We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Kitandara Tented Camp
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed at the Lake Kitandara camp for three nights last week and am deeply saddened by the previous reviews.

Firstly my opinion of the camp - it is in a great location in the centre of the village, the tents were in good order and immaculately clean (definitely no mouldy odour in my tent), the bed was comfortable and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The tents are positioned up a hillside so yes, there are steps to climb - but people are generally in Bwindi to trek so surely this shouldn't be too much of a problem?! My tent was by the restaurant halfway up, so sitting on the verandah in the evenings looking out over the mountains, listening to the children singing in the village below was just lovely. The hot water did take a while to come through as it comes from a tank up the hill - just leave the hot tap running for 20 minutes or so while you go and have a drink on the verandah and it'll come through.

Each of the previous reviews has reported on various problems. I have no wish to fall out with anyone on here but I do feel the need to respond to the complaints that have been made previously.

- Theft: unfortunately this can happen anywhere (try living in London!). The staff were always around and at no point were any unauthorised people within the camp. I found the Ugandan people to be incredibly honest - my friend unknowingly dropped his Rayban sunglasses in a field and two hours later towards the end of the walk, the guy that found them found us to return them. These people work desperately hard for very little money and so he could have easily sold them and we would have been none the wiser. Yes its a shame that someone had some of their clothes stolen but I'm amazed that the person then fought for compensation - for clothes? Did he not walk out of the campsite at any point and see children dressed in rags, working very long hours to pay for their own schooling? I'm sure the price he demanded back for his clothes would have perhaps paid for a childs attendance at school for a term or more. It puts it into perspective.

Noise: aside from a couple of solo travellers, ours was the only group staying in the camp so we had no problems with noisy neighbours and had a very peaceful stay - but again a noisy bunch of guests can happen anywhere on any campsite. I always take earplugs whenever I travel - they take up no space or weight and are far more effective than a pillow stuck over your head...

Food: the food at Lake Kitandara was very good, fresh and plentiful with three courses prepared from what was available locally, and a very substantial packed lunch for our trekking days. You won't go hungry. To complain that the food was 'boring' I find highly disrespectful - again did this person not walk through the village and see how little people have got and how hard they work to feed and educate their families?

This is rural Uganda where the local people have so little and yet work so hard to make tourists feel welcome and enjoy their stay. My experience was that it is an incredibly beautiful region with polite friendly hardworking people and amazing wildlife. There is true beauty in the world, if only people would open their eyes and see it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DL09UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2010

I've just returned from wonderful 2 weeks in Uganda. I know it's Africa so I didn't expect the same quality of service like in Maldives or Mauritius for instance and I'm OK with this fact. Bwindi NP and gorilla trek especially was something out of this world! Simply one of the most impressive experince in my life. But I can't say the same about Lake Kitandara Tented Camp at all. As I said I'm OK with the temporary discomfort and this camp was really uncomfortable. Very old and wet tents with mouldy odour made my sleeping a bit problematic.

However the bigger trouble is the absolute absence of safety (there are no locks on tents! even if you have your own lock you can't use it because there is no loop; we pointed it out after our arrival and we were told it's absolutely safe there) ! One guy from our group was robbed when we trekked to see gorillas (his lock on luggage was broken and some clothes was stolen)! It can happen. I agree. But then the management must take resposibility which wasn't the case there. The guy reached compensation in the end but after hours of waiting, disputes and police assistance. To be honest without our tour guide who has really good reputation in Bwindi I doubt we would reach any result.
Go to Bwindi, go to gorilla trek but avoid Lake Kitandara Tented Camp and choose different accomodation !!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This place was great, if you don't want to sleep well. The location is great, the rooms have amazing views, the food is acceptable. Service was good during the day. Our second night there, one tent was having a huge, drunken party. Not sure if it was staff or guests. It woke me out of an exhausted sleep, and when my husband went to look for a manager to quiet them down, he could find nobody. this party went until like 2 in the morning and was so loud, I could hear it with pillows over my head. It was HORRIBLE. I would never, ever recommend this place to anyone or stay here again. They need to get night security or new management.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting the Gorillas in Bwindi. The camp consists of about 22 permanent canvas tents with en-suite bathrooms (toilet, basin and bath with shower). The tents have outdoor seating areas and have great views of the valley. Each bed has a mosquito net and the staff put an hot water bottle in your bed each night (although it's on the equator it's at altitude and so cold at night). I've stayed at a few "camps" around africa and the accomodation here is very good. The location is great ~ less than 5 minutes walk to the Buhoma entrance to the park. The camp has a bar at the bottom and a restaurant half way up the hill. This brings me on to the layout; the tents are on a steep slope and the climb up to the tents at the top is hard but good training for gorilla trekking. The tents at the top got running hot water quickly where as those at the bottom had to wait along time (30 mins plus) for any hot water. We were full board and although all the food was OK it was abit tame. Rice, potatoes, veggies and a choice of two meat/fish dishes for dinner. Breakfast was taken to order and cereal, toast, tea and coffee were available. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Batteries can be charged in the bar since the tents don't have any sockets but at least you don't need an adaptor for Uganda. There are a few souvenir shops just outside the camp gate in Buhoma and I was pleased to see that the shopkeepers although friendly they weren't OTT about it. Since I was on a group tour I don't know if the camp represents good value for money or not compared to other accomodation in the area. AND yes I did see the gorillas!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shauny_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francisco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priska E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#15 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
#19 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Kitandara Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Kitandara Tented Camp

Address: Buhoma | Bwindi Impenetrable Forest National Park, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $159 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Lake Kitandara Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Kitandara Tented Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing