We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic tent home near the Bwindi Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorilla Conservation Camp
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Gorilla Conservation Camp for three days, before and after tracking the Gorillas. Our safari tent was comfortable; the staff was knowledgeable and made the Bwindi experience much more educational. We were able to e-mail our friends with pictures using the satellite link. The gorilla conservation and public health work of the sponsoring organization, Conservation through Public Health, is inspirational.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

GCC is a basic tented camp, and visitors should be prepared with some camping equipment like head torches and extra batteries. The camp runs on limited solar power (tents and dining area), but there is no lighting along the pathways and elsewhere. There is usually no power in the early mornings (e.g. when preparing for gorilla trekking) and the lighting in the toilet/shower area is dim so supplementary torches will be helpful.

A bucket of hot water is provided upon request for bathing and the toilets are sand-toilets (no plumbing). If you have a "pocket shower", bring it along as it helps with washing in the sink if you can hang this up.

The staff are friendly and very accommodating. The meals are good (and substantial!) and the chef is willing to cater to requests.

Room Tip: "Gorilla" may be the best of the 4 tents, but the tent zippers are faulty. "Duiker&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ange3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here with my wife (both in our late 20s). CTPH is much cheaper than other places in Bwindi and its work directly benefits the gorillas through its public health activities. The staff are friendly and the food is fine. The tents are large and clean. It is 30 minutes walk from the main entrance to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. So if you are interested in coming to track gorillas, want a cheaper alternative venue which supports these amazing animals then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This camp used to be called the Silverback Gorilla Camp and is often confused with the upper end hotel called Silverback Lodge.

The conservation camp is a basic lodge and its rooms consist of a number of permanent tented camps. It is probably similar to the tented camps at the Buhoma Community Rest Camp ( BCRC). Also like the BCRC, the proceeds of the Conservation Camp will be used for charity. Specifically, it will be put towards conservation work of gorillas at Bwindi through public health education.

The camp we stayed at is comprised of 3 sections. The first has two basic but clean single beds with mosquito nets, although you should expect a limited amount of insect roommates in the tent. You are in a National Park after all. The second is a semi open area where a sink is located. The third consists of a basic toilet (without flush but with sand covering) and a shower area. If you require a hot water shower, the staff will bring the hot water and put it in a container outside your tent for immediate use. However, don't expect an extended shower as the hot water runs out quite quickly.

There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but you can get those at the camp restaurant. The camp offers two bottles of water each day for drinking and rinsing purpose. Meals offered at the camp were good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Also, at dinner time we sat with some conservationists on site at the camp and had some interesting conversation about the work that they were doing at Bwindi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yiubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed in this camp just one night before our trekking gorillas tour ,it was tent with attached behind toilet and shower ,for shower we have to ask hot water and it was quickly provided ,tent was located in forest and after rain there was very nice air smelled by all scents of wet trees and grass of tropical forest. We have there good dinner of lamb stew with mashed bananas. It is green camp with electricity of solar energy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
106 reviews
0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#3 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
425 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#16 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
107 reviews
0 mi away
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
#20 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
2 reviews
0 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorilla Conservation Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorilla Conservation Camp

Address: Buhoma Village | Kanungu District, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda (Formerly Silverback Gorilla Camp)
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $52 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conservation Through Public Health (CTPH) welcomes guests at our field centre for gorilla related research. Guest income supports our work with wildlife and communities, which our staff can discuss with you. We can also host short and long term volunteers. We are in Buhoma Village, about 2km from the National Park offices (the gorilla tracking meeting point), which is a short ride on a motorcycle taxi (boda boda). FACILITIES:Twin-bed tents with mosquito nets, set among trees. Full board (locally sourced food) including packed lunch, Shared dining / lounge area under a thatched roof, Wash basin in tent (hot water supplied in thermoses), Hot shower available on request (jerrycan hoist type), Simple camp toilets, cleaned regularly, Solar power for lighting and charging, Internet available at the hospital across the road. Our camp has got a little tired and we are renovating it as we can afford. We have reduced our prices to reflect this. By staying here you will provide much needed income to support Conservation Through Public Health’s work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Gorilla Conservation Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorilla Conservation Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing