We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. The location is breathtaking. Nestled in the mountains, near the gorilla treks and close to local villages full of the most adorable children. The lodge is beautiful, as are the rooms. But what really gets you is the service. You are made to feel so at home and welcomed by the incredibly warm staff from the moment you arrive. If I described everything that the staff did for us it would sound over the top. Yet somehow they have nailed being attentive without being invasive. Such an amazing experience I will never forget. The only negative was that I was overfed and the food was so delish I couldn't say no! Thanks especially to Alex and Monday our butlers. They really made our stay so homely and special. I hope to come back one day!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. Although ours on the mountain side probably have a better view but haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Donna,

We are truly over the moon with your wonderful feedback! THANK-YOU-SO-MUCH!
Our team at Clouds is happy to hear that they made your stay one to remember!
Please come visit us again when you are in Uganda.

Your feedback and "share" is much appreciated and we can't thank you enough for those amazing words.

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
85
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our favorite lodge during our 17 day gorilla and chimp trek through Uganda and Rwanda. The suites were spacious with fireplaces that our "butler" lit for us every night of our 4 night stay. We enjoyed visiting with other guests in the living room and bar in the main lodge. The staff was extremely friendly and tried to anticipate all our needs and desires. The food was very good. We enjoyed a group of Batwa Pigmy school children that entertained one evening.
The massages were wonderful and very reasonable. Our cabin veranda had a beautiful view which was sometimes obscured by haze from crop "burns" and cooking fires. It is cooler also at this elevation. Also hair dryers available here on request.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerone108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Travelerone,

Wow! :) Thanks a million for your very wonderful feedback about our Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge and we are glad and so happy that you had such a wonderful time and experience at our lodge! We couldn't wish for more than a guest that leaves the place happy and even gives us such a wonderful "share" here on Tripadvisor. Thank you very much!

We hope to see you again at Clouds or perhaps at one of our other lodges!

Warm Regards

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wish to congratulate all at the Clouds Gorilla Mountain Lodge for making my stay there so memorable.

Please keep doing what you are doing. And congratulations to the cook who makes the chilli paste. It is really good. So are the dinners.

It will lead to ensuring the preservation of the gorillas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Patrice,

Our apologies for the delay in reply but we would like to thank you for your kind feedback about your stay and experience at our Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge. We are so thankful for your "share" and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay...AND your chilli paste! :) We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future in either Clouds or in one of our other properties.

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This unique place has been the most memorable place i have stayed so far... The view is stunning, with the mountains and vulcanoes of Rwanda and Congo, youre literaly above the clouds. The rooms are very spacious and quiet, with your own fireplace. The staff is very friendly and willig to do everything to make your stay even more comfortable. Also the food is amazing, from breakfast to dinner. Go for a massage after the unforgetable hikes to the gorilla's, while look at the view and dreaming away with the gorilla's! Although it is in a very high price rang, it is definetely worth THE EXPERIENCE of your life!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aflora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Clouds was spectacular. It was a gorgeous setting and the entire staff epitomized excellent customer oriented service. From the moment we arrived they went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The facilities were excellent and the food was quite good. They told us that usually they don't have guests that stay as long as we did (4 nights) but I actually highly recommend the longer stay. Being able to trek 3 different gorilla groups was absolutely the way to go. I say this because it seems very possible that you might not be able to find the gorilla group one day, or that when you do they are tough to see (this happened to us one of our trekking days) and so hiking multiple days ensured that you maximized your experience. I would say that given the Clouds' proximity to the Nkuringo group of gorillas (you literally walk out the front door to the check in site) if possible always try to reserve those trekking permits. Unfortunately my boyfriend and I were never able to see this group, and while we loved the other groups we saw from what we heard the Nkuringo group (at least today) is the largest with the biggest variety of ages which makes for some great viewing. It's also worth noting that in order to trek the other gorillas we had to drive about an hour and a half each way every day to go to the "check in" point to get briefed on the procedures for trekking. This was slightly annoying considering the fact that we then had to drive back 30 minutes to the actual starting point of our hike and that even though we had been briefed before on our subsequent treks we still had to go back to be checked in before starting our hike. I suppose that's what you get when the actual trekking was overseen by the government - and to their credit the lodge did everything they could to minimize this inconvenience and ensure we saw a different gorilla group each day.

I would absolutely recommend the gorilla trekking safari and more specifically staying at Clouds when you do so. I would also say that it is a nice change of pace from your traditional safari where you are mostly sitting around all day in a car. The hiking was invigorating but not overwhelming. While the hike takes up a good chunk of the day you still have plenty of time to relax and rest up in the afternoon and it's really a perfect combination in my opinion.

Thank you again to the Clouds team for a once in a lifetime adventure!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Joshua and Monday could not have been more helpful. The food was simple, well prepared and perfect for the evening after a long day's trekking. I loved the views and would gladly have spent another day just hanging out and enjoying the scenery and local birdllfe.

Room Tip: All have wonderful views out over the secondary forest close by Bwindi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A stunning setting, literally in the clouds. A wonderful to base yourself when setting about the exhausting task of gorilla tracking. It is small and intimate, but with plentynofnspace to relax. Great, personal service-they work hard to take care of you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
6.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
90 reviews
6.8 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
225 reviews
6.5 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
191 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#13 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge

Property: Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park (South) | Booking Office: 5 Binayomba Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOUDS MOUNTAIN GORILLA LODGE Where: Southern Bwindi, Western Uganda Access from Entebbe: Scheduled or charter flight (1.5 Hrs) | drive (11 hrs) Tucked away in Nkuringo, Clouds has immediate access to track 6 gorilla families, and perfect, uninterrupted views of the Virunga Volcanoes. Guests stay in cottages built of volcanic stone, with big sitting rooms, double-sided fireplaces, vast overstuffed armchairs, large bathrooms and private verandas. Personal butlers, delicious food from our organic vegetable garden, a massage spa and infinite attention-to-detail complete your stay. Rates include all meals, non premium brand drinks, butler service and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing