We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahogany Springs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mahogany Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I can't fault this place. The staff were amazing and ensured that every aspect of our stay was perfect. My partner and I travelled through Africa for 3 months and staying here was definitely one of the highlights.
All the cabins are lovely and have great views, their own balconies and large bathrooms.
I suggest flying to the lodge if possible as the flights were very good and didn't take long.
I booked our stay directly through the owner, Barrie Gotch, who was very helpful and answered all my emails quickly. I think he must be proud of his lovely staff.
If any of the staff at Mahogany Springs read this: Thank you so much for our truly wonderful night stay. We cannot recommend you enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novalane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    47
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
148
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a great place , staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed there to go see the silverback gorillas. All of the guests at the time were there for the same reason.
Lounge are was open to great views. Food is good to and they had some nice wines. After our trek the guys even cleaned our hiking boots. Three of us had the presidential suite which had 2 en-suite double rooms with a large lounge in the centre, also had a large balcony with wonderful views of the forests.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Extraordinarily beautiful lodge.
overlooking at the mountains of bwindi.
The trip was planned and sorted out by the team and excuted really well.
David the restaurant manager took care of us really well.

Chef dished out some sumptous meal on our request - Dad wanted Indian food and it was served.

The rooms are simple yet it has everything you can ask for. We stayed at the presedential lodge and it was simply awesome. 2 bedrooms, one large hall and a balcony overlooking the mountains.

The masseur was extra-ordinary. Really good massage.

The staff are very courteous and think and suggest what's good for the visitors.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself to the presidential room and you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhiSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent three nights in Mahogany Springs and would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Bwindi. All the lodges look out over a gorgeous, verdant valley and you can hear the stream at the bottom running constantly. You can also see the edge of the forest (one evening we saw gorillas moving along the edge of the forest from the main lodge's porch), and walk to the meeting spot for gorilla tracking from the hotel. The staff is so courteous, friendly, and helpful; truly some of the nicest people we met in our travels throughout Uganda and Tanzania. The food is also spectacular-- there are usually a couple choices from a set menu, but one of our travelers is a picky eater and he was able to request substitutions easily. We had a phenomenal time at Mahogany Springs and would recommend it to any travelers headed to Bwindi. As for the gorilla tracking, it is truly an mind blowing experience to see such amazing, gentle creatures in the wild. I will always advise anyone to make a point to do it if they are heading to Africa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Mahogany Springs was the perfect place to stay during gorilla trekking. The accommodations were very nice and very clean. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and went out of their way to make me comfortable. We walked to several other resorts in the area and found Mahogany Springs to be the most inviting. I would recommend this lodge to all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ8668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while trekking gorillas. The property is stunning. The staff was exceptionally nice and accomodating. The rooms are nicely decorated and larger than most of the other places we stayed. I know this is a little thing--but, the showers were excellent. The food was very good. The portions large--a little too large for me. It is only a short drive to Bwindi park. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CATMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

From the airstrip i was picked by Mahogany springs stuff who were very friendly 2 me and my babies.we were driven from the airstrip having a better view of Uganda with various stops since it was our 1st time visit.On reaching the hotel we felt so special as their guests since the reception was breathtaking.we were 1st given warm towels to wipe our hands en served immediately with a glass of juice each.we were then taken to our room en i loved mahogany pathway to the rooms.to add on it the rooms were very independent with natural grwn plantatin neatly done separating them from each other bringing an African village picture since they have a hut shape a thutched roof.I remember my dauthter who s 6yrs giving me a hug en said,'mum u r the best' the place was truly beautyful en i was sure of being at the right place with them.frm the rooms to food to service offered e.g my babies could watch cartoon dvds,they could av reading en drawing matreials en dint want to go home.that was a worthwhile experience.the community especially the kids gorrila dance at the shoping centre.thre s so much to talk about.kudos to the team en thankyou for giving me en my babies the best.

Room Tip: u cant choose one room 4rm the others.all their rooms are up to standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rufy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
11.9 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
21.9 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahogany Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahogany Springs

Property: Mahogany Springs
Address: Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahogany Springs has been built with comfort and class throughout. The perfect base for birdwatchers and Gorilla trackers, set on beautiful land with panoramic and breathtaking views of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. Providing the highest levels of service Mahogany Springs aim is to ensure your trip is a once in a lifetime experience. The Gorillas themselves have been visiting very close to the lodge every couple of weeks and within view from the terraces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mahogany Springs Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing