We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
73
46
12
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
73
46
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small spinach soup gorilla trekking hot water local coffee mountain top beds were comfortable stayed one night soups chef hill views mountains lodge meals uganda bwindi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 139 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2019

Oh dear, where to begin. Our family group of 9 recently stayed at this lodge, and though I'm too embarrassed to disclose what we paid - I feel I must share our experience to save other travellers! Firstly, the photos of the property are the best trick photography I've seen in my life... The photographer that took these photos would make an exceptional instagram influencer because these are downright misleading. The rooms we had weren't clean, one had a broken sink, the windows didn't seal, and we had a handrail COLLAPSE beneath us. There was one powerpoint in my room, and it was located BEHIND the headboard of the bed - fantastic. Advertised as wifi in the rooms, wifi does not reach the rooms.

There is a large sign in the room that essentially warns you that the staff may steal from you, but then our safe was broken! We needed to use the safe in another travellers room to keep our belongings safe.

The staff were terrible - the main team member in the common areas (not even sure of his name), continually smiled and laughed when we discussed our concerns with him - which made us feel frustrated and confused if he understood what we were saying.

Drinks were slow and we actually had to show the bar tender how to make drinks. Then at the end of the stay when I tried to pay my bar bill via Credit Card, the team member serving me couldn't use the machine. He advised me there was noone else who could use it either. We had to scrounge around and borrow cash from another traveller to pay our $180 USD bar bill. Just terrible.

One special mention to the CHEFS at this property who were the saving grace. Their food was great & they were helpful and accomodating. Without the chefs, this joint is terrible. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennyperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarasaMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Silverback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Dear tennyperry,

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience at our lodge. We have a great record in customer experience and it is unfortunate that your stay was not to your expectations.

You arrived a day late, and we had to rearrange the furniture in the rooms to accommodate the bed configuration to your liking. This also explains why one power source was behind the headboard, with one more on the other side. Repairs to the room have been made and the sink was replaced.

We have noted your concerns regarding our staff and have addressed this matter immediately. We are happy that our staff was able to make your drink to your liking.

We were unable to use our credit card system on the dates you stayed with us due to a glitch from our service provider. Please note that the bank fixed this issue by 2nd August 2019.
It great to hear that you enjoyed the food. We apologize for this experience and hope that, you will give us an opportunity to showcase the improved experience at the lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in 5 places on our 2 week trip, 4 in Tanzania and 1 in Uganda. All were of a similar price, when we arrived at Silverback Lodge I could not have been more disappointed. The rooms were a disgrace, very old and tired, there was nothing in them, not even a fan. It was raining heavily one morning and we needed an umbrella to collect the grand kids for breakfast, reception said they only had 3, which didn’t help as we were accommodated in 5 rooms. The hotel, though not full was very understaffed and it was apparent they were struggling with even our group. The only saviour was the food was acceptable.
Anybody who rated this accommodation as 5 star must be friends of the owner.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Phil4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarasaMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Silverback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Dear Phil4810,

Thank you for reviewing our property.
It is unfortunate that our lodge did not meet your expectations. The amount of furniture in the rooms is designed to accommodate the size. The weather in Buhoma can be cold, especially in the morning and at night with temperatures going as low as 7oC making a fan unnecessary in the rooms.

Please note that the group of guests that went Gorilla Trekking that morning took most of the umbrellas. We, however, had the balance to accommodate guests that remained at the lodge.

Service delivery was slightly slower than usual due to the rain that morning, which affected the delivery of room service as you had requested.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you can give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

Great lodge with a beautiful view. The people were so cordial and made our stay so comfortable. They even served up an Indian dish for breakfast. The lobby ambiance was amazing and the cost was extremely affordable

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outd00rsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

Silverback Lodge has a stunning view out over the mountains where the Gorillas live and the treks take place. It’s lovely just to sit, either on the balcony of your room or over in the main lodge area and take it all in.
The staff are very accommodating, helpful and kind and go out of their way to do anything for you. Particular thanks go to Geofrey and Charles!
The food in the restaurant was wonderful and we enjoyed everything that was given to us- particularly the soups.
The rooms were comfortable and always clean.
The only reason I haven’t given a 5 rating is because the set-up in the bathroom is a bit strange. The open shower is in the middle of the room with only one shower curtain to pull across in front of the toilet. This results in the rest of the room getting wet when you shower. In our case, the drain appeared to be blocked and so, the whole floor flooded. There is also nowhere in the bathroom to put your toiletries apart from a very small glass shelf under the mirror.
Also, we had problems with the safe in our room - it wouldn’t lock and kept coming up with an ‘Error’ code. We let management know and they went and fixed it, it then worked once, but reverted back to the ‘Error’ code. We gave up and ended up just locking our valuables in the suitcase.
Apart from these small things, we had a wonderful time at this Lodge and would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tiggyligs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Silverback Lodge is a splendid accommodation especially before starting on the gorilla trek at Kibale forest. The food is great, the view and comfortable rooms so come the early morning trek we were well rested.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews