We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deck in Bwindi”
Review of The Engagi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Engagi Lodge
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
204 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Best deck in Bwindi”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Gorgeous views with gorillas visiting if you are very lucky. Cold beer, great birds, they're all right here. Rooms lovely but be VERY careful on slippery stone path to the rooms. They even supply hot water bottles in bed and hiking poles for the gorilla trek. We stayed 3 nights, best of the whole 3 week trip. Food fine. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bird-Fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baar, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've spent 2 nights at the Engagi Lodge. It was a lovely experience. The Lodges are very well furnished. The menus were excellent and freshly prepared. A special thank goes to the great staff. They were very friendly and helpful. And, as it was pretty cold at night, we even got a warm bed bottle for the night. We've really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nkulamusiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family stayed here 2 nights in July 2012 to see the Gorilla's in Bwindi our travel operator in Kenya made the arrangement,It's a fantastic location with very nice rooms and remarkably good food. When sitting on the in the lounge overlooking the Impenetrable Forest drinking an ice cold Nile,after a successful day of Gorilla trekking this place is near perfection.

Room Tip: It's pretty dark a night bring a flashlight and bug spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhobbiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Yes, this place is so close to the Uganda Wild life Authority H/Qs; located a walkable distance outside the park head quarters. You can easily miss it coz the entrance is not that bright and just on the edge of the raod. The interesting thing with this facility is that it was carefully built without much interference with the natural setting. You enter into the vegetation and enjoy the birds singing and the sound of the river flowing below the valley as you view the magnificient Bwindi Impenetrable forest. The staff are very good, warm and welcoming with a well trained cheff. For those who may need massage after trecking, the service can be brought to you in the comfort of your cabbin at an extra fee. All who make a booking should do so knowing that like all the other facilities within Buhoma, you will depend on sollar power which is ration so dont forget to carry your torch.

Room Tip: All the cabins are indepently located away from each other and are overlooking the Bwindi Impenetrab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The service was great throughout our entire stay. The food is also great - all the meat was very tender and everything had lots of flavour. The bar and dining area had a spectacular view over the valley. With the aid of binoculars it was possible to see black and white colobus monkeys swinging in the trees on the opposite side of the valley. There were also lots of birds flitting about the gardens. You can help yourself to tea and coffee kept warm in thermos flasks in the dining area throughout the day.

The rooms are very nice with wooden floors and a balcony outside. It feels very private as each room is surrounded by bush. The rooms were nice and warm at night. They come and put hot water bottles in fluffy covers in your bed but we found this wasn't really needed as it wasn't cold enough. The shower has excellent pressure and an ample supply of hot water. We didn't have any issues with damp (we were there in the dry season).

Tea and coffee is delivered to your room with your morning wake up call, which is a nice touch.

The generator turns on at about 5 or 6 am and turns off again once the sun rises. It switches on again at 7pm at switches off about 15 minutes after the last guest goes leaves the dining room. There is power for charging camera batteries, laptops etc. in the bar/dining area whenerver the generator is running. There is a limited number of plug sockets so if you have lots of things to charge you might want to think about bringubg a multiway adaptor with you. Our only problem with this lodge is that the generator is noisy - we could hear it clearly from our room whenever it was on. However, we did have the room closest to the dining area - it might be less of a problem as you move further away.

The main reason we were here was to see the gorillas. Be advised that the gorilla trek is tough. I was absolutely exhausted afterwards. The group of gorillas that we had kept moving through the forest at a long distance in front of us. The hillside in very steep and it gets very very slippery once you get off a path with all the spa from the broken ferns and bushes. Most of the time you can't really see where you are putting your feet. I would not have been able to do this walk without a porter to help me and I am a moderately fit 30 year old. Even if you are fit, unless you are very used to walking at altitude on steep slippery slopes through thick bush you will find it tough. Take a porter!!!! You need to carry a lot of water with you - I would suggest at least 3 litres per person (another reason to take a porter). Also there are no walking sticks available for loan here so if you want one you will need to buy one and then take if home with you. I would also suggest having some sweets or chocolates in an easy to reach pocket to give you an extra energy boost. Also make sure you wear long sleeves and trousers, have shoes or boots with really good grip and take thick gardening gloves to protect your hands from stinging nettles and thorny bushes.

We also went gorilla tracking in Rwanda and found this considerably easier - the hillside is less steep, it's colder so the walking doesn't feel as tough and the bush isn't as thick.

We wished we'd had a bit longer as some of the other walks in the national park looked interesting but we didn't have time. Don't plan on doing anything except relaxing after your gorilla trek!

Room Tip: Ask for a room a long way from the generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildlifeFan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

If you are going to do Gorilla trekking than this is the place to stay. Though there are several places to stay in Bwindi - my tour company NatureTrack www.naturetrack-expeditions.com selected this and I am happy they did. Nestled in the mountains and rain forest, you feel like you can reach out and touch the gorillas. Though it rains daily/nightly and can be cool - I travelled in October - every evening I welcomed a hot water bottle that the staff placed in my room. What a treat! The food was fresh and well prepared. The staff really made the stay a joy - for a one night I was the only guest :) Well, suffice to say I felt like a VIP! As travelling alone, I felt safe and secure in my cabin at night. In addition to the Gorilla Trek - which is like nothing else in the world - a village tour is a must as well. There are many local shops where the residents prepare crafts, a well organized hospital, banana wine cottage, as wells as the witch doctor and pygmies. It is a cultural dream - to get to know the locals - who are open to talk and to share their culture. Oh, how can I forget - laundry is complimentary! Where does that happen? And since it rains so much - not sure how they get all the clothes to dry - but they did!

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk up and down some rocks to get to your room. Bring your flashlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

What an amazing place. Sadly we had only one night here but would happily have stayed for more. The staff were incredibly friendly, the food was wonderful and our accommodation was clean and charming. Sure it was damp but I suspect that any accommodation in or near Buhoma would have the same problem since the humidity is incredibly high. The hot water bottles were particularly welcome.

I would recommend staying here. After the long, bumpy ride (as described by GerritL), the welcome from the quiet and gentle staff and stunning view from the open lounge and restaurant left me overwhelmed and close to tears!

We had a fantastic trek to the gorillas - 7 hours of hard walking, but worth every minute.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonJennywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
84 reviews
7.4 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#3 of 12 in Kisoro
9 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Engagi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Engagi Lodge

Property: The Engagi Lodge
Address: 39A Berkeley Road , Entebbe, Uganda, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Engagi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Engagi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
The Engagi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing