We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and i could have stayed much longer. The 20kl road that leads to the lodge is narrow and bumpy but very much worth it, if you have a fear of heights i suggest you sleep for this part of the journey!!!! When we arrived the staff were very friendly, offering us a drink and taking our bags to our rooms for us. I really cannot fault the staff here, nothing was too much trouble for them and our wish was there comand. The food was very good as was the service. The rooms were just delightful, ours was a twin room with a sitting area and fireplace at one end, bathrroom at the other end with a lovely big bath and shower head in, just the job after a long treck in the forest. The beds were comfortable but did not have mozzie nets over, this was not a problem as the temperature at that altitude was not conducive to mozzies, we even had a hot water bottle put into our beds as the nights were quite chilly. The balcony had a very comfortable sofa type seating, this was wonderful to sit on and look out onto the views which were awesome "Gorilla's In The Mist" come to mind. The lodge is very close to the gorilla registration area but not necessarily close to your starting point.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
33
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinrooi, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Outstanding staff, wonderfull view. The rooms are very nice and with a African touch. The location is very near to the registration for gorilla trekking. We are very spoiled by the staff. Totally, a excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_and_Sabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Much too expensive for the quality and services received (overall if you compare with what you can get for the same price in other lodges in the country) : food over all very poor, not enough light in the rooms, no warm water, too old sanitary installation, windows in a very bad state and no mosquito protection, friendly service but not professional at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baudouin_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to go gorilla trekking and found the place quite enchanting. the staff were so welcoming and friendly. nothing seemed too much trouble and they allowed us to change rooms for our teenage children so as they didn't have to share a double bed. each room is a separate building looking out over the forested mountside. it feels so remote and amazing. There was plenty of hot water and I had a free standing bath. uite something in the middle of the jungle! We stayed for Christmas day and the staff had made every effort for this with turkey And Christmas cake. I don't know how they built these lodges since they are set into the mountainside and there is a slow windy muddy road which takes about an hour to travel along. the staff travel 2 hours back to Kabale to get their shopping. These lodges offer luxury in the middle of Bwindi impenetrable forest, well done!
The lodges are also right beside the starting place for gorilla trekking whereas often accommodation is in Kisoro which can be up to 2 hours drive and can be difficult in the wet season. we went with gorilla tours who we excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms offer tranquility with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Location is close to where you register for gorilla trekking, the staff led by manager Richard are outstanding, very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The rooms are lovely with nice personal touches, comfortable beds and good food. Part of the profits go to the local community. The 20 km road in is bumpy and needs work however the lodge is worth the drive. Excellent. Best place we stayed in Uganda.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiechick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at Gorilla Safari Lodge in May 2010, on our way to and from gorilla trekking in Bwindi. The lodge was recommended by our travel agent because it is the closest to the location where we would start the trek for our particular gorilla group (Nshongi). The lodge is lovely, set on a hillside with beautiful views. The rooms are simple and comfortable, and the lodge uses solar power and other environmental practices. The food was also very good. What made our stay most memorable was the staff, they were so friendly and welcoming. They were very knowledgeable of the gorilla trek, and gave us a briefing the evening before we left to hike that was very helpful. When we came back from a nine hour hike, exhausted and muddy, they served us drinks and cleaned our muddy boots until they looked new. Overall, a perfect place to stay and I have recommended to many friends going gorilla trekking since our visit. Even if not gorilla trekking but just exploring Bwindi and around, it would be an excellent place to stay. Also the lodge is Ugandan- and woman-owned, which is good to support.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuluGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2011

After a disastrous drive we arrived tired and fed up but were catered for superbly. Service was as though I'd just arrived home: considered, personal but never oppressive.

They even put a hot water bottle in our bed for us to come back to post dinner. Superb.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughPile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
11.6 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
102 reviews
24.3 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
221 reviews
11.4 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
184 reviews
6.5 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorilla Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorilla Safari Lodge

Property: Gorilla Safari Lodge
Address: | Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 25641, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gorilla Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorilla Safari Lodge is an up market facility tucked away at the boundary line of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest - home of the endangered mountain gorilla. It is the ideal base from which to trek Gorillas as it just a few meters away from the starting point. The lodge offers accommodation in 13, en suite spacious luxurious units with individual verandahs allowing excellent views towards the pristine tropical rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gorilla Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorilla Safari Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing