We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to fulfill a life-long gorilla-trekking dream!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
Nykoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great place to fulfill a life-long gorilla-trekking dream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My children, mother, and myself were awestruck as we arrived at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge. The view of the endless mountain range was incredible and we were greeted by a very friendly staff, three of whom were named Moses. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable with cozy beds, extra blankets in case of cold evenings, a fireplace, and a porch bathed in afternoon sunlight overlooking Bwindi Impenetratable Forest. We dined in the main lodge where we were given a choice of two different meals and a choice of what time we'd like to eat. The food was quite good. The lodge is located within a short walk to the village which I found quite convenient. Moses the manager was very accomodating and made sure that our comfort was his main concern. I would definately stay here again! As would the rest of my family!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asamaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Asa,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
22
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you're looking for friendly, helpful people, great beds - with the best pillows we found in all of East Africa - and lovely views, Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge is your place. We stayed for 2 nights in a superior room, with a fireplace, in August of 2013. Our favorite part was Moses - Moses the manager, as there are 3 Moses' at the lodge. Moses is smart, funny, and a problem solver. When our trip to the lodge took longer than expected, Moses called to check on our progress along the way. When the shoes of my friend were considered unacceptable for trekking, Moses found her a pair that would work within 10 minutes, so we wouldn't be late. The rooms were also great - very clean, comfortable, and quiet. We appreciated having an Airtel internet modem so we could immediately send pictures home. The food was fine - not amazing, but not bad. And when we made requests, like bacon for breakfast, bacon showed up in mass quantities, and was perfect. I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are a little larger and have fireplaces. But all of the rooms have spectacular vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Heather,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a deluxe room in June 2013 whilst visiting Bwindi for gorilla trekking. The staff were very friendly. Large common room/restaurant with veranda with comfy chairs overlooking the hills - a great place to sit after the hike to see the gorillas. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the main room made it feel homely. The meals were large and mostly delicious, with two options for a main meal. The fireplace was cosy. Hot water for showers was available upon arrival. Internet was provided for by a dongle, we were the only guests at the time, and the staff offered that we take the dongle back to our room and could return it in the morning. Internet speed was good via this method. Large towels, and extra blankets provided. Privacy in the individual rooms. I would definitely recommend this hostel to my friends.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank claireskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Claire kis,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June 2013 while visiting Bwindi for gorilla trekking.

1. The Lodge appears to be under new management recently, and this seems to be raising the standards over what other guests experienced in the past. The new manager, Moses A., is a sharp, nice, thoughtful, and engaging guy with management experience and genuinely wants to raise standards.

2. The Lodge is just minutes away from where you begin the gorilla trekking, which is really a great experience. Thus, the location deep within the park, high up in the mountains, is perfect. It also has great sweeping views of the mountains and valleys and, when the weather is clear, the Virunga volcano across the board in the DRC.

3. The food was nice. I had one meal that was not really to my liking, but that had more to do with personal taste. The soups were fantastic, the breakfasts were large and good, and at dinner you get a choice between two main entrees.

4. The cabin rooms are nice. Clean, hot water, nice views, in a kind of typically Western cabin. Extra blankets are provided, and they will even provide you with a hot water bottle for the night if temps get low.

5. As of right now, they only run the generator 6:00-7:30am and 7:00-10:00pm. Keep this in mind when charging various electronics, including your camera (which will be extremely important when you go to see the gorillas!). Some may see this as a negative, but keep in mind the location and set your expectations accordingly. On the other hand, (1) there is an AirTel tower about 50 meters away so you get great phone reception for being deep in the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest and (2) they provide you with a dongle for internet connections.

Overall, while expensive I found this a nice place to stay for the great experience of trekking with gorillas. Moses and Eric were nice, helpful, and eager to make the stay a pleasant one. Oh yeah, and the fireplace in the restaurant/bar is a great place to end the evening with a drink. I would definitely recommend Ruhija Gorilla Lodge to my friends, though one will need to make choices depending on one's budget.

Room Tip: The rooms in the cabins are relatively basic for the price. However, they are clean, spacious enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriminolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Kriminolog,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

It has a great location. It was the best experience for our business vacation,the staff were very friendly and the food great. i cant wait to go back when they have the sauna/steam bath running. unlike other lodges around, this one has clean rooms,keep it up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasaanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Baker,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

They have two different types of rooms. The deluxe (200 usd full board) and the standards (60 usd fb). The service is poor including food which every time was cold and not tasty. All the items were fried or buttered, so I didn't get fresh vegetables. There's no hot water in the standard rooms, they had to bring it in buckets every time we wanted to take a shower. Be aware of charging your gadgets somewhere else, since there was no power except from 7pm until 10pm. The people who stayed in the deluxe rooms said that it was not valuable or the money they paid

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Our esteemed guest,
Thank you for the review you posted about the lodge ,as regards your experience with us the last time. With deep regrets , I apologize on the short comings you had with us however such comments goes a long way in encouraging us to improve and serve our customers better.
In direct response to your reviews we have made changes as follows:
Some of the hallmarks we have improved on at the Lodge are;
• The lodge is being completely re-furbished, the room water heating system as been boosted for a 24 hour constant supply of hot water we assure you that your stay will be of the highest comfort and standard.
• We have invested in human resource expertise by recruiting a new dynamic lodge manager and extensively retrained the entire lodge staff to required standards of service delivery.
• The Lodge is in the final stage of constructing a steam bath and sauna facility, this will be a complementary for all stay in guests.
The new features and additions, is due to our continued desire to have new innovative ways of providing memorable guest experiences while staying with us.
Our keen interest in tracking trends in the tourism and hospitality industry has helped us develop a solution that answers the special needs of you our partner, some of these solutions include:
i. Increase customer satisfaction and ensure that we meet every detail of customer needs.
ii. In house gift shop / craft shop
iii. We accept major credit card company in the Lodge
iv. Free WIFI connection
v. Wine cellar bar and fine dining experience in our newly improved menu with a free glass of wine for every meal.
vi. Free coffee/tea making facility and hand hair dryer provisions in the deluxe and superior rooms.
vii. Lessons in playing Ugandan traditional music instruments while entertaining our guests.
1. We have also embarked on a more interactive information gathering and sharing through our social media platforms, we are on Facebook, Twitter , YouTube, Google+,My Space
LinkedIn and Trip Ad visor sites. We encourage you to share these sites with your clientele for them to have the opportunity to share their experiences.

Your satisfaction is our concern and we constantly request you to send us your feed back to enable us to strive to achieve the highest standard of customer satisfaction.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is definitely the nicest option in the Ruhija area and the best option when trekking to Oruzogo Gorilla Family. The accommodations were nice enough, the rooms very clean, food was good and staff extremely nice and accommodating! As other's have stated we only had about 5 minutes of hot water for our entire 2 night stay which was disappointing but that aside we had an enjoyable stay.

Is it the Ritz Carlton? Absolutely not, but take into account where you are, the options that are available and the friendliness of Joseph and the other staff and I am sure you will enjoy your stay! If I had it to do again, I would stay at this lodge and in Ruhija for the views alone are worth it and skip the more touristy area of Buhoma...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meredith422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge

Property: Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
Address: Ruhija Village | Bwindi, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge Bwindi is a unique safari lodge suitable for all classes of travelers; it welcomes you with breath taking scenery of the forest, peace and tranquility – a home away from home, enjoy the melodies of insects and birds, surprise visits of monkeys or even gorillas.Come and experience the Hospitality that is immersed in an entirely new and Refreshing natural ambiance which will make your stay a memorable and enjoyable one!Accommodation:We have three types of rooms all unique from each other: the deluxe cabins, the Superior cabins and standard rooms, they are all carefully designed to blend in with the Natural environment around. All cabins are well equipped with comfortable beds and Furniture that is designed to maximize your comfort. The bath rooms are fitted in with hot and Cold water…Every detail has been taken care of to give you the comfort you deserve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing