We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth being on site -rather than the the long and sometimes impassible road in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trekkers Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trekkers Tavern
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth being on site -rather than the the long and sometimes impassible road in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for three nights- well worth staying on site. We had a fantastic experience with the Oruzogo gorilla group for one day then the rest of the time we enjoyed bird watching and spending time in the forest (Alfred from Avian Watch Uganda) or around the trekkers tavern. The service and food were exceptional. The best cook in Uganda. Although our time there was wet and damp- as it was the start of the rainy season after all- the staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Including hot water bottles in our duvet bed and an amazing hot coals heater placed under our table at dinner time!! THANK YOU (we were there 7th Sept).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireofClareRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for three nights on a birdwatching tour of Southern Uganda.This was to see the local birds, but also go Gorilla Trekking. Our guide was Hassan, the hotel's owner.
On arrival we received a warm welcome with hot flannels to freshen up, and a cold drink.
Our room was a good size and had a veranda with a couple of chairs and a coffee table.
The bedroom had a large double bed and a rustic suitcase stand. There was one bedside table. Everywhere was nice and clean.
The bathroom had a large shower area, a sink and toilet. There was hot water in the evening, or at other times if you give sufficient notice.
The restaurant served essentially a fixed menu, although they did accomodate for vegetarians.
There was plenty of food, but for us it was a bit too salty.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The hotel supports a local orphanage, and if you are staying here and have room in your suitcase, childrens clothes, toys, books, pens, pencils etc. would be gratefully received.
We enjoyed our stay here and saw many species of birds, and the gorillas!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while we were trekking the Oruzogo gorilla group. On arrival they had hot towels and fresh juice for us (which was much appreciated after the 10 hour drive from Kampala). They showed us to our room which was very basic but very clean and well thought out (nice tub, umbrellas, slippers, extra blankets, etc). They told us we could have our dinner at any time, which was a very filling and tasty 3 course meal. At night the weather was VERY cold and when we arrived at our room after dinner there were hot water bottles in our beds! All meals had 3 courses and were served by the most friendly and helpful server. Overall, we were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
245 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Trekker's Tavern has been much extended since the last review. There are now 5 bungalows, as well as the earlier `rustic' rooms. The dining room remains the same, however, and the alfresco cooking arrangements. However, one of the highlights was the excellent food provided by Justin and his team - and indeed the general high-quality service we received was excellent. It may have helped that the owner was with us, but I don't think so. There were lovely views over the Virunga range, especially sunrise, and we were close enough to the village to appreciate local life. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

This is a new venture by AccessUganda to provide a much needed alternative to UWA Hostels in this remote and beautiful area of Uganda. We tried this 'unseen' and were absolutely delighted.
The property is just off the 'main' road over "the Neck" from Buhoma to Kabale and is in the small village area of Ruhija so beloved of Birders. There are now a Group of Habituated Gorillas in this area too so the location will appeal to Trekkers as well as those seeking the rarer birds of the area. Personally I liked the place so much I would be happy to go there and just spend a few days in the community. Plans are afoot to do just that!
It is reached by turning up the Forestry College road about a mile before the UWA Base. Go through the small village and it is on the rise ahead of you. There was talk of calling the place "Sunrise Bungalows" due to the magnificent daily spectacle but Trekkers Tavern is just so apt. Once complete the grounds will mature better and attract some of the prolific birds of the area. We 'ticked' 3 Albertine endemics from our deck chairs. A family of Great Sparrowhawks have their home in the nearby trees.
There are four New Bungalows, Kitchen and small Restaurant.
Chef Julius is a star. We simply could not fault his cooking which although relatively simple (who needs Crepe Suzettes and Soufles anyway?) were well prepared, delicious and nourishing. There was a plentiful supply of Cold Beer and a good choice of Wines. Once, whilst having a 'sundowner' Julius brought out the finest handmade Potato Crisps (Chips to US readers) we have ever tasted. The Restaurant is temporary and will be re-located although quite adequate as it seated 14 hungry and benighted Italians on our final night.
Rooms are in detached Bungalows and are neatly if rustically equipped and furnished. The beds are not netted but at around 9,000' there were no Mozzies. H&C water and Electricity and the usual porch for sitting out and taking one's ease. Hot Water Bottles in your bed at night after turn down.
Manager Moses was helpful in the extreme and so courteous and considerate. By way of example he brought our 'extras' Bill to the Bunglalow rather than present it in front of the aforesaid Italian Group.
A very congenial place to stay that I wish every success.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
#21 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#15 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers Tavern

Property: Trekkers Tavern
Address: Ruhiza, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Trekkers Tavern Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing