We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to spend some nights in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp
Rosenheim
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good place to spend some nights in the jungle”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Buhoma and it was very nice. The tents with bed and bathroom are quite big and the mosquito nets are in good condition. The view from the terrace is great. The staff is very frienly, the Food good. So this accommodation is perfect to stay in Buhoma and do the Gorilla trekking etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    24
    12
    1
See reviews for
12
52
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Whether you like the Buhoma Community Rest Camp will depend what you have come to Uganda for. If you want Western standard accommodation then you need to look more up-market. However, if you don't mind slightly rough and ready accommodation, basic showers (but hot) and engaging with the locals who run the place (sometimes a little haphazardly, as is Africa's bent), then this is the place for you. The food is sound and the dining room has a great jungle view, with loads of birds to spot. I booked by email and had no problem when we turned up; we were expected even though we had changed our booking when in country. The gorilla trekking was amazing of course, but the community walk is also thoroughly recommended if you have a genuine interest in the people and projects of the community. If you like to 'travel' I would say this is the best value accommodation in Buhoma. I would stay again in preference to any of the top end lodges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a great place! The setting is superb, the service excellent (thank you John - particularly for all your efforts in ensuring that the gorilla tracking experience went off flawlessly!), the rooms are comfortable, the showers absolutely glorious, and the food delicious. Need I say more!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The staff were excellant - very friendly. The restuarant does not serve the best food around but the view is excellant. And the birds that come close up are fantastic too. Good ablution blocks with hot water and lovely flat camp sites. And you are about 100m from the start of the Gorillan tracking. A walk around the small town is also a great entertainment - we were able to buy meat and vegetables and make our own supper the one evening we were there

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonMac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I know there are more fancy and more expensive lodges around Bwindi, but if you just lock yourself in there and only come out to do your gorilla tracking, you will be missing out. Bwindi forest itself is amazing place, and looking over it from the Buhoma Community Rest camp alone is an amazing experience. You stay in a huge tent which also have shower, big bed and everything... and if you're someone like me who travelled Africa overland, backpacking and all, it's luxurious tent to say the least. More than enough for your comfortable stay. And the location, yes, is its biggest advantage. You can just walk about five minutes to the gathering site where you will begin the tracking. Not only that, it's a walking distance to the village where people of Bwindi are actually going about their daily lives. It was as much of highlight of my stay there as the tracking itself, because people of Bwindi are good natured and it's a lot of fun just to hang around have have some conversation with them. If I go back to Bwindi one day I'll be staying here once again. Only downside is that there's no internet, but really, when you're in this amazing scenery, you need not to look down but only up. I won't forget the time I've spent in Bwindi, and Buhoma Rest Camp was a spot on place to experience it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kchae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed one night in a self contained banda named Monkey which was spacious and clean.Double bed had clean linen and the mosquito net was intact.Shower had hot water.Uphill flight of steps leads to the dining room which has an amazing view over the treetops.Meals were tasty with good size helpings.Staff were very friendly.The camp is a short walk to the community hub where you can visit the orphange where you can be entertained by the childrens music and dance. I also liked the fact that this camp is run by the community for the community and not some overseas investor. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place gets five stars for it's location, and honestly I would stay here again for the location alone. It's incredible! And every room and then dining room overlook the most amazing jungle views (with monkeys in the treetops). It's also very close to the start point of the gorilla trekking.

The tents were not so bad - beds were clean and comfortable. The tents open up to a nice, private, spacious wooden balcony to enjoy the surrounding jungle setting. The bathrooms were not so great, but it was just two nights.

Our biggest complaint (and this could have easily been avoided) was packed lunch they provided for the gorilla trekking. For $10 we received a pretty miserable packed lunch - had we known, we would have just packed snacks ourselves. There was nothing tasty or substantial about what they put in that brown bag, especially for $10 USD in Uganda.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
102 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
28 reviews
6.9 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
395 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#13 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buhoma Community Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buhoma Community Rest Camp

Property: The Buhoma Community Rest Camp
Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing