We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place.”
Review of Nshongi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nshongi Camp
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful place.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perfect location, friendly staff and very peaceful. Simple and clean bandas right on the edge of the park. Saw monkeys and a wonderful selection of birds. The night time sounds were intriguing. A great 'get away from it all' place, with a fine local community nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annj_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Portal, Uganda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I took my clients here for Gorilla trekking and spent a night there myself. They had given out the room for drivers and guides to someone else yet there were no other guests. So the manager decided to give me a cottage instead which was very nice of him.

Compared to the other accommodations in this area this one costs less but I still find the price pretty steep for what is offered. At this moment a double (non-self-contained) on Full Board is 170,000 Shillings (eq. $68). No flush toilets but almost full and dirty pit latrines, no shower (you can bath from a basin with hot water), mattresses are due for renewal and I advise them to get thicker ones this time since I could feel all the timbers under the mattress in my back. Also the kitchen is very very simple. Nothing special at all, but I was glad that after a long drive I was able to get something warm in this remote area. No fridge so forget about cold drinks. The room is simple, just a bed, a table and a mosquito net, that's all.

The location however is superb, right at the boundary of the forest, in a nice garden full of flowers. Distance to the road is just enough not to hear noise from locals and cars. You park your car along the road and reach the camp via a steep trail of 500 meters down. Staff will carry your luggage and is warm and friendly.

People that decide to sleep here should be aware that this place is very basic. It is a good low budget place at a mid class price, but as the owner keeps improving the place, quality and price might meet in future, providing he keeps the rates as they are.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primatetoursuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Silver created a wonderful, peaceful spot with the Nshongi camp. It's located in a small valley within a completely green surrounding.

Most of our accomodations during our Uganda trip have been something special, each in it's own way asn style. But the 2 nights in Nshongi camp will really be unforgettable.

After arrival in the village, one has to make a shourt walk down to the camp, not really knowing what's up to come. And it's beautiful there. The bandas are basic, but spotless clean. Shower under the sky (with WARM water, made by the extremely nice staff), toilet is African, European style and also clean.

The food and the lunch for the gorilla tracking have been really good, one of the best we had during the trip. And taken into consideration that there's no electricity there, the maintenance of the staff is even more remarkable.

We had a wonderful camp fire one evenenig. As we've been tracking the Nkuringo group, we had to make a one hour drive to the meeting point. But that wasn't a problem.

I can recommend the Nshongi camp from deep in my heart. You will not receive better value for your money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

If you want simplisity, great customer care, great food and a completely basic but very rewarding experience, just making your bookings and head to this place. You will not have running water and electricity in this place but you will be treated to real organic and home grown Ugandan delicacies at unbelievable pricing. If your are the type who wants to experience life without electricity in an environmentaly friendly setting not just to enjoy but help in conserving nature then go to Nshongi. Do not expect any thing so classy and modern in this place but one thing I know is that you will get satisfaction once there.

Room Tip: Come with warm clothing, gloves, longsleeved shirts and torch for your night movement as this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Nshongi Camp was definitely one of my favorite places in Uganda and my stay there was really pleasant and relaxed. Bandas were basic but clean and comfortable. Food was absolutely the best I got during my whole time in Uganda, and although full board was a bit pricey compared to other places I visited, I was happy to pay for it. I really want to go back there someday, then maybe with camping gear.

There's lots of things to do around the camp and it's worth a visit even if you don't go to track gorillas (I stayed 4 nights and would have loved to stay longer). Rushaga community and people there were extremely nice and friendly, it was great just to walk around the area, talk with local people and enjoy the atmosphere and scenery.

Getting to the camp was a bit tricky without your own transport, but during market days (Kisoro market on Mondays and Thursdays, Rubuguri market on Fridays?) it was cheap and definitely doable (although dusty and cramped). You can contact the owner (Silver), he was so helpful and provided lots of useful information.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nshongi Camp is definitely one of the nicest and most unique places to stay throughout Uganda! Sometimes you see a photo of a place on a website, which looks really beautiful and then when you get there you get disappointed; well this is NOT the case with Nshongi! Nshongi Camp is exactly what it looks like on the website - a beautiful, small, peaceful camp RIGHT on the edge of the rainforest. After a spectacular journey to the village, either by car or public transport, you are taken down a steep hill into a small valley in which the camp is beautifully situated and quite isolated. The camp is beautiful and quiet and an excellent place to just chill out before or after gorilla tracking. It is right near the point where the gorilla tracking starts from, which is another advantage. The staff at Nshongi is amazing, the food is great and Silver is just a great host. I would even recommend staying there an extra day or two to explore the surrounding villages and scenery. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arielkedem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Nshongi Camp is a beautiful garden directly on the border of the Bwindi Impenetrable Nationalpark.
The accomodation is pretty basic but very clean. You will have a bed in a Banda. Toilets and Showers are outside and the stuff provides some hot water if you want. If you have booked full board the stuff will prepare some nice food for you including a lunchbox for the day of the gorilla tracking.
The location is absolutely amazing!
The stuff does a campfire every evening. You will here a lot of noises from animals inside the park: OR EVEN MORE THAN THAT!
WE SAW A FORESTELEPHANT WHICH WAS JUST 10METERS AWAY FROM OUR CAMPFIRE AND A HYENA TOO! THAT WAS AN OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE!
The Campmanager does some birdwatching along the parkborders FOR FREE!
All the stuffmembers a local people and they are soo lovely and capable.

All in all I totally recommend that place!
It is very clean, the location can't be more exiting, the stuff is able and lovely, the food is good and it is very cheap!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#3 of 12 in Kisoro
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#14 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nshongi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nshongi Camp

Property: Nshongi Camp
Address: south gate Bwindi Impenatrable Forest NP, 500 meters from gate park and UWA visitors center, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Nshongi Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing