We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
4 Days Murchison Falls Safaris
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
$3,589.75
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Nkuringo Walking Safaris
from $3,589.75
More Info
from $3,128.21
More Info
from $7,541.03
More Info
from $3,342.57
More Info
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
77
6
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake mutanda dugout canoe mountain gorillas golden monkey trekking stunning scenery private safari gorilla lodge wild animals beautiful country lake victoria kazinga channel ngamba island boat ride chimpanzee tracking once in a lifetime batwa experience lydia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 85 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2020

For part of our trip we trekked through the mountainous region of Uganda, from Gahinga to Bwindi, via Lake Mutanda and Nkuringo. Throughout this part of the trip we were accompanied by our wonderful guide (muhavara) Richard. Richard knew so much about pretty much everything - the local animals, plants and trees, the communities the country's history and culture. He's funny and friendly and looked after us incredibly well. I really recommend this way of exploring the region.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank tomrV4961TY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NBGL-OPS, General Manager at Nkuringo Walking Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2020

Hello tomrV4961TY,

Thank you for choosing the activities with Nkuringo Walking safaris.
We glad you were able to experience this amazing country side and the different landscape and views.
Richard, one of our best walking safari guide always makes sure clients experience is memorable.

Thank you again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

Our trip was actually organised by Wild Frontier Safaris and we spent 3 days at Buhoma Lodge and walked into see the H group on the second day. It took me one and half hours but some of the walking was not difficult. When I arrived it was just so wonderful I was almost in tears, it was one of the most amazing hours of my life, 14 gorillas who just went on with their lives and occasionally came right up to us. Two hours of a steep climb to get out,

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 10, 2019

TOTAL COSTING
Single occupancy USD 3995.
Double occupancy USD 5115.
Includes:
Car hire, English speaking driver guide, Fuel, Management,Budget lodges,Gorilla permits, Chimps permits.
Excludes:
Staff tips, Visa fees, Souvenirs,

ITINERARY:
Drive to L. mburo Park, check in at Eagles Mburo Nest. Afternoon game drive , Zebra, Eland, Impala, Giraffees, and birds.
Day2. Very early game drive.
Return to the lodge for a late breakfast, and check out to Bwindi Forest.
Check in at Bakiga lodge in Ruhija or Rushaga gorilla lodge at Rushaga gate.
Day3. Gorilla tracking.
Afternoon , Batwa cultural experiencing.
Second Night.
Day4. check out , visit Ishasha for fig tree climbing Lions and may be share a moment with Elephants as you continue to Kibale
Overnight Kibale Chimpanzee Forest GH Or Kibale Forest Camp .
Please ask your guide to help you make an early night game drive in the Kibale forest public Road . Lots of nocturnal drive .
First night.
Day5. Chimpanzee tracking, another thriller , Chimpanzee are far interesting compared to other animals in the wild. If you can please ask for old UWA Staffs around Kibale who retired from work but has great knowledge and understanding of chimpanzee social behaviors. ( Astone, Gerald, Bradford and Silva)
Afternoon go for culture information.
Second Night.
Day 6.
Long day drive to Murchison and sleep at M R L ,
Day7 Morning game drive, boat cruise and hike to top of the falls. lodge MRL.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank ugandaexcellentadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 21, 2019

We traveled as a group of 6 in January with Nkuringo Safaris .
Our tour guide/driver/ game tracker/ organizer was Jack. He is probably the best tour guide I have ever met, professional, courteous, knowledgeable and caring about his country, his people and his culture, and the amazing bonus of being an ex park ranger. He knew all the parks like the back of his hand, he knew the rangers, where to find the animals and when. We were very quick to realize that with Jack as our guide we were going to have the best of Ugandan adventures. And we did.
Such an amazing country, and of course sad to see the slow return from the devastation of decades of hardship. We learned almost as much about the beautiful people and culture of Uganda as we did about the wild animals we had come to see.
Queen Elizabeth Park was incredible, I have been on quite a few safaris in Africa but never have seen such a variety of animals in one place, in the same day. The boat trip on the Nile was also gorgeous and filled with animal life along the shores.
The lodging was very nice, with very good meals and excellent service. Some lodges were higher quality than others but they were all very comfortable.
For me, as a primate lover, the highlights were the Chimp tracking and of course the Gorilla tracking. It exceeded my hopes, dreams and expectations.
Our group was quite fit, and had done our research on the conditions in the mountains. We were shocked that some other ( Non Nkuringo) tour groups would bring tourists that were completely unfit and unprepared for the difficult conditions of the Gorillas tracking. Both of our groups saw unprepared tourists being carried out of the forest on stretchers. ( some did not bring the correct shoes, were not fit to hike difficult terrain and mountains, not aware of issues from high altitude, basically had no idea what they were getting into etc) Nkuringo was very careful to let us know just what to expect so we were well prepared and were all seasoned hikers. Simple Advise: Read up on where you are going before your Trip and be sure that is what you want to do :)
The Mountain Gorillas need to be saved, their habitat must be expanded and they must be continually protected from humans encroaching on their habitat. It was a wonder to see them and I hope and Pray that they will be there for generations, and that the Gorilla trekking will not be expanded in a way to ruin the peaceful existence they deserve.
Thank you Nkuringo Safaris!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank SafariMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 13, 2019

My husband and I wanted a private safari tour. This was our first safari and our first visit to Africa. I used Trip Advisor’s resourceful reviews and customer feedback to make a list of places we wanted to visit. I emailed 6 different safari tours in East Africa with our travel dates, list of attractions and lodges we wanted to visit. Most of them emailed me right away with what seemed like copy/paste, cookie cutter trip itinerary. Lydia from Nkuringo Safaris took the time to read my list and respond with questions to help tailor my trip. Once she designed a customized private tour package for us, she communicated often via email and WhatsApp to further understand our needs. She scheduled our personal guide, Patrick to be by our side for the entire 24-day safari trip. He followed the detailed program from beginning to end but was very flexible changing the itinerary to suit our style and comfort level.
We booked 8 different lodges and only one was disappointing. As soon as we told our guide, he immediately acted and transferred us to a suitable lodge. Our guide Patrick was passionate about making our African trip truly memorable. The trip was perfect from start to finish. I highly recommend Nkuringo Safaris and their outstanding staff.

We trekked Uganda and Rwanda. Both treks were difficult but with the assistance of the porters we got to the gorillas and were not disappointed. Each country was an entirely different, but equally enchanting experience. The team of professional trekking guides, walking porters, animal trackers, and walking safari guides all love to share the pride of their land, exploration and adventure. Our visit to see the gorillas exceeded expectations.

How safe was the trip? Is the question I get asked the most after being back from our trip to East Africa. At no point during the trip did we feel in any danger. Our guide Patrick was by our side every step of the way. We traveled on a well-equipped, comfortable and spacious, super reliable 4x4 Toyota Land Cruiser. Patrick always had bottle water and snacks available for us. He was very experienced and knew the destinations very well. He is known and respected by everyone in both Uganda and Rwanda. Locals refer to him as big Papa. During the safari game drives, he drove on a mission, taking us off the beaten track to uncover every hidden gems. We met many groups of people with their tour guides, none looked as happy as we were with our Papa!

So many highlights of the trip, every day completely different to the last. We are truly humbled and touched by the heartfelt sincerity of the people we meet on this safari. Everyone was professional and very knowledgeable but most of all helpful and kind. They all wanted us to have the most amazing experience. To them, this is not just a job, they support the local guides and the growth of the communities through tourism. The moments shared with the local people will be forever lasting memories. Every local we met shared their unique and warm hospitality. We arrived with an open mind and left with a full heart and long-lasting friendships.

Here’s a brief list of our program:
Flew from Florida to JFK to Amsterdam to Entebbe
—UGANDA
• Protea Hotel, Entebbe, took speed boat on Lake Victoria to Ngamba island Chimp sanctuary. Amazing experience! 2 nights
Aerolink Flight to Mweya
• Kyambura Gorge Lodge, 2 nights. Cruise along Kazinga Channel, Lake Edwards. Hippos, elephants, buffalos and so many more wild animals. Chimpanzee trekking in Queen Elizabeth was incredible. Definitely trek chimps in Uganda. Coffee plantation tour.
• Ishasha Wilderness Camp, 2 nights. Queen Elizabeth National Park. Game drive, lions, tree climbing lions, elephants, baboons. Bush breakfast and sundowner. All Incredible tours.
Aerolink Flight to Kisoro
• Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, 3 nights. Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Gorilla Trekking to meet the Nkuringo Family. Buniga Forest walk to experience the Batwa people. Amazing!!!
Cross Cyanika border into Rwanda.
—RWANDA
• Sabinyo Lodge, 4 nights. Volcanoes National Park, Dian Fossey Karisoke RC, Gorilla Trekking to meet the Susa gorilla family of 22, Golden Monkeys. Life changing experiences!
• Nyungwe House, 5 nights, The best lodge!! Visited Musanze Market for vibrant fabric purchase. Colobus monkeys, chimpanzees trek not so great, canopy walk was fun.
Tea plantation and factory tour, best massage spa, yoga.
Flight Rwanda Air from Kanombe to Kigali
• Ruzizi Tented Camp, 2 nights. Akagera National Park. Ruzizi camp was terrible. I would not recommend. The Park and the guides were amazing! Game drive to see zebras, giraffes, hippos, elephants, vervet monkeys and more.
• The Retreat, Kigali 3 nights. City hotel with full amenities. Highly recommend to stay here and decompress from the safari before traveling back home. We visited Genocide memorial, Shopping Kimironko markets, Kigali Craft Village.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Carmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews