We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the jungle”
Review of Mahogany Springs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mahogany Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luxury in the jungle”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights at Mahogany Springs while gorilla trekking. Everything was perfect - our room ("Henry") was large and spotlessly clean, we had 2 big beds and mosquito netting, and a big bathroom. The staff was very kind and helpful - Moses & David took special care of us! The special touches like hot water bottles in the beds and boot cleaning were appreciated. The setting is beautiful in a valley of lush green. The main lodge has a front deck looking out over the river - a really great place to relax with a cold beer after a gorilla trek! The food was wonderful and with generous portions. Excellent -highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    51
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
52
151
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Rooms are fantastic, service is wonderful, food is fantastic and staff are very friendly and helpful! Also only approximately a 5 minute drive from Bwindi impenetrable forest where you can trek to find the gorillas! Has wifi and DVDs if you feel like just sitting back to relax in their cosy lounge area. Definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone who is planning to visit Bwindi! Also has pet cats :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the room "Edward" which was very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent, we so enjoyed our time at Mahogany Springs from the time we arrived to our departure everything was perfect. The staff is over the top fab, the rooms clean and comfortable, the scenery is stunning...the mahogany tree is brilliant!! The food was good, the common area was welcoming, a lovely place to have a cup of coffee or glass of wine in the evening while enjoying the views. The main area is also the only area you can get internet connection and there are some limitations on electricity but hey you are in the jungle and they do an excellent job of providing you with all the "modern" conveniences necessary in this remote setting. My recommendation is go go go.... as the hotel is beyond fab and of course the gorillas are a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

From the moment you arrive after a very long and bumpy drive from Entebbe, the staff immediately make you comfortable. The service is excellent and personalised. Nothing is too much trouble. The scenery is stunning! The food is excellent, the best I've had whilst in Africa. I will be recommending the lodge to all my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was an amazing lodge! Very welcoming and comfortable. The food was fantastic, and I loved the communal area with wide deck, books and magazines, and bar. After a tough gorilla trek it is the perfect place to relax. The extra touches - hot water bottle in bed at night and boot cleaning were lovely surprises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here - mainly because the staff were absolutely wonderful. The rooms / bandas were really spacious and comfortable. The setting is stunning. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquirrelyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place isn't just a lodge its a whole experience. Jotham, the general manager literally met us at the door of our tiny plane when it landed in Kihihi. He was warm and welcoming, and personally drove us back to the lodge. Its a long bumpy ride, over an hour but there is a lot to see on the way.

The communal dining room and bar look right out of a huge window to the jungle. The rooms are all separate from each other and have modern comforts like hot water and power plugs and wifi but are still open and rustic enough to feel like you're in the heart of Africa.

I loved the extra little touches from the staff, like finding a hot water bottle in bed when you jump in, and a guy appearing right behind you as you take your filthy jungle trekking shoes off to take them away for cleaning. Jotham stayed awake and attentive for hours into the night when the rest of us went to bed after drinks, but my travel companion needed someone to listen to his rants about the worlds problems. Definitely over and above the call of duty.

The staff also made sure we were much better prepared for the gorilla trek than the other hikers, with lunch boxes, hiking sticks and plenty of water. Special mention to David for serving us with care, he has such a stunning face it was quite mesmerizing.

My only compliant (and I’m not sure whether this was Mahogany’s fault, may have been our tour operator so I’m not allocating blame just mentioning to help in your planning) is that the transfers are very expensive, and mine back to the airfield was with a guy whose body odour had me hanging my head out the window like a dog. Mahogany are in contact with the pilots of the aircraft (they actually stayed at the same lodge) so they will adjust your transfer depending on whether the flight is early or late, its quite convenient.

Overall, our stay there was a short but absolutely brilliant experience and I just hope that in the future I meet someone I like enough to take there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandst0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
107 reviews
11.9 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
90 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
225 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahogany Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahogany Springs

Property: Mahogany Springs
Address: Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahogany Springs has been built with comfort and class throughout. The perfect base for birdwatchers and Gorilla trackers, set on beautiful land with panoramic and breathtaking views of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. Providing the highest levels of service Mahogany Springs aim is to ensure your trip is a once in a lifetime experience. The Gorillas themselves have been visiting very close to the lodge every couple of weeks and within view from the terraces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mahogany Springs Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing