We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous view, hospitality merits an award”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silverback Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silverback Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous view, hospitality merits an award”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this lodge. We had no previous reservation, just showed up during our self drive trip and enquired about accomodation. We were warmly greeted, the manager showed us around and then gave us time to decide. We opted for the fullboard mealplan and did not regret it. Service in the restaurant was way above what we expected. The waitress was able to explain every dish in detail and service was swift and smart. All the staffmembers from gardener to night watchman are terrific and helpful freindly persons. After dinner a fire is lit and one can enjoy the last night cap under the night sky. Due to the slightly higher location above Buhoma village the rooms feel less damp, and the linen feels dry! During turn down service a hot water bottle is placed into your bed. There is a Butterly trail up the hill or you can just relax on your private verandah after the gorilla tracking. The lodge is under the same management as Mbeya, Paraa and Chobe lodges since May 2012

Room Tip: all rooms enjoy fantastic views over the immaculate garden and the mountains in front, the most recl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virus-africanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent two days at Silverback Lodge. We were warmly greeted by the staff, especially Mordecai, who seems to be the house manager. The lodge is situated near the top of a hill and affords an excellent view of the surrounding forest. It was especially beautiful at night and Mordecai pointed out the Southern Cross to us northern hemispherians and told us where over the hills the moon would be rising. The food was excellent, some of the best I had at a lodge in Uganda. I enjoyed my meal so much the second day, I asked to see the chef to thank him personally. The staff is conscientious but not overbearing. My wife and I hung out on their front porch for part of an afternoon, just having a drink and reading books and we never felt bothered or ignored.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same. We had one at the very end which might have been a recent addit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Silverback lodge for two nights while doing some gorilla tracking in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest.
The lodge is located just minutes from the gate to the National Park where the gorilla tracking starts, and has stunning views over the forest. Note the lodge is suitable for those with gorilla permits for one of the Buhoma gorilla families.
We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent level of service provided by all the staff at the lodge who did everything they could to make our stay memorable.
The food was good and plentiful. Buffet breakfast of cereal, fruit, eggs, bacon, grilled tomato etc. The coffee was excellent! Dinner had a good selection for each course. The rooms were clean with functional mosquito nets and all seemed to have views over the forest. The hot shower was fantastic! There is also small gift shop in the lodge.
We can't comment on value for money as this was part of a tour package, however we would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shae31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stunning view - from the very top of the valley. We could see hill after hill and the moon was full! Magic. We were 4 friends staying two nights after a long car ride through a big part of Uganda. We enjoyed a warm welcome by the friendly staff, we enjoyed the smiley and people that looked after us when we were eating ready to make our stay comfortable. In the evening we sat at the terrace listening to the drums from the village. We are impressed that it is possible to make such a nice place in such a remote place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Coast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We hadn't expected to stay here but somehow found ourselves booked in here for 2 nights during our Bwindi gorilla trek. And we absolutely loved it.

Now first of all, I have to say that previous comments about the rooms being "tired" are true - our bathroom tiles had cracks etc and there were some superficial cracks in the wall but we still loved it partly because it had character - we loved the wooden carved tables, doors and big wooden bed. Our chalet (9) was small though - our bags were stored one above the other on a purpose built holder.

But this lodge has recently been taken over by those who run Paraa/Mweya and Chobe lodges which are all top-end and this was apparent in their professionalism and approach to things. When we arrived back super early after the shortest gorilla trek you could imagine, staff had started painting the reception area but were adamant that they would work around us and we would not be inconvenienced. I think there will be major aesthetic improvements over the next few months.

Firstly we were greeted with hot towels and welcome drinks. Bedding was obviously brand new - super comfortable pillows and spotless white bedding and fluffy towels. Hot water bottles were placed in the bed at turndown and the delightful George lit us a campfire (the best one we experienced by far - there was great heat off this) and kept it going and was happy to chat to us. The lovely Kenyan chef (from Myewa) took real pride in his cookery and prepared some excellent meals for us - his salads were delicious and his food had real flavour. Despite us being the only guests there, staff were totally professional (many were "on secondment" from Mweya) and unobtrusive so dining was a pleasure.

I think this place will go from strength to strength and although the aesthetic improvements have begun, I hope Management keep the character of this lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and i stayed 2 nights at the Silverback Lodge Bwindi and wished wed arranged to stay 4 nights,as it was so gorgeous and there was more to do, as well as visiting the Gorillas.
The view i could have sat and watched for days, as its just 300 metres above Bwindi village, looking across at the Bwindi forest.
The rooms are very comfortable with hot water also.
Recommend , as well as the Gorilla encounter, which needs booking in advance, arranging locally walks through the forest, to see the forest, birds, waterfalls and the village.
If you interested in healthcare in rural Uganda, also recommend visit to the Bwindi hospital nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed the Silverback Lodge for 2 nights while in Bwindi for the gorilla trek. The most amazing things about this hotel are the views/location and the staff. You are on top of a mountain...so quiet, so dark. The most amazing sunrise can be viewed right from your room. Agatha was the perfect hostess. She would bring us hot coffee to our room for our 6:00 am wake up calls every morning. Now that's service! Dinners and breakfasts were served in a very nice room with open views to the mountains. All of the food was delicious and prepared with care to every detail.

Yes, the rooms are a little dated but the beds were comfortable and the showers were hot....I thought it was great. You are on top of a mountain in Uganda.....I was there for the nature and the gorillas not a 5 star american-style hotel. I think that the people, service and location make up for the dated rooms.

They use a generator for power and they only run it for a few hours each night - so if you stay bring a flashlight.

If we are ever lucky enough to make it to Bwindi again I would stay at the Silverback Lodge without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DooleyDog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
11.6 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
11.8 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverback Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverback Lodge

Property: Silverback Lodge
Address: Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From 1st May 2012 part of Marasa Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Silverback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverback Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing