We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place almost within Bwindi NP”
Review of Nshongi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nshongi Camp
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed at Silver's (the manager) place for only one night after walking for five days with Nkuringo Safaris. The rooms are basic but very cosy and with magical view at the park! They are build in a well maintained garden.

All you hear are the sounds of the forest.

Wish I could stay there a little more...

Peter
Netherlands

Room Tip: Take the room at the end of the garden for it feels like being in the park
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetervanderGiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Nshongi Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Nshongi Camp.There's no electricity or running water, but this is to be expected in a remote location like this. The setting is beautiful, down the hill from Rushaga village beside the river and surrounded by forest. The staff were very friendly (thanks Silver) and the food was excellent. The room was very basic but clean enough. The camp's location is fantastic if you have to register at the Rushaga UWA office (Nshongi or Mishaya groups) and is literally 10 minutes walk from registration. This was particularly helpful for a couple like us who had no transport of our own.

Prices for accomodation around Bwindi forest are massively inflated compared to the rest of the country, and Nshongi Camp is no exception, costing around US$65 a night for a banda in a camp where there is no electricity or running water. However compared to other options this still works out as one of the cheapest.

Basically, I would recommend Nshongi Camp to those lacking transport who would like to stay close to the forest itself without completely breaking the bank. As I said, the setting is really pretty and the staff make you feel at home. However, if you don't think that you can take not having electricity and running water, then maybe you'd be better off with one of the more expensive options.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The entertainment by local singers and dancers was amazing! The site is very beautiful and optimally situated for gorilla walks.

Room Tip: Avoid the banda closest to the river!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaesUppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

When we (my wife and myself) planned our travel to Uganda, the only prearranged things were the permits for gorilla tracking, namely the Nshongi family. Day by day we planned our next stay, but in the case of gorillas, we wanted to be on time at briefing. That’s why we searched for the nearest possible stay. We excluded accommodation in Kisoro, where we had to get up at 5AM, or nearby lodge, so the only possibility became the Nshongi camp, which turned out to be one of the best places we stayed in Uganda. We arranged the booking one day before in 10 minutes time through their website http://nshongicamp.altervista.org. Here are few impressions we want to share with you:
• Cleverly wedged camp into the impenetrable forest, not disturbing the surroundings in any way
• Helpful and friendly staff
• Fresh food (three-course dinner!)
• Practical and spacious bandas
• But mainly: 7.5 minutes walk to the gate where the tracking of Nshongi family begins

We spent a memorable afternoon in the beautiful natural scenery.

ACCOMMODATION AT NSHONGHI CAMP is the most reasonable SOLUTION FOR INDEPENDENT TRAVELLERS when tracking for the Nshogni gorilla family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelko001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 kids (11 and 15) who adapted to the electricity free / no running water experience well. The camp is peaceful and the natural beauty of the setting is etched in my memory and the garden / grounds are well maintained and relaxing to just chill out in. The facilities are rustic which as well as being ecofreindly added to the charm. The camp is run by local Rushaga resident who was exceptionally welcoming and informative and yet unintrusive. A note on the Gorilla treck (the kids stayed behind and were fine for the day ) - our treck may have been exceptionally long walk but we were walking for 121/2 hours doing the last hour in the dark. Proper walking boots and stamina essential.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clarereeading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

I was in Nshongi Camp with my girlfriend, we were supposed to stay just one night but, we liked so much the place that we stayed one night more.

This accomodation has just 3 traditional double bandas, the rooms are rustic but clean and confortable. Because of the few places, I suggest to book in advance.

The place is georgeus, in the middle of the nature, few meters from the rainy forest, for sure the best place where we have been in Uganda.
Because it's so close to the forest, is possible to spot monkeys and the birdwatching is from you banda door. Silver the manager can recognize many of them.
Every night they do the camp fire under the stars, this make the atmosphere very romantic.

We had the gorilla permit for the Nshongi Group in Rushaga, if you don't want to travel 2 hours early morning from Kisoro, this is the closest and cheapest place. It's just 5 minutes walking from the Gorilla tracking starting point.

The food in Nshongi camp was delicious, 3 course meals, do not expect very elaborated food. They can prepare for you packed lunch for the day of tracking.

Their website is http://nshongicamp.altervista.org

After our tracking started to rain, so the diploma we received got wet and break. We told this to Silver that went to the UWA office for ask a new one for us. In few hours we got new ones to take back to Italy. I think we could not get a new one without him.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank RomaneFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#3 of 13 in Kisoro
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#14 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nshongi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nshongi Camp

Address: south gate Bwindi Impenatrable Forest NP, 500 meters from gate park and UWA visitors center, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Nshongi Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing