We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prefect location, ok accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a non-self contained room. A spacious Banda with two (a little too short) beds. Showers were hot (quite amazing in a place like this). Meals were ok (however overpriced: 17$ for simple dinner). Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

The food and the main hall is amazing - but we got the tents and the bedsheets and coverlets didn't look like they had been washed for a while. We slept with socks and our jackets on because we didn't feel it was that clean. The rooms didn't look very clean either. Aside from that the hot water smelt of rust and coals - which was ok, we were in the jungle after all. The staff were very friendly and helpful - the three course meals were great - we were thrilled with our selection. The walking sticks were a fantastic souvenir as well - make sure you buy them for your gorilla trek.

Room Tip: The tents were better than the rooms - kept the bugs out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yerdeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Simple, elegant rooms with Extra-ordinary Staff

We stayed at these camps during June 2013 and while we were tired after a gruesome 13 hour drive from Kampala (lot of constructions and bad roads); we were VERY VERY impressed with this facility. The staff here deserves a big round of applause. They go out of their way to help tourists. The best part of staying at this camp is that this is managed by and for the local community- meaning the profits from your stay gets to help the really needy and poor people who can greatly benefit from your stay.

As a result, I would highly advice (actually endorse) this property and hope the travelers will make cautious and deliberate decisions to stay at this property. We are all responsible for our actions and in this case your actions/decision will greatly help the local community.

Room Tip: We like tents more than the bandas but both are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abc2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We liked the location of the camp and liked the tent/cabin we stayed in. It was rustic but fine for one night. We went on the community walk and enjoyed meeting the Natural Healer and the Btwa tribe. Joel was a cute young guide and made it interesting for us.
The lodge is very rustic and there are no menus...you pick from what they are making that night. But the food was good and it was fun talking with the other guests.
In the morning, the bathroom connected to our tent was infested with ants, bugs and spiders...so much that you couldn't stand still or you'd be covered in ants. That was really the only downside.
The camp is a few minutes from the ranger station where we got briefed for our gorilla trekking.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank debdex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in a tent, some friends stayed in the bandas. Both are fine, nothing too fancy & the views are great. It is walking distance to where the Gorilla Treks begin. The tent had an attached bathroom with flush toilet, sink & shower. The tent smelled a bit musty, but not too terrible (& it is in a rainforest - so it is not unexpected). The food is fine, not super gourmet - but good (especially compared to much of the food in Uganda). We decided to walk up to the little village.....lots of places to buy trinkets, but be prepared for every shop keeper to try to get you into their shop & sell you things.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed one night in an ensuite tent in May. The tent had a comfortable double bed and attached bathroom with flushing toilet, sink and shower that had hot water. The tent and bathroom were clean. Fabulous views of surrounding forest from our porch. Very peaceful and relaxing. Staff friendly. Meals good. There are charging stations in the eating area.
Located in the Village of Buhoma, it is fun to walk around and shop at the local craft shops. There are two different dance performances put on by the local children. Surprisingly they are both done at the same time (5pm). We had been told to go to the Orphan's performance which is located in the studio downstairs in the Village. However, we got confused when talking to someone and stated that we would be attending the performance at 5pm. It seems we were talking to a person who works for the "upstairs" performance. So when it came time to go we were greeted by representatives from both performance groups. Really awkward! We ended up going to the downstairs Orphan Performance, but felt terrible that we were also expected to go to the other performance. Still questioning why they do both at the same time? Needless to say the performance brings a tear to your eyes and the children touch your heart. Bring your wallet because the children's crafts come out after the performance. They are all reasonably priced and help out the cause.
Many people stay here for the proximity of the gorilla trekking, as the camp is next door to the ranger headquarters where they brief the groups heading out for the gorilla trekking. We actually left in the morning and trekked, with a guide and rangers, to Nkuringo Gorilla Camp, which took about 8 hours. The walk was incredible and you can read more about it on the Trip Advisor Uganda Forum.
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp is not fancy, but definitely is a great location and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ensuite tent very nice and convenient having a bathroom attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterlogged23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The camp is in an excellent position right next door to where the gorilla treking starts. The bandas are fine or you can camp. The location is beautiful but the food is terrible, really terrible! It is really the only place to stay if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 94Gill94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.4 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#17 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
107 reviews
0 mi away
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
#20 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buhoma Community Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buhoma Community Rest Camp

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $77 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your The Buhoma Community Rest Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing