We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Gorilla base”
Review of Silverback Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silverback Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Gorilla base”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in September 2013. We stayed here as part of an 8 day package booked through Churchill Safaris.
This was a tiny lodge with just 8 rooms I believe. You feel like you're staying in someone's house. On the downside: the decor in the rooms is very dated, and has a slight musky smell. At night time the lights are very dim, especially in the bathroom. The bathroom was spacious with an excellent shower, and the room itself was adequate and fairly comfortable. The food in the hotel was good, but one dish wasn't. The best thing about this place is the views. One could sit on the veranda and gaze for hours. The staff do their utmost to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Enjoyed a two-nite stay at the Silverback Lodge as part of September safari to Uganda. Although not there for gorilla trekking, the location was excellent for accessing the Buhoma area. Less than a 10 minute drive to the gate (and the gorilla trek briefing point). The view of the forested hillside across the valley “shouted” birds to us and we were not disappointed. A few minute walk to the little village including gift shops.

Ketrah, our hostess, took excellent care of us and was always available to answer questions. I had laundry (shirt 4,000 ug shillings, trousers 5,000, and underwear 3,000) done and was very pleased with the service.

Food was as good as any we had in Uganda. One dinner was vegetable salad with slices of apples, a very nice portion of chicken, rosemary potatoes, beans/carrots, rolls and tea/coffee. Soda was 3,000 and a Bell beer was 6,000. The breakfast buffet of pastry, juices, fruit, tea, coffee also included eggs to order and bacon/sausage.

Our room was spacious, clean, had mosquito netting, inroom battery charging and a nice clean bathroom w/plenty of hot water. Two comfy arm chairs, a luggage rack, a shelving unit/hanging bar, and little table made for a comfy stay. Lighting could have been a bit better for reading in the evening however. During the dinner hour staff turned down the bed, prepared the netting and placed hot water bottles accordingly. The porch had 2 chairs and provided a great setting for enjoying “down time” in camp. Various sunbirds, weavers, firefinches, lesser striped swallows, robin-chats, wagtails, and others were seen often right at the edge of our porch.

Bushes, trees, a thick hedge, grassy areas, a local garden and closeness to a brushy field provide habitat for various birds easily seen from the porch, outdoor lounge or walkways.

We felt very comfortable here and would stay at the Silverback Lodge again.

Room Tip: Hard to imagine a bad or less-desired room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegoustay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you want to visit the mountain gorillas in the Bwindi rain forest there's no better location to use as a base. This comfortable lodge offers fantastic views over the rain forest in any weather (lets face it is a rain forest). The main open lounge area affords uniterupted views and at night seated around a roaring log fire there's no better way to finish your day.
My first meal there was a revelation, 'someone has been to chief school' I thought and for the next two days we enjoyed excellent meals. My room was comfortable and clean, the hot water bottle, though not neccessary was a lovely touch. The staff were friendly and efficient. Staying here is well worth the journey.

Room Tip: All rooms face the rain forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's no easy feat to get here, but worth it once you arrive. We drove in from Kigali, Rwanda, a hard seven hours, especially the last three. But the remoteness is a big part of the attraction, so you know what you're in for when you book a trip like this. You're coming here to see gorillas, but the immediate payoff at Silverback is to climb out of the truck after the bone-jarring drive to be greeted by friendly staff and a cold beer on the veranda. Because Silverback sits higher than any other Bwindi lodge, the view of the surrounding mountains is spectacular. It's now among my top places to sit and do nothing but soak in the atmosphere.
The rooms are very nice. Not huge, but then again you aren't here to hang out in your room. The food was very good, especially when you consider the amount of effort it takes to prepare meals in such a remote setting.
Nice rooms and good food can be found in a lot of places. But what makes travel special, for me, is the service. There's nothing better than arriving at a place and being made to feel you're the one guest they've been waiting for, or that you're being welcomed back, even if it's your first visit. And at Silverback it's not a fawning kind of service, it's just warm, friendly and very comfortable. The GM, Mudkayo, will arrange whatever you need, drive you to the village himself, share his knowledge of the area and make recommendations on what to see and do and generally make you feel like you're visiting the home of friends.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms are farther away from the main lodge and maybe quieter. But with so few rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ewebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

WeI realy loved this lodge. It was beautiful and stylish, and yet completely fit the natural surroundings. The lodge we stayed (number 12) was very comfy. The staff was warm and friendly. We were delighted with the treatment received by Miss Ketra Orisingura, she was always very attentive to us and was a great help the two days we were in this lodge
.
The food was delicious, service in the restaurant was way above what we expected. After dinner a fire is lit and one can enjoy the last night cap under the night sky. Due to the slightly higher location above Buhoma village. During turn down service a hot water bottle is placed into your bed.

The lodge will leave a stick for trekking of gorillas.

We highly recommended this lodde

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martadolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recently, I had the pleasure of staying at Silverback lodge for 2 weeks. The gardens and views from the lodge are magnificent.
I found the rooms lovely and there was always plenty of hot water. The food is really good and there is plenty of it.
Like other reviews I found the staff excellent. They were helpful, friendly and made such an effort to make you feel at home.
Thank you to Mudkayo and all the staff at Silverback for a really memorable stay. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trickysalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
270 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in the Silverback Lodge and truly enjoyed it. The gardens are beautiful and its hilltop location provided a beautiful view of Bwindi. It is just a five minute drive to the park entrance for trekking the gorillas. Food was good and plentiful. Showers were hot!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
11.6 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
11.8 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverback Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverback Lodge

Property: Silverback Lodge
Address: Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverback Lodge is perched on high, atop the valley overlooking Bwindi Impenetrable National Park. The view is absolutely stunning and the best place to enjoy après-tracking cocktails. Bird watching and sometimes primate viewing is possible right from the front door of your room. With 12 rooms, we are the largest lodge in the area and will remain one of the best value properties in the region, whilst keeping the Marasa Africa standards of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com and Orbitz so you can book your Silverback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverback Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing