We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expansive gardens, local flair, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savannah Resort Hotel
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“expansive gardens, local flair, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel features a large number of rondavel rooms built very close one to another despite the enormous size of the premises, they even host their own landing strip. This said we did not hear our neighbours nor did I feel encroached. The room was spotlessly clean and well kept, furniture is out dated so is the decor, but everything works well. The swimmingpool is fantastic, large and clean and in a secluded area in the garden. Dinner should be ordered in advance since the kitchen needs about one hour to prepare food, everything we had, fried fish, curry and our frieeds had pizzas - was very good. Locals hang out at the lobby bar and we could watch local TV news with comments from the audience, this was a very welcome entertainment. Staff was very friendly and helpful. For one night a perfect stopover, distance to Ishasha gate is about 35-40min drive (if you don't want to wreck your car). Gate opens at 7 a.m.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virus-africanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
17
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the Congolese boarder in Ishasha, I did appreciate the security here, as there was a degree of rebel activity in the Congo at the time we visited. The grounds are spacious, and beautiful and there is a pool (although we never saw it) The staff was very pleasent to us, and made a lot of effort to make us happy. Good pizza, fast free wi fi, and access to TV news in the reception area.
The bandas are comfy enough for a night or two, although the design is a bit strange and the overall feeling is not cozy but practical.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glostrup, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Upon arrival it was very clear this is a place for business - not for good service and a friendly atmosphere.. The staff at the reception were unlike everywhere else in Uganda hard to get a smile out of - the people who worked at the restaurant area were friendly enough. The food was below standard, and besides going on gamedrives -or to Bwindi, there was nothing to do at the place. The huts smelled stuffy and half the group had problems with hot water - a problem the manager was very reluctant to fix!
If I'm ever in that area again, I would stay somewhere else -even if that means getting up very early to go and see the treeclimbing lions of Ishasha!!

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybadger75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels

North Coast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

There really was nothing much wrong with this hotel other than it was in some ways too westernised for its location and seemed out of place. It has extensive manicured lawns, swinging seats and our bedding had a rose pattern on it - the seats in the room were quite colonial despite the rooms being "banda" style. As we encountered in many places, there were the usual little critters (lizards?) scurrying in the rafters. This is common so don't be put off by it.

We didn't have time to try out the pool but it can get hot in QE park so that might be very enjoyable after a morning game drive. We only stayed one night and did an afternoon drive to see the tree-climbing lions (which we were fortunate enough to see).

Our room was large but there was no bedside light which made reading at night in bed almost impossible. There is however a table and chairs in the front section so you could sit up and read.

I think our biggest disappointment was that the shower did not have enough hot water. It is solar run but when we looked at ours, we felt the location of the solar panel was not ideal so this may be different depending on which banda you are in. Our experience was that the first shower would be tepid at best and the second person would have a cold shower.

Food was just ok but food portions were huge (seriously - we weren't the only ones saying this) and staff seemed offended that we didn't finish food but there was just far too much..

Wifi is available for those wanting to keep in touch with home.

Staff in general were friendly as was our overall experience in Uganda. There was a lovely lady on Reception (not sure if she was a Receptionist or duty manager) and we chatted away to her.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ponaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

we expected to see John Cleese here, it looked and felt like Fawlty Towers.
It has a cold atmosphere, the staff seems to hate their own job. The rooms are large but nothing seems to work. No problem in a camp but this is advertised as a "resort", must be some kind of joke.
One exception, the cook is friendly guy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salsa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our one night here. It was a nice change of pace from more rustic accommodations elsewhere, and the rooms were immaculately clean with solar heated hot water and excellent plumbing. The food was good, but what really made the place special was the kindness of the manager, Ann, and the overall friendliness and concern of all the staff. An oasis.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulu, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We were here for one night following Gorilla tracking in Bwindi. Our hope was to see the tree lions at Ishasha which is only about 25 min drive from Savannah Resort Hotel. Although we failed to see the lions we have nothing but good to say about the accommodating staff and the clean, comfortable rooms. Our dealings with the management of this hotel went unusually smooth (for Uganda) both on the Kampala side and then later once we arrived at Ishasha. A staff member in Kampala named Felicia went out of her way to help us relocate and obtain some clothes which we had left behind in our room. First class treatment at a fair price!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank 1mickeyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
0.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#1 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Resort Hotel

Property: Savannah Resort Hotel
Address: P. O. BOX 30 | Kihiihi, Kanungu District, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Savannah Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Resort Hotel Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing