We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Engagi Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Silverback Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
$316
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorers Hub(Kampala)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Hotel(Kampala)
$123
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savannah Resort Hotel(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
59
20
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
20
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimpenetrable foresthot water bottlesprivate traildeck areaopen firegorilla treckingblack and white colobus monkeysrooms are comfortablefood was amazingstunning locationother guestscharging stationwi fiincredible viewsstayed nightsenjoyed our stayvalley
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 86 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This lodge was a real Waw experience. We arrived here just a few days before December 24 in 2012 and were the only guests at the lodge. The staff were very helpful from first contact, taking care of luggage, going though the paperwork, and all of this happened in the beautiful dining room and reception area and terrace with an unforgettable view over the Bwindi forest. Our room was the most distant one, completely alone close to the forest, with a great sleeping room and bathroom with good shower. All comfort (electricity and hot water) were provided 24/7 through solar power installations.
Staff were great at providing everything, cooking was very good (take the opportunity to good out the back door of the dining area, up 20 stairs, and you'll see where the cooking happens), and service was perfect. In the evening you can sit next to the fireplace enjoying a red wine. My wife got sick while here (nothing to do with the food here, as we both had the same, just a kind of flue) and again the staff took perfect care of her while I went for the gorilla trekking, and our driver was even able to rebook the gorilla trip to the next day for my wife at no extra cost.
We had a great experience at Engagi lodge and would recommend it to everyone staying at Bwindi.
One caveat: be aware of the slippery outside stairs; they're really dangerous if you don't pay attention and you don't want to ruin your trip for that. This would be our only recommendation for the owner of Engagi: please rebuild these stairs in a safer way - visitors will feel much better and safer.

Room Tip: We were at the room completely down the stairs - great stay.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Engagi Lodge in June 2013. The staff was incredibly warm, friendly and accommodating. Our room had a big glass door that looked out on the forest as did the restaurant and lounge. Our laundry was done (at no charge) each day. We were even escorted to the ranger office for our gorilla trek even though it was just down the street. The meals were great and they always remembered that I didn't eat red meat! I can still see everyone's smiling faces!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My girlfriend & I spent 5 nights in Bwindi/Buhoma. Engagi Lodge was truly our home away from home- a welcome respite from the rigors of Ugandan travel. We LOVED this lodge! It's got it all - a great location in the town (walking distance to the park for the gorilla tracking), incredible views of the magnificent Bwindi forest, and a beautiful public area (lounge/bar, restaurant and the best patio!), plus great food!

The staff was amazing- all were warm and friendly! We were treated like royalty. (I've uploaded a photo of the staff). Laundry service (which we sorely needed) was included for free - so every day, Alex cheerfully delivered clean clothes to our room. Heaven! The rooms were also very comfortable, with a large bathroom and HOT water for the showers. The rooms were spread apart, all with forest views, so it was very quiet!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janhantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We love Bwindi. The climate is cool with lush forests and a very friendly village. The Engagi lodge has a fabulous restaurant/deck that looks across the valley to the forest. We had great birdwatching from the deck. The service was fabulous and we enjoyed the meals. While we were on our gorilla safari (tough hike but worth it) a family of gorillas came through the lodge grounds. Unbelievable! We even saw an Ayres Hawk-Eagle from the deck one day. Nice. Hire a porter on the gorilla hike. They only ask for $20 and they are so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have visited Bwindi Impenetrable Forest National Park on several occasions and this is one of my favourite two (or three!) places. It definitely has the best views in Buhoma. THE best. The roofs are high and light (banana fibre) which opens up the forest like you're watching the Discovery Channel from beside the open, cracking fire taking away the chill of the track. Don't forget your binoculars (I did) so that you can find the primates from the balcony or your verandah.

The lodge is like being at home. It's not modern. It's comfortable and the staff are on hand but not intrusive. The food was great (though see comment on soup below).

The rooms were comfortable and the showers AMAZING. The best post tracking or hiking shower that I have had in Africa. Almost worth it purely for that. The rooms also have lovely views.

We stayed for two nights and both times the soups we far too salty. That would be my only feedback. Otherwise, well done to the team and kindly ask your head office to market this lodge more as more people NEED to know about this place :-)

Oh and please put umbrellas in the rooms and get rid of the 'Old Africa' magazines. Thanks!

Room Tip: I think that they were all the same. Ask for the staff to give you an umbrella so that you dont have to make a mad dash to dinner!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RachieLandmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews