We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of my 4 week Uganda trip!”
Review of Nshongi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nshongi Camp
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of my 4 week Uganda trip!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I had an amazing time at Nshongi Camp... the staff was amazing, the community is truly incredible! The community walk was a completely unexpected highlight - learnin g about the Batwa, seeing the school children, etc. Everyone was so welcoming. I would recommend this place to anyone!!! The setting is incredible, just beautiful! I could hear elephants outside my banda the first night - so amazing! Two nights was just not enough - I guess I need to return :) Also, this camp is a 5 minute walk to the briefing banda for the gorillas, that was great! Stay here for any of the Rushaga gorilla groups!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict001122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Nshongi Camp for one night, to visit the gorilla's the next day. Nshongi camp has the most ideal location, only a 15 minute walk from the meeting point where the gorilla tracking starts! Since the condition of the roads toward Bwindi is questionable, this is a much better option then getting up early in the morning and still being afraid you will be late because of the roads. Also, the location is absolutely beautifull! Bwindi National Park starts right next to your banda, which is amazing. And instead of paying lots of dollars a night, like you have to pay for all the lodges that are close to Bwindi, you pay a very reasonable price. The camp is simple, but good. We even got a hot shower in the morning! And the food (that is included in the price) is good. The staff is friendly and made sure that all our batteries were recharged before we started the gorilla tracking, though they had to run up and down the hill for it. So I can definitely recommend Nshongi Camp!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed at Silver's (the manager) place for only one night after walking for five days with Nkuringo Safaris. The rooms are basic but very cosy and with magical view at the park! They are build in a well maintained garden.

All you hear are the sounds of the forest.

Wish I could stay there a little more...

Peter
Netherlands

Room Tip: Take the room at the end of the garden for it feels like being in the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetervanderGiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Nshongi Camp.There's no electricity or running water, but this is to be expected in a remote location like this. The setting is beautiful, down the hill from Rushaga village beside the river and surrounded by forest. The staff were very friendly (thanks Silver) and the food was excellent. The room was very basic but clean enough. The camp's location is fantastic if you have to register at the Rushaga UWA office (Nshongi or Mishaya groups) and is literally 10 minutes walk from registration. This was particularly helpful for a couple like us who had no transport of our own.

Prices for accomodation around Bwindi forest are massively inflated compared to the rest of the country, and Nshongi Camp is no exception, costing around US$65 a night for a banda in a camp where there is no electricity or running water. However compared to other options this still works out as one of the cheapest.

Basically, I would recommend Nshongi Camp to those lacking transport who would like to stay close to the forest itself without completely breaking the bank. As I said, the setting is really pretty and the staff make you feel at home. However, if you don't think that you can take not having electricity and running water, then maybe you'd be better off with one of the more expensive options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The entertainment by local singers and dancers was amazing! The site is very beautiful and optimally situated for gorilla walks.

Room Tip: Avoid the banda closest to the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaesUppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

When we (my wife and myself) planned our travel to Uganda, the only prearranged things were the permits for gorilla tracking, namely the Nshongi family. Day by day we planned our next stay, but in the case of gorillas, we wanted to be on time at briefing. That’s why we searched for the nearest possible stay. We excluded accommodation in Kisoro, where we had to get up at 5AM, or nearby lodge, so the only possibility became the Nshongi camp, which turned out to be one of the best places we stayed in Uganda. We arranged the booking one day before in 10 minutes time through their website http://nshongicamp.altervista.org. Here are few impressions we want to share with you:
• Cleverly wedged camp into the impenetrable forest, not disturbing the surroundings in any way
• Helpful and friendly staff
• Fresh food (three-course dinner!)
• Practical and spacious bandas
• But mainly: 7.5 minutes walk to the gate where the tracking of Nshongi family begins

We spent a memorable afternoon in the beautiful natural scenery.

ACCOMMODATION AT NSHONGHI CAMP is the most reasonable SOLUTION FOR INDEPENDENT TRAVELLERS when tracking for the Nshogni gorilla family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelko001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 kids (11 and 15) who adapted to the electricity free / no running water experience well. The camp is peaceful and the natural beauty of the setting is etched in my memory and the garden / grounds are well maintained and relaxing to just chill out in. The facilities are rustic which as well as being ecofreindly added to the charm. The camp is run by local Rushaga resident who was exceptionally welcoming and informative and yet unintrusive. A note on the Gorilla treck (the kids stayed behind and were fine for the day ) - our treck may have been exceptionally long walk but we were walking for 121/2 hours doing the last hour in the dark. Proper walking boots and stamina essential.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarereeading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#15 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nshongi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nshongi Camp

Property: Nshongi Camp
Address: south gate Bwindi Impenatrable Forest NP, 500 meters from gate park and UWA visitors center, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Nshongi Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing