We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cottages overlooking volcanoes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is an excellent base for the sometimes strenuous activity of trekking the wonderful mountain gorillas. Clouds is not cheap but then it is thought to be the best accomodation in Bwindi and if you are going that far and can afford why settle for less.

As part of the deal, we were met by our butler - Innocent at the little airstrip which is about a one hour drive (in an excellent vehicle and very good driver) from the hotel but even the drive is a fantastic experience as you pass through little villages and see people going about their lives. From the moment we arrived we felt safe, secure and were extremely well looked after. All the arrangements were made by Innocent for our gorilla trekking and we spent 3 consecutive days trekking 3 different gorilla groups. What a fantastic experience! The Clouds team could not have been more helpful or friendly and Maria looked after our cottage beautifully.

Uganda is a wonderful country full of very friendly people and everyone connected with Clouds does the country a great service.

The whole Clouds experience offers an attentive but discreet type of service, the cottages provided are very comfortable, spacious and clean with a beatuiful fire lit for the cooler mountain evenings. The food was exceptionally good and although we found out that the main chef was on holiday his deputy produced some exceptional cooking.

I waited over 30 years to go gorilla trekking having first seen the David Attenborough film in the 1970's, although there are only about 700 of these wonderful creatures left if seeing these incredible primates in their prestine, natural habitat is your idea of a travel experience then book now. Go to Bwindi and stay at Clouds - you will remember the experience for the rest of your life!

We are definitely planning to go back very soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a great view of the distant volcanoes.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank visitor044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 159 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Owners and staff lovely, service great and rooms only surpassed by the view. Walk around the village and meet the locals, relax with a g&t or sit by your own log fire - a truly unique experience! Only hope we get to go back at some point.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timbliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Not the easiest drive to get there, even though all we were doing was enjoying the scenery out the windows of our four wheel drive, while our driver guide navigated through the rough terrain.
Once we got there however, it seemed all worthwhile. Celestial setting in the clouds, with your own private butler and housekeeper, and walking distance into the Impenetrable Forest! One of the chefs even managed to serve us cuisine better than most restaurants in the US that are not Michelin starred! It did also ameliorate somewhat our guilt of pleasure, to learn that the lodge was built with American generosity, run by UK hospitality group, and with percentage of revenue dedicated towards helping under-privileged local communities of the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joideviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were 2 days in the hotel and everything was so perfect. To have a butler and a housekeeper only for us, 24h, made us feel a little strange...Fireplaces in the room.Services excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Araeinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had a great time at "Clouds Mountain" . Spacious rooms with fire place and foods are delicious, the staff members offered the best service. We stayed 4 of the group , EminPasha(Kampara) ApokaLodge(Kidepo)SemilikiLodge and Clouds. All of them are excelent service(staff members) and facilities especially Clouds.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugafumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at 'Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge' for (only) 2 nights as part of our 3 week Uganda adventure. Upon arrival we were very warmly welcomed with a chilled towel, a refreshing fruit drink and a nice hand massage. The lodge is situated at 2.100 mtrs above sea-level and comprises 8 cottages, all built from volcanic stone. The scenery is magnificent, and on a clear day the view stretches out to Rwanda and The Virungas.
This place is full of luxury, elegance and style. The cottage we stayed in, nr. 4, is gorgeous (but I suppose they all are), and has a private veranda, a very spacious living room with a fire place, a spacious bedroom with very comfortable beds, also a very spacious bathroom, and a lot of privacy. A butler and a housekeeper are assigned to you for the duration of your stay! A laundry service is offered free of charge!!

Every afternoon our butler brought homemade cake to our veranda. Every evening we were left homemade chocolates on our pillow. When we came back to our room the last night, we found a beautifull (also handmade) "thank you for staying card" and 2 small wooden gorillas on our bed.

Great atmosphere, outstanding service, very friendly and helpfull staff and excellent food. The new manager, Melissa, is running a smooth operation.
Tip: book a foot massage for after you have tracked the gorillas!

The location of the lodge is perfect if you want to track the Nkuringo family of gorillas in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest; the trailhead is just around the corner, outside the gate of the lodge.
And last but not least: the local Nkuringo community directly benefit from the lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wisadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Recently we went to track the Nkuringo gorillas. Coming from QENP, it was not an obvious choice, many other groups would have been hours less drive, but it is perhaps the best hike and the only one you can see twins! Anyway, we had splurged in a big way on the way down in every high end lodge we could find the 2 weeks before. For the gorillas, we were supposed to camp. On hearing about Clouds, Meli insisted on at least taking a look. That sealed the deal. We pulled out the last pile of dollars and checked in. The rooms are amazing. Open log fire in the living room and bedroom, your own maid AND butler, high quality linens, stunning views etc. The wines are truly excellent, food amazing (how they do it given the isolated location is amazing), the staff are brilliant. If you can afford it (it is expensive), you must dot it.

My three favourite hotels just changed. Clouds in first place, Chateau de Bagnol just got downgraded. Tough to choose third but difficult to beat Villa san Michelle (Florence) for a city hotel.

Final shout out to the best hotel employee we have ever met, Innocent, our butler. Since coming home, it has been difficult adjusting to cold G&Ts not just appearing, fires spontaneously lighting, dirty clothes suddenly becoming clean and pressed. Genius.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Al_and_Meli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
6.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
93 reviews
6.8 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
226 reviews
6.5 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
194 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#13 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park (South) | Booking Office: 5 Binayomba Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $1,006 - $1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOUDS MOUNTAIN GORILLA LODGE Where: Southern Bwindi, Western Uganda Access from Entebbe: Scheduled or charter flight (1.5 Hrs) | drive (11 hrs) Tucked away in Nkuringo, Clouds has immediate access to track 6 gorilla families, and perfect, uninterrupted views of the Virunga Volcanoes. Guests stay in cottages built of volcanic stone, with big sitting rooms, double-sided fireplaces, vast overstuffed armchairs, large bathrooms and private verandas. Personal butlers, delicious food from our organic vegetable garden, a massage spa and infinite attention-to-detail complete your stay. Rates include all meals, non premium brand drinks, butler service and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing