We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strange place close to the congo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savannah Resort Hotel
Reviewed September 17, 2013

savannah lodge is a strange place, who on earth would build a resort with airstrip and golf course 3 km away from the congolese border?? well, a local businessman did, and it seems that a lot of mzungos use it as a stop between qenp and bwindi gorilla tracking.
and for that it is ok. they have a very nice, well maintained pool, they serve food all day long (even though i never had a worse steak in my life, stick to curries and pizza, don´t try the meat dishes!!!), but the cottages are crap. the interiour is just ridiculous!!! it would be so easy to hang up some african mask or only paintings to get a bit of that "lodge feeling", but instead it looks like some eastern eurpean hotel during the cold war times!! nothings fits together!
anyway, it´s just a stopover for most people, you can see the fantastic tree climbing lions 20 minutes away from the hotel, and the staff is indeed very friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wueibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Savannah Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed only one night to see the climbing lions in Ishasha. Staff was very nice, the food was ok, you could choose a la carte but you could choose any meat dish. The room and bandas (round cabins) were clean. There was hot water. The grounds are gorgeous and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martadolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Expensive. No hot water. Poor water quality in swimming pool. Unreliable staff making up the bill. First they raised the agreed price significantly. After correction, they charged an exchange rate almost 10% higher then the rest of whole Uganda. I can't appreciate such behavior. Never ever again I will go there.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived here after another long drive to Queen Elizabeth National Park for a safari the following day. The hotel is very impressive as you drive in, probably the most impressive I saw whilst in Uganda. The long driveway gives way to an impressive white building and palm trees.
We were greeted by friendly reception staff and got some beers while one of our African friends bartered with the general manager over pricing. We took 5 rooms so were asking for some discount but didn't get very far. Anyway, we took them anyway as we were too tired to look elsewhere.
The rooms themselves were individual cottages, very nice on the inside and out, the bathroom also nice, quite basic but ok. There was hot water in the evening but none the next day when we wanted a shower before we went on safari. The beds were nice and comfy and the food was ok but nothing spectacular. Although the evening meal was fairly priced. The breakfast was fruit, toast, continental buffet and eggs, but was also ok and came with the price of the rooms.
The next morning our drivers and tours had stayed in a much cheaper motel in the next village and turned up to collect us all at 6am- one of them came in and had a small cup of tea and a banana while the rest helped load the vans and waited for us all to come out of our rooms. After we had paid our VERY expensive bill, we noticed that they had charged us for the cup of tea and the banana- the equivalent of 2 days wages for a Ugandan- we were outraged at this considering how much we had spent on rooms, dinner and we all had lots of alcoholic drinks the night before. I had to put this into the review as I feel it was very unfair and not like the spirit of all the other Ugandan places that we visited.
Overall the stay was comfy but this would put me off ever going again on principle!
Also, the swimming pool was dirty so we were unable to use it and there was no hot water in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the perfect location for a relaxation day.
Very nice swimmingpool, sauna and steambath.
The rooms are bright, open and fresh. A nice big bathroom.
The food was really good, great taste!
Wi-fi also was available, great!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nafasj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by the friendly lady at the front desk with a bottle of soda or water. This was a nice change of pace from the traditional glass of juice we received from reception at all of the other lodges on this trip. We also were elated to find out they had WiFi for use in the lobby/restaurant areas of the hotel. Although slow, it was a welcomed amenity that allowed us to touch base with those back home right at the midpoint of our trip.

Our banda was the closest to the main building, with our window separated from the the window into the bar only by a narrow driveway. Although it did not prove to be a problem during our stay, I can see how noisy bar patrons might interfere with your sleep should you need/want the window open for fresh, cool air.

Our banda had an in room water heating system, similar to those you find throughout South America that are attached to the water output of the shower and heat the water instantly as it passes through the shower head. This was very nice as it ensured each user a equally hot shower. Otherwise our rooms were basic and clean, allowing for a descent night sleep.

The dinner menu here was huge and varied, although the final product was overcooked and dry.

There is a pool for use by guests that appeared clean and refreshing (although we had no time to use it). The grounds were expansive, well groomed and ideal for some early morning birding while we waited for departure to the Ishasha sector of Queen Elizabeth National Park (which ended up being just a short drive from the hotel).

Room Tip: Request a room that has the in room water heater for the shower as opposed to the solar heated hot w...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boystownboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel looked nice as I was driving up...guard gates, surrounded by a wall, manicured lawn. But there is nothing to do at the Savannah "resort". There is no view, no activities, nothing special.
They have motel rooms and bandas (round cabins). The hotel room do not have any windows that open. The bandas have slat windows that open, but they are all squished together, so there is no privacy. The employees walk around the grounds playing loud music on their cellphones. I wanted to eat in the restaurant, but the employees had the television on so loud, that myself and the other patrons all huddled on the veranda to eat in order to escape the tv noise.
I did have hot water, a flush toilet with toilet paper and electricity. But, the furnishings are outdated and nothing special.
Uganda has some very nice "nature lodges" that offer unique surroundings that allow a view of animals, lakes, and forests,...why stay in such a mediocre hotel?

Room Tip: Ask for a Banda on the edge of the property, otherwise, there are people walking by your windows.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrycr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#13 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Resort Hotel

Address: P. O. BOX 30 | Kihiihi, Kanungu District, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $176 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Savannah Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Resort Hotel Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing