We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahogany Springs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mahogany Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

My only regret about this place is not staying another night. Service, food and the rooms were excellent. I have visited bwindi before and stayed at some other nearby camps but this one is the only place which has plug points in the rooms (a big plus as i hate leaving my phone to charge in public), also hairdryers, and solid-walled rooms (not tents) with huge beds and lots of space.

Bathroom was good, plenty of hot water and the view from our room terrace was absolutely awesome. I could have sat there all day listening to the birds and looking over at the mountains we were due to trek the gorillas in the next day. Being up high made the views amazing and it was nice and airy not hot and humid like the places further down.

The chef was very accommodating, we fancied pasta so he put it on the menu and there was good choice. You just had to ask if you wanted something particular. (More flexibility than i have found elsewhere).They even served popcorn with drinks on the terrace which was delicious.

Staff and management were so friendly and professional. For the gorilla trek we were given lovely hand carved walking sticks and headquarters were only five minutes away.

At the foot of the lodge we also walked to the river which was very pretty and did the batwa cultural tour which i recommend as it supports the community and provides valuable insight into the ways of the forest people....... We didnt go all the way to the caves but apparently those who do may even see the gorillas on the way. Free gorilla viewing!

A walk into the town takes five mins and you can buy souvenirs at very cheap prices.

I would definitely go back to this place.

Ps. The massage is worth every penny. She was excellent.

Room Tip: We had the elizabeth room but they all had great views and were private. They have a double suite (2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnakebab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    47
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
148
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
208 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Bwindi for Gorilla trekking. We enjoyed our stay here for the most part. Our cottage was pretty and large. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The shower worked well and hot water was consistent. General areas of the hotel were nice also and we enjoyed just hanging out there and having drinks. The bartender did a pretty good job making martinis for us with some instruction. The meals were pretty good, too, but they were small especially after a day of activities. I found this to be the case in many other lodges also. Packed lunches were fairly disappointing. Again, a common theme in Uganda. We appreciated the free boot cleaning service after our trek. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielswiss64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

As we arrived, we were welcomed with a smile, a glass of Juice, they offered us some seats, to relax and to feel at home. We were given a de-breif. We had a fantastic time while living at the Mahogany springs.

Room Tip: Rooms in the northeast are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 75Timmy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We agree with all the positive comments. One reviewer disliked the food. ..we thought it excellent given the remote location. The staff are delightful.
Services at 'no extra charge' like boot cleaning and a tour of the gardens need a small tip.
Overall....book it. We booked through Africatravelresource.com

Room Tip: We were very pleased with the Victoria
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Commander_Riker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was in Uganda almost a year ago and candidly, this review is so very overdue. We had an wonderful stay at Mahogany Springs in Bwindi. The service and staff were amazing. The food was excellent and the accommodations were very nice. We had WIFI in the main building and never had any issues with electricity or water. An overall positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach, sc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Staff here was absolutely amazing! They really took care of us like family. Saw a family of gorillas on our first evening from the lodge moving across a field. Wifi was good. Both of our treks were fantastic and pretty easy. Wish we had a couple more days to explore the area. They made us a cake for our anniversary and sang for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttercap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I spent 5 nights at Mahogany Springs (13th - 18th May 2014). I stayed there with my girlfriend, with the sole focus of photographing gorillas in Bwindi. We completed 4 gorilla treks in a row which was tough but so rewarding. We hoped to see gorillas and hoped for comfortable accommodation. What we got was amazing gorilla encounters and the most amazing hospitality.
Mahogany Springs really does feel like a home from home. Its relaxing, peaceful and set in a beautiful location overlooking the mountains where we saw 2 of our gorilla families.
The lodge is luxurious and has everything you would expect from a 5 star property. But it is the staff that make Mahogany Springs what it is. All of the staff are friendly, happy attentive, interesting and they really can't do enough to make things perfect for you.
The food is excellent and well prepared and thought out.
The shoe cleaning after the treks (no additional charge) was amazing and a fantastic added touch from this special place.
The gardens are beautiful, with amazing birds and flowers, the terrace in the main building is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy (several) cold beers.
Whilst we were there my girlfriend was ill and a doctor was contacted and came to see her within the hour. She was given antibiotics which the lodge picked up from the hospital for us.
Nothing was too much for anyone.
Add to this that we were lucky enough to see gorillas walking along the hill side from the lodge whilst enjoying a beer - you really could not ask for more.
Finally I proposed to my girlfriend at Mahogany Springs after our 4th gorilla trek. The stars were shining brightly and it all seemed so perfect.
If you want an exceptional and comfortable place to stay whilst gorilla trekking I would strongly recommend you stay at Mahogany Springs - All the fantastic reviews on here do not do it justice. Go and see for yourself.
Thank you to everyone for making our stay so special and perfect.
We will be back for our honeymoon - maybe we will try for 5 treks next time?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
11.9 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
21.9 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahogany Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahogany Springs

Property: Mahogany Springs
Address: Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahogany Springs has been built with comfort and class throughout. The perfect base for birdwatchers and Gorilla trackers, set on beautiful land with panoramic and breathtaking views of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. Providing the highest levels of service Mahogany Springs aim is to ensure your trip is a once in a lifetime experience. The Gorillas themselves have been visiting very close to the lodge every couple of weeks and within view from the terraces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mahogany Springs Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing