Gorilla Tracking meeting point. Facilities include restaurant, lounge and bar. Charging available. Two spacious twin tents and four luxury cabins, all with wonderful views from private balconies. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms with hot showers. All profits fund our NGO water development in South West Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Bakiga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakiga Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing