We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodge in Uganda.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best lodge in Uganda.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights to do our second gorilla trek with the Nkuringo group having travelled from the other side of Bwindi to see our first group, the Rushegura family. After 6 hours of bad roads and detours, we were SO glad to arrive here and were welcomed like old friends immediately. New manageress, Madelaine, met us at reception and introduced us to our own butler, Alex and housekeeper Beatrice, who were both well-skilled, charming and helpful. Our chalet was more like a small private house and the views ( at 7,500 feet ) were breathtaking. Even if you were not here to see the gorillas,( an exceptional experience ) this is a wonderful place to stay and wind down. All the meals were first class and for such a remote location, we still wonder....HOW DO THEY DO IT?
Because we came across our first gorilla group within 15 minutes, we knew the Lords of Karma would not let us get away with such easy trekking twice.
We were right.......this one was 6.5 hours long, and tough, but worth every aching moment of it. The group,the NKURINGO family, were out in a clearing when we came across them and the photographic opportunities were so good, even the guides were snapping away on their phones and we stayed well past our allotted time as we literally sat amongst them. As a semi-fit 60 year old, this was truly one of those special "bucket list " moments. We even received a mock charge from the retired silverback of the group when the twin male gorillas born last year got too close to us. This was an experience more exhilarating than frightening, as the rangers are very professional and know the group well.
When we staggered back to the Lodge, which incidentally, is only 5 mins away from the gorilla HQ, it was suggested that a massage would not go astray. This advice was acted upon immediately and our 1.5 hours with Christine & Co. was heavenly.
After a great dinner we opted to just sit on the porch with our fantastic guide, Robert, from NATURETRACK EXPEDITIONS and take in the remarkable vistas in all directions, listening like school kids as we learnt of the Rift Valley and the active volcanoes in the distance and beyond to the Congo.
Retiring for the night, Alex was on hand with a welcome nightcap, a warm fire, a turned down comfy king size bed, cleaned hiking boots and miniature carved gorillas for us. Aaaarrhh bliss.
Not cheap but if you can manage, put this lodge on your itinerary. Cheers.

Room Tip: Have a massage here. Wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wellmax229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
85
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

You will love this place with your personal butler and housekeeping. The Lodge is spectacularly located and the houses with your private fire place will make you feel at home at once. The staff does really care and you will really enjoy the delicious food. We stayed there in January for three nights and this was the most wonderful place of all!!! And the best thing is- you support the regional development by staying there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The rooms are individual cottages, large and well appointed, the service is attentive and excellent and everybody is extremely friendly. It is a perfect base from going on the gorilla trek which can be a bit arduous in places but well worth while. The Rwanda trek is much easier, by the way.

By far the most moving experience we had here was the dancing by the Nkuringo orphans group, a group of children orphaned by AIDS and which the hotel is sponsoring

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is an excellent base for the sometimes strenuous activity of trekking the wonderful mountain gorillas. Clouds is not cheap but then it is thought to be the best accomodation in Bwindi and if you are going that far and can afford why settle for less.

As part of the deal, we were met by our butler - Innocent at the little airstrip which is about a one hour drive (in an excellent vehicle and very good driver) from the hotel but even the drive is a fantastic experience as you pass through little villages and see people going about their lives. From the moment we arrived we felt safe, secure and were extremely well looked after. All the arrangements were made by Innocent for our gorilla trekking and we spent 3 consecutive days trekking 3 different gorilla groups. What a fantastic experience! The Clouds team could not have been more helpful or friendly and Maria looked after our cottage beautifully.

Uganda is a wonderful country full of very friendly people and everyone connected with Clouds does the country a great service.

The whole Clouds experience offers an attentive but discreet type of service, the cottages provided are very comfortable, spacious and clean with a beatuiful fire lit for the cooler mountain evenings. The food was exceptionally good and although we found out that the main chef was on holiday his deputy produced some exceptional cooking.

I waited over 30 years to go gorilla trekking having first seen the David Attenborough film in the 1970's, although there are only about 700 of these wonderful creatures left if seeing these incredible primates in their prestine, natural habitat is your idea of a travel experience then book now. Go to Bwindi and stay at Clouds - you will remember the experience for the rest of your life!

We are definitely planning to go back very soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a great view of the distant volcanoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank visitor044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Owners and staff lovely, service great and rooms only surpassed by the view. Walk around the village and meet the locals, relax with a g&t or sit by your own log fire - a truly unique experience! Only hope we get to go back at some point.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Not the easiest drive to get there, even though all we were doing was enjoying the scenery out the windows of our four wheel drive, while our driver guide navigated through the rough terrain.
Once we got there however, it seemed all worthwhile. Celestial setting in the clouds, with your own private butler and housekeeper, and walking distance into the Impenetrable Forest! One of the chefs even managed to serve us cuisine better than most restaurants in the US that are not Michelin starred! It did also ameliorate somewhat our guilt of pleasure, to learn that the lodge was built with American generosity, run by UK hospitality group, and with percentage of revenue dedicated towards helping under-privileged local communities of the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joideviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were 2 days in the hotel and everything was so perfect. To have a butler and a housekeeper only for us, 24h, made us feel a little strange...Fireplaces in the room.Services excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Araeinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
6.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
86 reviews
6.8 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
224 reviews
6.5 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
189 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#15 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge

Property: Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park (South) | Booking Office: 5 Binayomba Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOUDS MOUNTAIN GORILLA LODGE Where: Southern Bwindi, Western Uganda Access from Entebbe: Scheduled or charter flight (1.5 Hrs) | drive (11 hrs) Tucked away in Nkuringo, Clouds has immediate access to track 6 gorilla families, and perfect, uninterrupted views of the Virunga Volcanoes. Guests stay in cottages built of volcanic stone, with big sitting rooms, double-sided fireplaces, vast overstuffed armchairs, large bathrooms and private verandas. Personal butlers, delicious food from our organic vegetable garden, a massage spa and infinite attention-to-detail complete your stay. Rates include all meals, non premium brand drinks, butler service and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing