We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, special, spectacular experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A wonderful, special, spectacular experience”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

While very hard to get to, the experience is worth the journey. We happened to be the only guests at the lodge for our three day stay, and as you might imagine the service we received was spectacular. Felix, Christine, and Friday served us extraordinarily well; the food was excellent, especially considering the logistical challenges of supplying the lodge. It was wonderful to have fresh salad and vegetables from their own garden. And, the experience while luxurious and personal, is not fake Africa where you are insulated from nearby reality. We had excellent gorilla trekking, but be prepared for a hard hike. We also enjoyed the Batwa walk. It is in the clouds which adds to the magic of the place. The lodge is a wonderful partnership with the local people. Our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfinearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
84
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Cloud Mountain Gorilla Lodge in Bwindi is probably the best lodge I saw in Uganda. It has wonderful cottage with breathtaking landscapes and when you're there it'easy to think that there isn't a better place to be. From there you can make fantastic trekking in search of gorillas. But the most important thing is that part of the revenue arising from your stay at the lodge are intended for local community. Lodge's staff is incredibly kind and always efficent. I stayed there for three nights that i won't forget. Special mention for butler Monday, always smiling and always ready to answer any kind of request.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Main building is very nice. Individual cottages are five star. Beautiful view of the mountains. Service is excellent; you even get your own butler and housekeeper. They give you a hand massage when you check in!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear linandrich,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback about our lodge on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to have you share your thoughts with the online community. Thank you! We appreciate that very much.

Please visit us anytime you like or come visit one of our other Wildplaces properties.

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just breathtaking views, service and rooms. Although I have to say calling the accommodation a suite is a huge understatement. You could entertain there in style!

To wake up in the morning at an altitude of over 1500m surrounded by lush vegetation and look across to the hills of the Democratic Republic of Congo is just an experience we will never forget.

This, combined with having the honour of watching gorillas, was just breathtaking. My one piece of advice would be to put the camera away for a while and just let your mind take in where you are and what you can see.

Thank you Clouds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Neil,

Thank you for a nice and wonderful feedback about our lodge on TripAdvisor. We agree with you, that sometimes putting away the camera will give you a whole other view on your experiences. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time and please visit our " little corner of paradise" anytime!

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Such an Amazing Natural Place, People and the whole experience. The Excellent Service.
I just don't want the day to end while at the Clouds, and when it does end- Bulter asks: would you like a wake up call? :) Next day you get up to this amazing view with the Lodge 2000 metres above Sea level. You realize life is amazing.

Thank you Clouds Team :) Look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I have traveled to 30 countries or so between us, and this place, given it's location and logistical challenges, stacks up against some of the best places in the world.

Where to begin? The cottages, maybe 900 square feet or so, are cozy, with views off the hilltop south of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. There is a large sitting area, and provided plenty of room to spread out our things. Most of the lodges we stayed in during our trip had a lack of space to do this - we missed it! A fireplace open to both sitting area and bedroom was a fantastic luxury, made more so by having it started for us each night while we were at dinner, as well as right after we returned from our gorilla trek, when we were tired, wet, and chilly.

Meals were 3 courses for lunch and dinner, and we took a packed lunch when we walked through Bwindi the day we checked out. All were delicious. The muesli for breakfast was the best I've ever had - I'd love to have some for my long hikes here at home.

The service, from Joshua the manager to his team, including Innocent, Gerald, Felix, and the rest, was fantastic. They did what every other place does: haul luggage and help out at meals, but having a fire going after our gorilla trek was great. Also, my wife wanted a massage in our cottage, and Innocent and Gerald brought down an entire massage table for her, no small feat given the massive size of the table (not a fold up) and the steep steps down from the spa to our cottage. My wife has had massages all over the world, at quality places from Vegas to Phoenix to Asia to the Dead Sea, and this one, for $30, compared favorably to any massage anywhere in the world.

To accomplish all this at the end of a ridiculously bumpy, pot-holed road on top of a hill in rural Uganda is nothing less than a miracle.

You will stay at "fancier" places with big corporate names in big cities. But you will be hard-pressed to find a better combination of service, small size, in a far-flung location, anywhere in the world. For it to be only #4 on Trip Advisor is a shame - but note that 2 of the 3 above it are not even on the same side as Bwindi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boskk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Boskk69,

We can only smile and we are over the moon with your wonderful feedback! Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing this with us and sharing this with the TripAdvisor Community.
We are happy that you experienced exactly what we are striving for...Small intimate cottages, guest service, wonderful food and an exclusive and rare experience in the Jungle of Uganda. We were honored to have you at our lodge and we do hope we can welcome you again at Clouds or perhaps in one of our other cottages.

Please stay well and we hope that the memory of Uganda and Clouds will stay with you for ever!

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wow !!!! It was amazing. What an experience. I don't have enough words to describe our experience at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge.
We were group of four and we were the only guest in entire lodge. We stayed for three nights and we had time of our life. The staff - Innocent, Monday, Barak, Head Chef, house keeping ladies, all were too good in taking care of us. These guys don't know how to say no. All our requests were met with utmost satisfaction.
Thanks everyone, we will remember you forever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear AJS,

I am very sorry for the delay in reply but we would like to thank you for your great feedback on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that all your expectations where met.
Please come visit us again anytime and THANK you very much for sharing your thoughts and experiences with the online community! :) Very much appreciated.

Warm Regards,

The Entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
6.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
84 reviews
6.8 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
221 reviews
6.5 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
184 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#12 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge

Property: Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park (South) | Booking Office: 5 Binayomba Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOUDS MOUNTAIN GORILLA LODGE Where: Southern Bwindi, Western Uganda Access from Entebbe: Scheduled or charter flight (1.5 Hrs) | drive (11 hrs) Tucked away in Nkuringo, Clouds has immediate access to track 6 gorilla families, and perfect, uninterrupted views of the Virunga Volcanoes. Guests stay in cottages built of volcanic stone, with big sitting rooms, double-sided fireplaces, vast overstuffed armchairs, large bathrooms and private verandas. Personal butlers, delicious food from our organic vegetable garden, a massage spa and infinite attention-to-detail complete your stay. Rates include all meals, non premium brand drinks, butler service and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing